It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
OCZ DDR Booster Review OCZ DDR Booster Review
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


OCZ DDR Booster Review
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th September 2004, 00:05   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default OCZ DDR Booster Review

Want to push your memory voltage way beyond what your motherboard has to offer without the need of a soldering iron? OCZ has just the thing; we take a closer look at their DDR Booster which can increase the vDIMM up to 3.9v! An overclocker´s dream come true?

http://www.madshrimps.be/gotoartik.php?articID=227
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2004, 02:42   #2
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Good info./review.
How much voltage is too much in general before damage occurs?
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2004, 03:25   #3
JNav89GT
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think 3.4 is probably safe, however, once over 2.9v it's rolling the dice to some extent. BH-5 seems to be very robust, so I would feel ok running 3.2v 24/7.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2004, 16:02   #4
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Are those capacitors in the way if you wanted to place the booster in the frist dimm (closest to the cpu)?

Does the added Vdimm affect only the ram sticks or does it also affect the A64 memory controller?
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2004, 16:45   #5
JNav89GT
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Kristos:
I think in general you should try to fill dimms that are closest to cpu socket 1st as they are "generally" the best as far as oc'ing and stability are concerned. So to me the Booster needs to compliment rather that supplant that idea.

Re: A64 controller taking voltage. I don't think it does, at least doesn't seem to suffer in moderation. There were alot of people killing A64's when they first came out, but I think 90%+ of that was due to motherboard mods and vlink and chipset mods vs. just straight vdimm. In any event. I have had my vdimm on boards in the 3.0-3.2v range 24/7 and never(knock on wood) experienced an A64 failure.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2004, 17:52   #6
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Generally speaking, that is offcourse true but for example on my abit nf7, the middle dimm is the most performant one. Or at least I think it is, I can't find my notes anymore :grum: but it was eather 2nd or 3rd dimm. Also, the only option I have if I want to stay in dual channel is to use the first dimm (with slightly rearanged cooblocks on the booster) on the nf-7 and that's also why I asked about the capacitors. If it would fit, you could place it in dimm 1 and perhaps be hable to use slot 2 and 4 for dual channel (1&3 and 2&4 are the dual channel combo's in this case right?).



offtopic: what are vlink mods? Or better yet, what is vlink and what does it affect?
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2004, 17:58   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

that performance difference will not be BIG, we're talking 1-2Mhz in my humble opinion.


edit: VLink is the datapath between the North and Soutbridges , from http://www.xtremeresources.com/forum...2&postcount=16 or http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...2&postcount=16
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2004, 18:05   #8
JNav89GT
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Kristos: on the MSI the dual channels are 1/2 and 3/4
so I plugged in booster in channel 4. My msi review will touch on the confusing nature of how they have that setup.

Yes I agree on NF2 the best dimm slots in general are the one farthest away and #2. I think this is unique to the NF2 though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2004, 20:01   #9
SuAside
 
Posts: n/a
Default

HO was handed one to test too recently, but the thing doesnt seem compatible with the motherboards it's meant to be compatible with... (according to compability list, and yes we've tried various BIOSes)
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2004, 20:26   #10
JNav89GT
 
Posts: n/a
Default

not sure what to say. It ran w/out a hitch in the two boards I tried it on. The MSI which I used for review, and a Chaintech NF3-250 board.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ DDR Booster Mod Sidney WebNews 1 23rd September 2005 10:10
OCZ DDR Booster Sidney WebNews 0 2nd June 2005 15:14
Modding and Improving the OCZ DDR Booster for DFI, Chaintech, ETC, with 3 Ram Slots jmke WebNews 0 23rd December 2004 20:21
OCZ DDR Booster Review Da_BoKa WebNews 0 17th November 2004 14:34
OCZ DDR Booster + Asus P4C800 jmke Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 12 17th October 2004 00:09
OCZ EL DDR PC-3200 Platinum Revision 2 Review jmke WebNews 0 30th September 2004 14:19
In-House: OCZ DDR Booster Review jmke WebNews 0 27th September 2004 00:05
OCZ DDR Booster Review: Overclockers' Dream jmke WebNews 0 11th August 2004 10:34
OCZ DDR Booster Reviewed @ VR-Zone Hardware Sidney WebNews 0 9th August 2004 02:45
OCZ DDR Booster Review jmke WebNews 0 26th July 2004 00:16

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:02.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO