It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
Water block fun: demonRed, the DIY water cooling setup Water block fun: demonRed, the DIY water cooling setup
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Water block fun: demonRed, the DIY water cooling setup
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5th July 2005, 14:39   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Water block fun: demonRed, the DIY water cooling setup

After showing of his water block making skills in this thread we are proud to present you with a full article on djivesp's DIY water cooling setup

"Guest writer djivesp shows us how he build a complete water cooling setup from scratch, using parts from his old Toyota, and making himself water blocks for CPU, northbridge and his NV6800LE, the last one features 3-barbs and packs quite a punch."

http://www.madshrimps.be/gotoartik.php?articID=344
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2005, 11:06   #2
GIBSON
 
Posts: n/a
Default

didn't knew djivesp was writing an article about his blocks, anyhow, nice article djivesp!
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2005, 15:33   #3
Mr.Don
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Certanly dont think its healthy at all to give a Mobile Barton 2.1 volts, in my head its allready fried :/
I dont understand why you dident make it all in cupper, a bar big enough can be found at the local scrapyard, or be gought at for an example www.watercool.de in pieces
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2005, 17:02   #4
djivesp
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I certainly could have tried,
however,
since copper is heavy and i live in the UK postage from anywhere would be high, and i would have needed quite a large bar,
before i started i did look into purchasing some, but minimum ordering quantities and sizes put me off, it would have worked out far too expensive.
+ i wanted to prove that Alu isnt as bad as everyone thinks, it works - maybe a few C's higher but when you take into consideration weight, price, and [at least here] availability, i think i've done OK
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2005, 17:04   #5
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Said it already, but very nice rig .
Also, don't give a mobile 2,1v, that's too much. A desktop AMD might survive, but a mobile one is used to run at lower volts.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2005, 19:15   #6
GIBSON
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i don't think he was as serious about that 2.1 volts as you guys think, and besides, as far as i know, voltage itself can't hurt but you need enough cooling power for it not hurting your cpu
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2005, 20:07   #7
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GIBSON
i don't think he was as serious about that 2.1 volts as you guys think, and besides, as far as i know, voltage itself can't hurt but you need enough cooling power for it not hurting your cpu
Intel sudden death syndrome ? Could kill a P4 when +1.75v were used (just a matter of luck).
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2005, 20:40   #8
djivesp
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hehe,

Ive heard of mobile 2500's running stable at 2.1V :P, its merely higher quality silicone, thats the only thing that sepatares the desktop and mobiles, as the ones that pass the 1.45V stability test off the production line get sold as the mobiles!

volt them till they smoke ! :grin:

i tried to run my 2400+ at 2.2 but anything higher than 2.11 and strange things start to happen ... uke: (within reasonable temps too)
i think the A7N8X's have overvolt protection of some sort, as the FETS and caps are cooled sufficiently :/ ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2005, 20:45   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

there is a point where increased voltage will no longer mean higher performance

~2v is the soft spot for most CPU's, some higher, some lower
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2005, 00:46   #10
Mr.Don
 
Posts: n/a
Default

#4 Thats why i mensioned the local srapyard, i found a piece for my mosfets for 20 Danish Kroner (2) - i dident use the piece, but its big enough for two rather large CPU cooling heads...

It needs cleaning and some plane sandpaper but its possible to make a very fine head or two of it..
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swiftech Komodo VGA Water Cooling Block Launched jmke WebNews 0 9th June 2009 16:46
Water Cooling Setup Master Shake Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 3 18th September 2008 21:26
EnzoTech Sapphire CPU Water Block Review jmke WebNews 0 9th November 2007 09:26
Vadim preps universal GPU water cooling block jmke WebNews 0 29th August 2007 17:50
Swiftech MCW-60 VGA Water Cooling Block Review jmke WebNews 0 27th August 2007 14:03
Corsair Launches Nautilus GPU Water Cooling Blocks jmke WebNews 0 11th October 2006 21:49
DIY Water Cooling System Project jmke WebNews 0 29th September 2004 14:19
Asetek Antarctica CPU Water Block jmke WebNews 0 1st September 2004 15:08
Global WIN introduces "Jefi": universal water cooling solution for up to 300W jmke WebNews 0 3rd June 2004 13:28
Question : 80% DIY water cooling ... radiator Kiven Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 6 11th February 2004 14:37

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:50.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO