It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
WinXP/RAID install problem.  HELP!! WinXP/RAID install problem. HELP!!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


WinXP/RAID install problem. HELP!!
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd March 2007, 13:20   #1
mad70sx
 
Posts: n/a
Default WinXP/RAID install problem. HELP!!

Hello.

I was wondering if anyone has run into a similar problem that I'm currently having.

I'm building a new PC and in the process of installing WinXP,when I try to install it in a RAID configuration WinXP doesnt see/recognise the drives. If I don't use RAID it will see the drives and allow XP to continue to install.

I then downloaded the RAID driver for my motherboard to a floppy,thinking that the driver might be the problem. When I try to install XP again and get prompted press F6 to install the driver,I frantically press F6 but nothing happins. (and yes,the floppy is in the drive! )

I can't figure out why nothing happins when I hit F6.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,Greg
 
Old 22nd March 2007, 13:30   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

normally you should get a separate screen for loading RAID drivers after you pressed F6, are you using an USB keyboard? Do you have a PS/2 lying around you can use for test.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 22nd March 2007, 15:21   #3
mad70sx
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
normally you should get a separate screen for loading RAID drivers after you pressed F6, are you using an USB keyboard? Do you have a PS/2 lying around you can use for test.
Ive tried both USB and PS2 keyboards with no luck.

I've never set up a RAID(raid 0) array before. My PC will mainly be for gaming and for multimedia. Will I even see any noticable performance increases with RAID? At this point I'm about to say the hell with it and get on with the XP install
 
Old 22nd March 2007, 15:30   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

check our daily news section
RAIDing Your Hard Drives - Yes or No?

I would never use RAID 0 for data, OS, or games. but that's just me; I like stability over high OC/speed.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 22nd March 2007, 15:42   #5
mad70sx
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hmmm.....interesting article. I may just scrap the whole RAID thing........
 
Old 22nd March 2007, 16:07   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

the only usable RAID configs in my humble opinion are RAID 5 and RAID 1.

RAID 0 is ok for a temp disk volume for video editing or similar, but wouldn't trust any valuable data on there
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 22nd March 2007, 16:19   #7
mad70sx
 
Posts: n/a
Default

No critical server storage or anything like that for me. My PC is for entertainment purposes only.
 
Old 22nd March 2007, 16:21   #8
mad70sx
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Is raid 5 striping and mirroring? If I were to go that route,would I need a third drive that equals the volume of the first two drives combined?
 
Old 22nd March 2007, 16:25   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

RAID 5 works with parity and striping, with 3 drives, drive one will have DATA1 DATA2 + PARITY; drive two will have DATA1 + PARITY + DATA3, and drive three PARITY + DATA2 + DATA3.

the parity section has the data needed to recreate the missing data if one drive should fail; by adding drives to your RAID 5 configuration you'll increase redundability as more drives can "fail" before the RAID array will go offline.

Quote:
Minimum of 3 drives, data is striped across 2 drives with the third drive receiving a parity bit. The drive receiving the parity constantly rotates around the 3. The array can survive a failure of a single drive, but it must be replaced before the array will be functional again. This setup provides an increase in performance slightly less than RAID 0, but is more efficient with your drive space, a 3-drive array is 66% efficient, and the more drives you have in the array, the more space efficient it becomes. This array also allows the use of a ‘hot spare’, a drive that is not used until another drive fails. The controller will automatically rebuild the array using the hot spare and continue to operate, and then when the faulty drive is replaced, it will take on the role of being the hot spare.
but do know that with onboard raid solutions like those on recent motherboards, you can run into problems if you want to upgrade to another motherboard; as you'll most likely loose the raid arrayin the process and have to start from scratch.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 22nd March 2007, 17:04   #10
mad70sx
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for letting me pick your brain a little bit JMKE!!

 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving existing Windows XP Install from AMD nForce3 to Intel P35 jmke General Madness - System Building Advice 2 2nd August 2008 17:38
Major problems after Ubuntu install Liquid3D Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 9 11th July 2007 22:14
HOWTO: Troubleshoot Any Networking Problem jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th February 2006 13:33
HOWTO: install an AMD dual-core processor jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 3 14th February 2006 17:40
boot problem after install OCZ booster Desert Eagle Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 6th July 2005 02:26
fresh win xp install with catalyst 4.6 doesn't work, with old 3.6 no problem??? maro General Madness - System Building Advice 0 7th July 2004 09:04
Making a Windows XP Slipstreamed Install CD jmke WebNews 0 20th June 2004 21:58
9cjs and XP home install RAID1 Kerry Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 4 2nd June 2004 09:38
Help needed: R9800pro problem FoRCe Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 22 13th January 2004 15:02
OS install prob Corax Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 2 9th August 2002 09:39

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:47.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO