It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
nforce2 driving me nuts nforce2 driving me nuts
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


nforce2 driving me nuts
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th March 2004, 19:15   #1
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
nforce2 driving me nuts

Okay, since my 4th nforce2 motherboard (a chaintech) died suddenly without warning last week, i had to buy a new one. The dude who wrote this review recommends an nf7-s, so i bought me one of those.

I've put a fairly virgin (as in barely ever overclocked/overvolted) XP1700+ juihb together with 2*Mushkin BH-5 and a R9700Pro in it, and it refuses to boot.

Mmm'kay, maybe it's a compatability issue, so I replaced the radeon with a GF2. No boot either. Hmmm.... maybe just one stick ram would help? No boot either. I retry to boot and halelulia it boots fine. I checked the settings in the bios, save&exit and... it refuses to boot. Aah!

30 attempts to boot later, i figured it might be the BH-5 sticks, so I replaced it with twinmoss 60B. No luck either.

WTF is wrong? I've got two motherboards, an untampered, intact XP1700+, 3 sticks of ram, 2 PSU's and 2 videocard, and no combination wants to work!

5 Nvidia Nforce2 motherboards and not a single one working. Next time I buy a Dell with a Intel Celeron.

Any tips, except smashing it with a sledgehammer?
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 6th March 2004, 20:26   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,002
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

RMA ...
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th March 2004, 21:15   #3
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Which piece? : )
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 6th March 2004, 21:35   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,543
DUR0N Freshly Registered
Default

like poitke said on other forum: cpu is most likely the pain in the ***, as it is the only part that remained unchanged.
DUR0N is offline  
Old 6th March 2004, 21:46   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,002
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I would RMA the mobo though, if the CPU works in another system but not in the NF7.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th March 2004, 21:54   #6
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

I can't check which part doesn't work, as no possible combination works with the parts I have.

I'll try to get a second cpu somewhere. If the cpu died after two months without upping vcore...
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 7th March 2004, 11:38   #7
Member
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

I had an nforce 2 epox refuising to boot, giving a led error of OC this weekend.
Searched the manual, no explanation.
got a new asus a7n8x-x (only 70 euro) and replaced it all : no boot.
got the 2600+ out which was in it and replaced it with a 1800+ I still had : perfectly ok.

this is the 2nd 2600+ dying on me, none of them was very overclocked (this one did 2200 mhz 11*200 on standard voltage, so that's hardly extreme overclocking as it was cooled with a slk900...). CRAP
these things are unreliable.
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 8th March 2004, 08:42   #8
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Yeah, I'm getting disappointed to about the reliability of the NF2+XP combo. : /

Never the less, A64 is still too expensive and XP's are dirt cheap, so i ordered a Duron appaloosa and a XP Thorton to work with in the meanwhile.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 8th March 2004, 16:42   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,543
DUR0N Freshly Registered
Default

200 for a A64 3000+ and 150 for a motherboard.
that's like... NF7-S + your old XP + the appaloosa and the thorton
DUR0N is offline  
Old 8th March 2004, 17:01   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,002
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

0wned :grin:
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Architecture Driving Future of Supercomputing jmke WebNews 0 16th November 2009 13:26
Logitech Driving Force Pro Force Feedback Wheel jmke WebNews 0 17th March 2006 17:07
Logitech Driving Force Pro Sidney WebNews 0 18th October 2005 20:58
Enthusia Review & Driving Force Pro Impressions Sidney WebNews 1 2nd June 2005 15:51
nForce2 C0/C1/C2 Cooling Patch jmke WebNews 2 12th September 2004 13:40
AMD nForce2 memory timings explored jmke Articles & Howto's 74 29th March 2004 13:39
Nieuwe Shuttle SN41G2 Barebone (nForce2) retspan Mad Bargains 5 12th May 2003 21:12

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:49.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO