It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Articles & Howto's
AMD nForce2 memory timings explored AMD nForce2 memory timings explored
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD nForce2 memory timings explored
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd January 2004, 16:27   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,614
jmke has disabled reputation
Default AMD nForce2 memory timings explored

Piotke clears the confusion that might be there with memory timings on your nForce2 setup

Quote:
A couple of days ago, I read on a Dutch forum a question concerning AMD timings. This week I saw almost the same question on our forums. It was a question about the fastest memory timings for an AMD nForce2 setup. Nobody could give a clear answer, so started to test the most common used timings... Here are the results you´ve always wanted to know!
http://www.madshrimps.be/gotoartik.php?articID=133
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2004, 17:55   #2
teki
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Now u got the hardware, might it be possible to test those 2-2-5 / 2-2-11 on your p4 system.
I wonder what the difference is compared to my 2.5-3-3-7 settings
this is the best my apacer pc3200 can handle.

It's almost impossible to get 50b chips in standard belgian shops.
Went to tones/forcom/digita/pcpartner and comtechnology but they only sell 50D
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2004, 18:03   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

piotke will be getting a p4 cpu soon, so we'll get a follow up on that soon enough...
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2004, 18:03   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,614
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

the 2-2-11 will only perform better on a nForce2 setup

for the P4 lower timings = better
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2004, 18:05   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

I allready have a p4 setup right now, but only one stick of BH5, so no dual channel..

I intend to buy 2 sticks of mushkin memory BH5, not sure yet
__________________
.
piotke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2004, 18:09   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,614
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

you can do the test in SC, but 2-2-5 will outperform 2-2-8 (max value I think, no 11 available)
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2004, 19:04   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

sc is not an option for comparison on a dual channel setup... you can never extrapolate the difference in single channel towards dual channel
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2004, 19:14   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,614
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

only nForce2 shows increased performance with 2-2-11 as stated before. 2-2-8 on Intel will be slower then 2-2-5.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2004, 19:35   #9
teki
 
Posts: n/a
Default

will the difference between 2-2-2-5 and 2.5-3-3-7 on an Intel rig be comparable with the difference on and amd rig?
Because the difference between them is =~ 430 3dmarks and it seems like everyone is selling their oc memory at this moment, so for a very small price, my rig could be running a lot faster and more stable than with this crappy apacer ram.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2004, 19:42   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

you could get an increase of some percents, however... in realworld applications you won't notice anything...
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Launches 45nm Triple Core Phenom II with DDR3 support jmke WebNews 0 9th February 2009 09:26
AMD Announces Widespread Availability and Broad Global OEM Support for New Quad-Core jmke WebNews 0 13th November 2008 16:17
AMD GAME! Enables Console-like Simplicity for Mainstream PCs jmke WebNews 9 19th May 2008 20:51
AMD Introduces ‘AMD Business Class’, Designed With Business in Mind jmke WebNews 0 28th April 2008 09:33
AMD Turion 64 to Get Dual-Channel Memory, Second Core jmke WebNews 0 27th November 2005 17:14
GEIL to Present Memory Modules with CL1.5 Timings jmke WebNews 1 20th May 2005 10:46
AMD A64 S754 Memory timings explored on nForce3 150 jmke Articles & Howto's 10 18th April 2004 02:51
Amd Reports Fourth Quarter And Annual Results jmke WebNews 0 30th January 2004 14:47
AMD memory timings, the truth ! piotke On the TestBench - Work In Progress 6 2nd January 2004 20:20
INFO: Memory Timings jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 6 18th May 2003 11:38

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:12.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO