It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
GAP35-DS3L Boot Problem GAP35-DS3L Boot Problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


GAP35-DS3L Boot Problem
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th May 2008, 05:24   #1
Nessmaster
 
Posts: n/a
Default GAP35-DS3L Boot Problem

I've been running my system (E2180 @ 3.0Ghz with a GA-P35-DS3L) for about half a year now and so far everything has been fine up until a week ago when I had left the computer off for 2 days, turned it on and wouldn't POST. I've tried multiple CMOS resets, including the battery method, but have had no luck in getting the system to POST. When I turn it on, it powers up for about 2 seconds, shuts off for another 2 seconds and then powers up again indefinably but won't display anything.

I'm not sure if it's the mother board, cpu, or power supply. I don't think I stressed the hardware much, and it's only half a year old, but the PSU is over 2 years old now.

What do you guys think?
 
Old 13th May 2008, 05:37   #2
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Remove the RAM and test each one individually to see if the machine will POST.

When you removed the battery, did you ensure the PSU was off or unplugged, and wait more then 10 minutes?
 
Old 15th May 2008, 04:18   #3
Nessmaster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
Remove the RAM and test each one individually to see if the machine will POST.

When you removed the battery, did you ensure the PSU was off or unplugged, and wait more then 10 minutes?
Yeah all except for the battery part; I only waited like 2 minutes.
 
Old 21st May 2008, 21:36   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,740
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

have you installed the system inside a case, or outside?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 23rd May 2008, 15:51   #5
Nessmaster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
have you installed the system inside a case, or outside?
No, with school finishing up and all I haven't had time to work on it yet. I'll do some more intensive testing this weekend and get back to you guys on the results. Hopefully nothing has been permenantly damaged, although I think the PSU may be near its end.
 
Old 23rd May 2008, 16:09   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,740
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Q: inside a case or outside
A: no

No for outside a case
No for inside a case

??
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 24th May 2008, 19:14   #7
Nessmaster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
No for outside a case
No for inside a case
It's in a case at the moment, I have not tried to install it outside of it's case yet.
 
Old 25th May 2008, 01:16   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,740
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

might be a short circuit ; try mobo/cpu/vga/ram outside of the case
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd June 2008, 22:31   #9
Nessmaster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Alright, well I had my friend bring his computer over today and I tested out my CPU in his pc and it worked just fine. I then tried his CPU in my pc and I had the same probelm as I had been getting with my CPU. So I am pretty much convinced that it's the mobo now (I even did the whole removing the CMOS battery and disconnecting the PSU, waited 10 minutes and tried to boot back up and it still didn't work).

Now I haven't been paying too much attention to the whole pc scene latley, so I was wondering if you guys could suggest me a new mobo? I liked the current one I have right now exept for the part where it crapped out on me. I don't think I'm going to be running my CPU at 3.0Ghz anymore, probably just around like 2.4 or 2.6 or so. So what would you guys reccomend as a good, cheap (preferably under $100) LGA 775 mobo with adequet overclocking abilities?

I'm also thinking of upgrading my graphics card (my current one is a 7800GT). Should I wait till nvidia and ati release their next gen models, or is that still a while away?
 
Old 2nd June 2008, 22:49   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

Asus P5K
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mobo problem? SuAside General Madness - System Building Advice 8 14th October 2007 11:46
Doing Quick Warm boot of Windows Vista / XP jmke WebNews 3 17th August 2007 15:51
How to Build Triple Boot (XP, Vista, Ubuntu) with single Boot Screen jmke WebNews 0 14th November 2006 14:14
HOWTO: Troubleshoot Any Networking Problem jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th February 2006 14:33
boot problem after install OCZ booster Desert Eagle Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 6th July 2005 03:26
Abit KX7 boot up -- Award Boot Block BIOS jmke Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 14th March 2004 19:58
Help needed: R9800pro problem FoRCe Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 22 13th January 2004 16:02
external connection problem uliXes Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 0 27th September 2003 21:25
the 333mhz problem kipni Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 0 22nd May 2003 15:47
boot problem with abit th7-II The Senile Doctor Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 22 11th June 2002 00:15

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:00.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO