It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home
quad proc's quad proc's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


quad proc's
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th December 2002, 13:20   #1
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default quad proc's

I've got a mate who wants to participate in f@h

I don't know how man pc's he's got, but I think a lot cuz they use there fiber optics.
prob is: lotsa problems with his multiprocessor rig (rigs?). I don't know what or how, but f@h makes his 4cpu's go nuts...

any solution for this? I hope he doesn't quit the folding right now, cuz he might even have acces to more CPU powah then all u ppl have together:grr:
 
Old 7th December 2002, 13:31   #2
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

blast
one of his CPU's just died, he had to put a new one in:grum:

luckily, it's still under guarantee
 
Old 7th December 2002, 13:34   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

dual folding by JBELL

Q: How do I setup multiple FAH clients on the same machine?


A: On a single processor machine, as with a dual processor, you need to create multiple folders with different names (e.g. C:\Folding@Home1 and C:\Folding@Home2) and follow the instructions on the "How to Install and Setup the console client", in Section 2.1, for each console client.

Multiple graphical (GUI) clients can not be run on the same machine, at this time.

It is important to note that your user name will be the same for all instances, but the userid must be different for each of the clients!

You will also need to create multiple FAH shortcuts (e.g. FAH1 and FAH2) on your desktop. And, it is very important that you use the -local switch in each of the FAH shortcuts!!!

For dual processor machines, you can set "affinity" (assigning each wu to a particular processor), but with today's newer technology it is not necessary. If you set affinity, you must do it on both the FAH2console.exe and the Core_65.exec.
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 7th December 2002, 14:25   #4
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

he says it doesn't work at his quadcpu riggS (multiple quadcpu pc's!)

his server is powered by 8cpu's:wtf:

trying to convince him to do it anyway
 
Old 7th December 2002, 14:42   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

QuadCPU = 4 CPU's

I used it @ work and folding works flawless on it though
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 7th December 2002, 15:10   #6
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
QuadCPU = 4 CPU's

I used it @ work and folding works flawless on it though
I know that

it's prolly because of the special kind of mainboard I'm afraid
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Patriot Memory Releases 8GB DDR2 6400LL Quad Kit geoffrey WebNews 0 3rd March 2009 23:03
MSI launches R4850-T2D512 Quad Pipe jmke WebNews 0 19th September 2008 18:17
NVIDIA 9800 GX2 Quad SLI Review jmke WebNews 0 28th March 2008 12:36
The new conqueror is here, the analysis of Core 2 Quad CPU, QX9770 windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 4 16th January 2008 22:55
PCP&C Silencer 750 Quad is singled out for the 2007 "Dream Machine" jmke WebNews 0 30th July 2007 20:36
First AMD Quad FX Platform Ready Chassis from Thermaltake jmke WebNews 0 1st December 2006 12:55
Athlon 64 Quad FX74 First Look jmke WebNews 0 30th November 2006 08:47
NVIDIA Quad SLI under the microscope jmke WebNews 0 13th October 2006 09:40
ATI Vendor leaks X1950XTX Crossfire vs Quad SLI Benchmarks jmke WebNews 0 9th August 2006 19:26
Quad nVidia SLI vs Quad ATI Crossfire? jmke WebNews 0 23rd January 2006 23:35

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:33.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO