It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
New Desktop (800€) New Desktop (800€)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


New Desktop (800€)
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd July 2010, 21:08   #1
Metalmorphed
 
Posts: n/a
Default New Desktop (800€)

Hi,

I'm planning on upgrading my desktop, and I have a budget of about 800 euro (perhaps a little more).
I've been looking around a little and I've found this:
GPU:
PIXMANIA Radeon HD 5830 - 1 GB GDDR5
CPU:
Intel 1156 Quad Core I5 750 2.66GHz
Motherboard:
None yet
HDD:
Was thinking about an Solid State drive as boot drive, and then some other harddisc for data.
Other:
I already have a case, screen, mouse and keyboard. Though some money left for a nice new screen (with a higher resolution) would be nice but not really necessary (since I still have some money left and a new screen would be a good investment for that :P)


Now my question to you is whether you have any better ideas or tips for me to get the best build for about 800€.

Thanks !

-Pablo
 
Old 22nd July 2010, 21:46   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,729
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Hey there Pablo, welcome to the forums,
where do you live?

GPU
HD5830: €170 http://www.pixmania.be/be/fr/5020944...-go-gddr5.html
GTX460: €190 http://www.pixmania.be/be/fr/6166500...768-mo-gd.html

either one is good , they are pretty evenly matched, http://techpowerup.com/reviews/Axle/...768_MB/31.html if you have a bit extra, spend €30 more for the GTX 460 with 1gb and you're set!

memory wise go for at least 4gb DDR3, 8gb if you can afford it;

the motherboard choice will only become important if you want a certain feature or looking for best OC
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 22nd July 2010, 21:59   #3
Metalmorphed
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@jmke

Thanks,
I live in Belgium

Thanks, I'll look into that !
I forgot about the memory xD Thanks !
 
Old 22nd July 2010, 22:03   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,729
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

might be cheaper to check out www.tones.be www.alternate.be www.forcom.be too
although for VGA card pixmania price can't be beat
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 23rd July 2010, 04:54   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Stefan Mileschin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Romania
Posts: 45,892
Stefan Mileschin Freshly Registered
Default

I would recommend the i5 760 since the 750 will become shortly discontinued; regarding the SSD, I would recommend jumping later on it because the prices are still very high and I would invest these money into another hardware component, like a monitor, as you said.
Stefan Mileschin is offline  
Old 23rd July 2010, 06:35   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,729
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan Mileschin View Post
regarding the SSD, I would recommend jumping later on it because the prices are still very high .
SSD will be THE upgrade of his machine, making it faster than any other hardware upgrade he can do. definitely worth the investment;

80Gb~100Gb model, either Intel X25-M G2 or one of the newer sandforce drives; use it for OS/apps; and get two big HDDs for all your data.

I'm pretty sure Stefan's PC doesn't have an SSD, otherwise he would not be discouraging the purchase
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 23rd July 2010, 08:38   #7
Metalmorphed
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@Stefan Mileschin & jmke
Yea, I also heard an SSD makes your computer waaaay faster So I'm still going for one ^^

Though now I was looking for some ram, and normally I get kingston (since I used to have this, and I'm very happy with it). Though ram has gotting really expensive

The cheapest I found was "OCZ Gold Low Voltage 2 x 2 Gb DDR3-1333 PC3-10666 PC geheugen (OCZ3G1333LV4GK)" or "OCZ Fatal1ty Dual Channel PC geheugen 2 x 2GB DDR2-800 PC2-6400 CL5" (both in Pixmania, but since I don't have 5 posts yet I can't post the link :/ :P )

So both 4GB. But I have no idea what the difference is :P Nor do I know whether the "OCZ" ram is any good :P
Any of you have any experience with that ram ?

Thanks !

Last edited by Metalmorphed : 23rd July 2010 at 08:40.
 
Old 23rd July 2010, 08:48   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Stefan Mileschin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Romania
Posts: 45,892
Stefan Mileschin Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
SSD will be THE upgrade of his machine, making it faster than any other hardware upgrade he can do. definitely worth the investment;

80Gb~100Gb model, either Intel X25-M G2 or one of the newer sandforce drives; use it for OS/apps; and get two big HDDs for all your data.

I'm pretty sure Stefan's PC doesn't have an SSD, otherwise he would not be discouraging the purchase
Dear John, I have one, but I cannot say I can recommend one 100%, mostly because with the price you get a 64GB one, I can also buy a 2TB hdd easy, in my country at least.

OCZ Fatal1ty Dual Channel PC geheugen 2 x 2GB DDR2-800 PC2-6400 CL5 -> don't get this because it is DDR2, not 3

Regarding the RAM , you can't go wrong with either A-DATA or Corsair.

Last edited by Stefan Mileschin : 23rd July 2010 at 09:10.
Stefan Mileschin is offline  
Old 23rd July 2010, 09:01   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,729
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Dear John, I have one, but I cannot say I can recommend one 100%

what?

boot times, app loading times, general alt-tabbing and every single action on your PC is made AT least 2x faster than with a normal HDD. That's worth the investment and tweaks for getting your OS/apps on a smaller SSD

Quote:
So both 4GB. But I have no idea what the difference is :P Nor do I know whether the "OCZ" ram is any good :P
pretty darn good memory; if you're not going to overclock, any memory speed rating will do fine
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 23rd July 2010, 09:13   #10
Metalmorphed
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@Stefan Mileschin
Haha, thanks for pointing that out, didn't see it was DDR2 xD

@Stefan & jmke
Yea, still going for a SSD, even though it costs a lot ^^

@jmke
And what rate is needed for overclocking ? (never did it, neither am I planning on doing it, though just interested :P)

Thanks a lot !
-Pablo
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia narrows ATI’s lead in desktop GPU market share jmke WebNews 0 1st November 2005 16:33
AMD Athlon 64 X2 – AMD Dual-Core Desktop Chip’s Name jmke WebNews 0 14th April 2005 11:26
The Incredible Shrinking IBM Desktop Sidney WebNews 0 10th June 2004 18:35
Bill Gates: "The Shift to 64-bit Computing on the Desktop is Nearly Here" jmke WebNews 0 5th May 2004 21:17
Intel Heads Towards 4MB Cache in Desktop Processors jmke WebNews 0 17th March 2004 08:36

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:13.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO