It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > Site & Forum Feedback - Folding@Home
INFO + JOIN [M] Folding@HOME! INFO + JOIN [M] Folding@HOME!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


INFO + JOIN [M] Folding@HOME!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th November 2002, 14:50   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

JOIN [M] Folding@Home HOWTO instructions

STATS
** http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...php?s=&t=37249
** Which proteins are available, what's the deadline and how many points are they ?

MILESTONERS MEMORIAL BOARDS
5K milestoners
10K milestoners
20K milestoners
50K milestoners

MORE INFO
** If you have problem playing games replace the graphical client with the console-version
** Increase your output by tweaking F@H
** Console userguide
** Howto @ XS
** Lot's of info from OC'ers
** Excellent Folding background info at Sudhian
** Scientists Report First Distributed Computing Success
** Native Microsoft Utilities to Install FAH Service
** How do I run the client as a service in 98/ME?
** Home of Trayit, minimize windows

EASY CONSOLE FOLDING
1) Download the console to directory x:\Foldmaniac
2) start FahConsole.exe and configure username/team and other settings. Then close the client
3) Hit Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> scheduled tasks
4) Add x:\Foldmaniac\fahconsole.exe
5) Schedule = “at system startup”
6) Uncheck “stop task after 72 hours”
7) Save it
Now the consoleversion is doing it’s job whenever your PC is on and the console is even “hidden”.
Try it ! Reboot and check your taskmanager to verify.

TRACK YOUR PROGRESS
** EM III (also home of HideitX)
** KDfold
** Folding Spy
** Linux, Samba, and Folding - Samba Guide for use with EMIII - Electron Microscope III

DISKLESS FARMING LINKS
http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/a...ss_Farm_1.html
http://www.talix.com/Folding/Folding_Farm.html
http://home.comcast.net/~bturmelle/diskless.html
http://www3.sympatico.ca/nikita25582/Recip.htm
http://muse.linuxmafia.org/lost+found/diskless.html
http://www.nelliott.demon.co.uk/dist...dows_diskless/

http://overclockix.octeams.com/

FAH on a Pen Drive. You will need 2 files : File 1 and File 2. Instructions are in the first ZIP file.


FOLDING WITHOUT INTERNET-CONNECTION
1) Make different directory's on a pc with connection. Fold1 - fold2 - fold3 - ...
2) Make a main folding directory "Foldmain" and download the folding program. Start it up & fill in your data. If it works fine you can shut it down.
3) now copy the "folding program" + "client.cfg" + "fahcore65" from the "foldmain" to each "subdirectory" (to fold1, fold2, etc)
4) start the folding-exe in directory fold1. It will make a connection to the inet and download a pack and begins working. If it works fine you can quit the program.
5) start the folding-exe in directory fold2. It will make a connection to the inet and download a pack and begins working. If it works fine you can quit the program. ... same for fold3, fold4,...
6) copy the fold1-directory to the pc without inet N°1, fold2-directory to PC2, ... copy fold1-2-3-4-... to PC1 ... whatever. Now you can fold by simply running the program.
7) If it has finished folding you simply quit the client and put the directory back to the PC with internet ... start the program in that specific directory ... it will send the information and get a new packet ...
8) OK I forgot one thing. You have to copy one registry entry from your PC with Inet to the PCs with no Inet: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\PandeGroup
Bosw8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2004, 16:04   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Ran CleanUpThread.exe at august 2

Please report broken links
Please report possible intresting stuff to add

Thank you !
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2005, 10:37   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

dualcore folding, I installed one copy, when installing 2nd copy in other folder, what do I need to do to get a machine id 2, so that they both can run?
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2005, 11:39   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,579
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

just copy the FAH.exe to the new folder, than start the .exe and reconfigure, it will ask you at one point what machine ID you want (default is 1) , set it to "2" and you're good to go!
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2005, 14:57   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

it never asks that machine thingie, but it's the graphical version I use
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2005, 15:21   #6
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

you can do it manualy by changing something in client.cfg (you can just open it in notepad)
change machineid=1 into machineid=2
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2005, 16:56   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,579
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Senile Doc; don't use the graphical version please; Command line online, you can not run graph version twice, so just switch to console version twice + firedaemon and you never have to bother with it again
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2006, 12:04   #8
OneyedK
 
Posts: n/a
Default Quest for help

I'm K* from Hardwareonline.
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...php?s=&t=34037

As you can see we're still rockin' the folding charts,
BUT we have to do it with a very small crowd.

In the past, we once had a bet going on, considering the best folding team.
You guys beat our arses bigtime and we had to bow our heads.
The past however, is the past and fact is, we're on place 147 and rising, Madshrimps hovers around place 222.

So now I'm asking for help. Actually, to join forces in folding.
If you guys would add [M] or MAD in front of your username,
we'll allways know that you're a Madshrimps folder, but we would rock the charts together.

What say you? Could we make this work?
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2006, 13:18   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,579
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

we folded for XS like that, then went our seperate ways, afaik the MAD folding effort has gone pretty much on hiatus with increased cost of running rigs under full load 24/7, by stopping F@H I saved over €2500/year
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2006, 22:23   #10
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
we folded for XS like that, then went our seperate ways, afaik the MAD folding effort has gone pretty much on hiatus with increased cost of running rigs under full load 24/7, by stopping F@H I saved over €2500/year
I stopped because of the added noise. My dad was probably happy when I stopped
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Folding@Home GPU client is tuned for Fermi jmke WebNews 0 26th May 2010 15:47
Folding@home: ATI Radeon HD 5870 same performance as 4870! jmke WebNews 0 7th October 2009 10:57
AMD and Blizzard Entertainment Join Forces jmke WebNews 0 12th August 2008 09:20
MSI Overclocking Contest : Info & Howto Join jmke General OC-Team Forum 1 14th June 2008 19:44
[M] New products from Scythe at Computex 2007 jmke WebNews 3 15th June 2007 10:39
A closer look at Folding@home on the GPU jmke WebNews 0 16th October 2006 07:07
INFO: overclocking DDR2 memory list jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th March 2006 10:04
[M] Server moved to new location: Behind the Scenes look jmke Articles & Howto's 18 8th December 2004 23:10
INFO: Memory Timings jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 6 18th May 2003 11:38
[M] SaleOut 1st round jmke For Sale 116 11th January 2003 23:01

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:31.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO