It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Vista SP1 Guides for IT Professionals Released Vista SP1 Guides for IT Professionals Released
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Vista SP1 Guides for IT Professionals Released
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th January 2008, 18:02   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Vista SP1 Guides for IT Professionals Released

Microsoft released several detailed documents explaining just about everything you ever wanted to know about Vista SP1. Highlights include a Deployment Guide, list of included hotfixes, and a 17-page list of 'Notable Changes'. In reviewing the Notable Changes document, it seems the company focused on improving reliability & performance in really specific scenarios, so it's no wonder that most reviewers are reporting no noticeable gains.

http://it.slashdot.org/article.pl?si...23202&from=rss
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 19:44   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

when is the final expected?

really hope to solve this

Attached Thumbnails
vista-sp1-guides-professionals-released-clipboard01.jpg
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 19:50   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

That is less than 25 years.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 19:57   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

also playing back music, over network, will spike CPU usage to 100% every few minutes, rendering dual core laptop useless. this is frustrating.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2008, 00:06   #5
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
also playing back music, over network, will spike CPU usage to 100% every few minutes, rendering dual core laptop useless. this is frustrating.
I tried to reproduce this. Strangely playing music does not cause more than ~1% usage. However when browsing the music directory I noticed that is what causes 100% load spikes on a core. It is not the music playing, just the browsing in explorer. Simply using the back/forward button will do it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2008, 07:32   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

weird, it's also happening now without any music playing, just random spikes to 100% when browsing and visiting a page with video/audio embed, that will cause it too
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2008, 08:38   #7
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

jmke, if you install processexplorernt then you can see in a histogram which program causes the spikes.
If you never use DRM-protected media or wma/wmv movies then you can disable the pipelinecache so playing regular mp3s is less stressing your cpu (you can still use media player classic to play wmv/wma files).
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2008, 09:06   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

also noticed now CPU spikes when using WLAN, great :/
not going to troubleshoot this until SP1 releases, if afterwards SP1 doesn't solve it, I will consider downgrade to XP (again);
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2008, 12:13   #9
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Aye, I'm having so many repeating activation issues now that I am losing my patience. Not to mention every single game will crash when I attempt to exit from the game. For whatever reason they do not shut down correctly.

For anyone that usese Vista and must hard reset their BIOS... make doubly sure to correctly set your system clock in your BIOS before you even attempt to load Vista. If not it will put you through a never ending activation hell until you reinstall from scratch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2008, 12:36   #10
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I wonder why anyone would bother with Vista when they have troubles. Why don't they just write off their loss of money and reinstall XP.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista SP2 Officialy Released jmke WebNews 0 26th May 2009 13:53
Windows Vista SP1 vs Vista SP2 RC Performance Compared jmke WebNews 0 5th February 2009 16:06
Vista SP2 to be released before Windows 7 jmke WebNews 0 18th October 2008 17:43
Windows Vista SP1 Now Available to the Public jmke WebNews 2 19th March 2008 11:49
A Second Shot: Windows Vista SP1 jmke WebNews 0 27th February 2008 21:50
List of Programs with know Issues in Vista SP1 jmke WebNews 2 23rd February 2008 17:26
Release notes for Vista SP1 - or things that will break your computer jmke WebNews 4 6th February 2008 12:03
Vista SP1 released to manufacturing, will arrive in March jmke WebNews 0 5th February 2008 10:39
More performance updates, fixes for Vista released in advance of SP1 jmke WebNews 0 4th October 2007 16:18
Windows Vista Step-by-Step Guides for IT Professionals jmke WebNews 0 25th August 2007 15:36

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:27.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO