It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
VIA KT400 Chipset Overclocking VIA KT400 Chipset Overclocking
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


VIA KT400 Chipset Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th December 2002, 14:43   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default VIA KT400 Chipset Overclocking

Quote:
In the search for more performance, I tested 3 brandnew KT400 equipped motherboards, in the hope to outperform my current AMD performance system, based on the KT333 chipset.
http://www.madshrimps.be/gotoartik.php?articID=39
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2002, 14:52   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Nice work !

Should rename it:
"VIA KT400 Chipset si teh suXor ! "

What about hyperion (http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=211) ?
What's the influence on the benchies ?
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2002, 15:02   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

would be cool if:
a) I had the motherboards & other hardware still in my possesion
b) the R9700Pro worked on the KT400

:-)
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2002, 15:41   #4
silencer
 
Posts: n/a
Default

why didN'T you put a nforceII in the review?

so that we good see how mutch the kt400 sucks

silencer
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2002, 15:51   #5
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Hmmm... not a bad idea silencer.

JMKe, shall I make a quick run of DCDDR running at 133/166/200FSB? It would make a nice comparison.

Awesome work by the way. How did you make those 1337 graphs?
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2002, 16:00   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

you're kidding right.. about the graphs?
Excell man.. please.. go out and buy it, there's a students pack out that includes alot of otherwise very $$$ stuff, for only 100€ or so

yes please & add them to the mentioned thread

anywayz to answer to Silencer's question: I didn't add the nForce2 cause at the time of testing the nForce2 wasn't out yet

but Comtech has shown interest in this, so I might be reviewing 2-3 nForce2 mobo's very soon
Epox & Asus are pretty sure, maybe the Abit will follow also
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2002, 16:12   #7
silencer
 
Posts: n/a
Default

thx for the answer and correction of my English.

btw nice review

silencer
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2002, 16:17   #8
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Here are some epox 8rda+ benches at 7-2-2 CL2:

@133fsb 2075/1997
@166fsb 2582/2468
@200fsb 3104/2920


I don't think sisoft is a good way to bench an nforce mobo though. It cearly states to use 64bit data packets to bench, which is the bandwith of single channel ddr... i wouldn't be suprised if i would get exactly the same results with just 1 stick.


And yes i'll stop being a cheap arse and start spending money on software. :^)
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2002, 16:25   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

those numbers indeed suck compared to the KR7A @ 200

I know sisoft is not the way to bench/compare motherboards
but reallife gaming software benches weren't possible due to the fact that the R9700Pro failed to work

otherwise I had included:
PCMark2002
3DMark2K1
QuakeIII
Serious Sam
UT2003

I had these done on the KT3, as this was the first motherboard I installed, but.. well.. you know.. a TNT2 doesn't really make it an even challenge
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2002, 16:30   #10
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

They don't 'suck', but it just doesn't reflect the performance gain you get from dcddr in real life apps.


By the way, this epox nforce˛ at 200FSB is still faster than my ol' KR7A at 205FSB. 3104/2920 <> 3055/2730
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD launches energy efficient 760G chipset jmke WebNews 0 19th January 2009 13:06
45 nm Quad Core overclocking, whats the best chipset? duki Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 7 18th August 2008 19:36
Asus AMD overclocking motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe released jmke WebNews 0 29th July 2008 16:13
MSI Overclocking Contest : Info & Howto Join jmke General OC-Team Forum 1 14th June 2008 19:44
Which chipset for quad-core overclocking? Sidney WebNews 0 28th October 2007 17:13
VIA Announces K8N800A Chipset , Notebooks powered by AMD TurionT 64-M jmke WebNews 0 25th February 2005 07:44
VIA Announces K8T890, World’s First PCI Express Chipset for the AMD Athlon™ Processor jmke WebNews 0 25th September 2004 13:17
Albatron Says Its Mainboards Have Increased Overclocking Potential jmke WebNews 1 17th July 2004 01:16
Alienware Selects VIA K8T800 Chipset for Flagship AMD Processor Based Aurora High-Per jmke WebNews 0 13th January 2004 14:11
nForce2 Mobo's as bad @ overclocking as the KT400 ? jmke General Madness - System Building Advice 2 30th November 2002 14:08

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:16.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO