It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
ASUS P4PE raid-problem ASUS P4PE raid-problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


ASUS P4PE raid-problem
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 5th March 2003, 11:12   #1
ModdiN MansoN
 
Posts: n/a
Default ASUS P4PE raid-problem

I have a problem with an ASUS P4PE/raid motherboard:
When I connect two drives to the raid-channel, the MB only recognizes the master-drive, never the slave

I've tested it with two motherboards and with 2 IBM and 2 samsung drives, same problem every time


somebody got an idea?
 
Old 5th March 2003, 11:20   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,579
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

are the jumpers set to "cable select" ?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 5th March 2003, 11:28   #3
ModdiN MansoN
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nope, 1master and 1slave
 
Old 5th March 2003, 11:35   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

set to CS ... both !

good info here
http://www.sudhian.com/showfaqs.cfm?fid=7&fcid=7
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 5th March 2003, 11:48   #5
ModdiN MansoN
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nope, doen't help, still only finds one drive, the master, no sign of the second disk anywhere
 
Old 5th March 2003, 11:57   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,579
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

you set up both as CS now ?

what does it do if you switch them around?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 5th March 2003, 12:00   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

raid channel 1: cable 1 - disk 1 - CS
raid channel 2: cable 2 - disk 2 - CS

then go into bios raid setup and make array
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 5th March 2003, 12:01   #8
ModdiN MansoN
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yes, both are set to CS, I tried switching them, but that doesn't help either. tried the IBM's and the samsung's: same problem
 
Old 5th March 2003, 12:02   #9
ModdiN MansoN
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bosw8er
raid channel 1: cable 1 - disk 1 - CS
raid channel 2: cable 2 - disk 2 - CS

then go into bios raid setup and make array
mobo has only one channel
 
Old 5th March 2003, 12:17   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

RAID: RAID 0 supported by single Parallel ATA with single or dual Serial ATA connections, or dual Serial ATA connections alone. RAID 1 supported by single Parallel ATA with single Serial ATA connection or dual Serial ATA connections alone

from mobo specs
looks like you can get hook up or:
- 1 ata
- 2 sata in raid
Bosw8er is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS Leads the Way for True USB 3.0 Integration in Complete Product Line jmke WebNews 0 23rd March 2010 12:18
ASUS Establishes European Branch in Benelux jmke WebNews 0 28th February 2006 12:39
HOWTO: Troubleshoot Any Networking Problem jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th February 2006 13:33
ASUS Announces Scalable Server Solutions with Dual-Core Processing Technology jmke WebNews 0 26th July 2005 11:10
ASUS introduces EN6600 Silencer Series jmke WebNews 0 28th April 2005 14:21
Promise Technology Demonstrates RAID 6 And SATA 3G Solutions jmke WebNews 0 3rd March 2005 10:27
VIA Announces the VIA VT6421 PCI Serial ATA RAID Controller jmke WebNews 0 13th January 2004 10:12
Asus P4PE moederbord Coolrunner For Sale 0 1st May 2003 21:03
ASUS A7N8X raid? Alpha 2-6 General Madness - System Building Advice 1 28th February 2003 19:32
Asus P4PE + WireTricked CPU jmke Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 16 2nd January 2003 17:39

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:24.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO