It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
6GHz Phenom II Overclock on LN2, 5Ghz on Dry Ice 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on LN2, 5Ghz on Dry Ice
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


6GHz Phenom II Overclock on LN2, 5Ghz on Dry Ice
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th November 2008, 19:35   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on LN2, 5Ghz on Dry Ice

As we all know, the Phenom II will be AMD's second 45 nm part (the first is officially the Shanghai server part) that is scheduled to hit Q1 09. This heavily redesigned processor based on the Phenom architecture has already showed some significant per clock performance gains over the older Barcelona product, and AMD considers this to be their best design ever in terms of performance, functionality, and eventual clockspeed. The first desktop products are expected to hit 3 GHz at the top end, but AMD has been hinting that the Phenom IIs can do a lot more in the hands of an enthusiast.

The first leaks were that the Phenom II could hit 4 GHz on air cooling alone, though we obviously wonder how extreme that air cooling is. Well today AMD had some actual demonstrations at their gathering, and the Phenom II was able to hit 5 GHz at 1.6v by using dry ice cooling. Dry ice is CO2, and it goes directly from solid to gas (sublimation) at a temperature of -109.3 F (-78.5C for the rest of the world) at 1 atmosphere. So with some pretty extreme cooling (non-LN) the Phenom II does show that it has some legs in the clockspeed department.


http://www.pcper.com/comments.php?nid=6455
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2008, 21:21   #2
npp
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Heavily redesigned? Ah, come on... This reminds me of the 3Ghz Phenom AMD showed some many months ago, unfortunately it got lost somewhere on the way. 4Ghz shouldn't be a problem for the second version, I guess.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2008, 21:47   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

The biggest problem is not the actual frequency (which is quite unbelievable as well, seeing 4GHz is still nearly impossible), but the scaling with temperatures. AMD's production process makes it close to impossible to run your cpu close to -50C, let alone -150C.
__________________
Massman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2008, 22:57   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

High-K, or what they don't have
__________________

geoffrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2008, 23:39   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Amd uses SOI, Intel uses High-K.
__________________
Massman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 02:33   #6
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Massman View Post
Amd uses SOI, Intel uses High-K.
AMD was talking about using their IBM/AMD version of High-K since 65nm, they've simply pushed it back repeatedly. Whether you believe them or not they stated the next chips after Phenom II will use it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 03:20   #7
Oberon
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I sure am glad that all of you people saying this didn't happen were there to see it and everything.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 08:12   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Well, apparently it IS true. Tony confirms the speeds and apparently Macci was controling the setup to, indeed, -196C ... no coldbug :-O.

Apparently it's CPC as fast as the i7 as well

AMD back in the game?
__________________
Massman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 14:14   #9
npp
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Cameras weren't allowed at the event, and so no clear pictures were taken..." Then I guess they could have taken it to 7Ghz s well...
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 14:25   #10
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oberon View Post
I sure am glad that all of you people saying this didn't happen were there to see it and everything.
I never said it didn't happen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Massman View Post
AMD back in the game?
Pure performance, no. Factoring in price, sure.

It required 1.9v to reach ~6GHz. That's supposedly better than Nehalem, which is neat. But for the 99.9% of users that don't use LN2 or dry ice, I'm waiting to see what typical overclocks are.

If 1.6V for 4GHz holds true then it is no better than Nehalem. AMD would still be playing the cost/performance game.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dry ice nigel Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 5 5th September 2009 10:24
Dry Ice Cooling Takes 150 AMD Phenom II X3 720 (2.8Ghz) to 4.7Ghz Stable! jmke WebNews 7 24th February 2009 16:23
Core I7 (almost) hits 5GHz on dry ice Massman WebNews 0 1st November 2008 22:19
[M] Athlon FX-57 Overclocking - Dry Ice vs Phase Change Cooling jmke WebNews 7 14th June 2006 08:35
Athlon FX-57 Overclocking - Dry Ice vs Phase Change Cooling jmke Articles & Howto's 0 13th June 2006 16:28
Intel Dothan Overclocking, going for 100% OC on Dry Ice jmke Articles & Howto's 39 4th April 2006 22:44
Project Dry Ice jort Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 283 6th August 2005 15:06
Dothan and x800xt pe on Dry ice jort Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 7 26th June 2005 00:36
Sandy 3700+ on dry ice easypanic Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 14 17th June 2005 17:42
How to Cool your PC with Dry Ice jmke Articles & Howto's 20 8th June 2005 14:35

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:09.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO