It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home
Problems getting new WU's Problems getting new WU's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Problems getting new WU's
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th July 2004, 11:12   #21
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

bah. it stopped working
back to zero.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th July 2004, 15:20   #22
Maddy
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
bah. it stopped working
back to zero.
So it's for sure a proxy thing then, something recent ?
 
Old 14th July 2004, 16:07   #23
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

it worked okay before I left on holiday :/
they changed something alright, but I have no means of finding out what.

company is too big for me to have any influence in their rules concerning firewalls/proxy.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th July 2004, 16:18   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 923
187(V)URD@ Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
it worked okay before I left on holiday :/
they changed something alright, but I have no means of finding out what.

company is too big for me to have any influence in their rules concerning firewalls/proxy.
Hack them !!!


nah I hope you can fix this or work your way up so you can install on all comps
__________________
AMD Opteron 146@3ghz H2O Storm | DFI NF4 Ultra-D | 2*512MB Gskill LE | X800GTO˛@X850XT-PE | 2*250GB Hitachi | Modded Aopen H600B| Seasonic 600W | MX510@450HZ | 19\" TFT BenQ 937s+ |3DMARK2001
AMD XP2400+@2600+ | Epox 8rda+ | 2*256 Twinmos BH5 | Club3D 9600Pro | Maxtor 80GB + 200GB | server + moviestation |
187(V)URD@ is offline  
Old 14th July 2004, 16:19   #25
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ask what has changed and find a workaround ?
 
Old 14th July 2004, 17:42   #26
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
company is too big for me to have any influence in their rules concerning firewalls/proxy.
even asking what has changed in impossible :/

there are over 50.000 PC's @ work.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th July 2004, 18:30   #27
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Frustration with big corporations; good adminstrators are harder to find than many many think.

I always say why change or do anything if we cannot measure it; sitting down with a glass of beer at least you can relax.

Remember the guy did the CV review and miss quoted; I tried contacting him over a month with no reply..... after you forward me the news/press releases I got his review for posting. One sentence email to him.... got the thing corrected within hours.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 14th July 2004, 18:51   #28
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

oh.. I have no doubt they are quite good at the job they do, I don't question that at all. F@H has no place in the bizz word, so I have no rights to ask any favours there.

if for a "legal" change of the firewall/proxy it takes 2-3 weeks with approval of several managers, then I know my question will never get passed through
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 15th July 2004, 08:45   #29
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

until I find a solution I'm folding OFFLINE with some of these machines, 3x 2.6 HT and 1x 2.53 P4's are now crunching on 91 point gromacs, takes ~37 hour for 2 WU's with one 2.6 HT, not splendid, but okay I guess...
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 15th July 2004, 10:05   #30
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

back in business..well.. sort of
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung hard drive problems with Abit AX8 motherboard Angel Blue01 Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 1st July 2009 09:27
Nvidia Problems Hit HP Desktops jmke WebNews 0 14th October 2008 20:29
Flash Player Problems and Fixes Guide Sidney WebNews 0 20th December 2007 04:59
problems with new X2 rig mentalcrisis00 Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 3 3rd March 2006 20:07
Internet connection problems wutske General Madness - System Building Advice 1 29th October 2005 10:17
Corsair TwinX 1024mb 3200XL stability problems? Lucky_Luciano Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 14 22nd November 2004 22:08
Problems kr15t0f Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home 2 28th August 2004 17:34
Intel aware of Pentium 4 heat problems jmke WebNews 2 18th April 2004 01:17
resolving network problems TeuS Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 19th March 2004 03:07
Some really odd problems & f*cked up performance teki Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 27th November 2003 15:22

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:31.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO