It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Vista SP1 doesn't significantly boost performance, slows down certain tasks Vista SP1 doesn't significantly boost performance, slows down certain tasks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Vista SP1 doesn't significantly boost performance, slows down certain tasks
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th February 2008, 16:12   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Vista SP1 doesn't significantly boost performance, slows down certain tasks

We heard a lot of different performance claims about Vista SP1 in past few months, and now that it's finally (sort of) here, it's time to bust out the stopwatches and see what's what. According to CNET, early tests of SP1 indicate that while there are some performance enhancements to be had, they're mostly driver related -- so if you've been updating all along, you won't see much of an improvement. What's worse, certain tasks like copying files to USB 2.0 hard drives have gotten around 50 percent slower, a speed hit that overshadows the other filesystem improvements in SP1. All in all, though, it looks like SP1 is a worthwhile update -- just don't expect anything to get noticeably faster.

http://www.engadget.com/2008/02/13/v...slows-down-ce/
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 18:42   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Let's give it another year.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 18:48   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

nor 2000 nor XP ever got faster after release from RC FYI
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2008, 21:46   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

SP1 installed, PC still boots, that's a good sign. Still random CPU spikes though, will report back in a week on how it evolves, but no high hopes here.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2008, 22:06   #5
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
SP1 installed, PC still boots, that's a good sign. Still random CPU spikes though, will report back in a week on how it evolves, but no high hopes here.
Good to hear your system still boots.

Thanks for the info on the CPU spikes... at least I don't have to wonder now if SP1 fixed that.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 00:33   #6
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidney View Post
Let's give it another year.
Lets just forget it and stay with XP SP3 (it's great for fresh installs).
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 10:18   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Now Windows own Wireless Network Manager disappears if it detects a third party tool, before it was running alongside the Acer Wireless Network manager.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 13:42   #8
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well XP SP2 is no better there.

I can still randomly I boot up my laptop and the Intel PROSet Wireless drivers get locked out by XP's own wireless drivers, forcing a reboot to clear the problem. Once or twice was forced to remove then reinstall all networking drivers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 15:01   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

also audio mixer has been replaced by Realtek's, I love the simplicity of the standard audio mixer, can't find it anywhere now
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 16:32   #10
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

So M$ took control of your PC and didn't even asked you?
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 RC vs Vista SP1 Gaming Performance jmke WebNews 2 27th April 2009 18:23
Windows Vista SP1 vs Vista SP2 RC Performance Compared jmke WebNews 0 5th February 2009 17:06
Windows 7 BETA vs Windows Vista SP1 SSD Performance Compared jmke WebNews 2 19th January 2009 17:17
Windows Vista SP2 beta performance preview jmke WebNews 0 10th December 2008 12:20
Windows Vista SP1 Gaming Performance jmke WebNews 2 26th March 2008 16:57
A Second Shot: Windows Vista SP1 jmke WebNews 0 27th February 2008 22:50
List of Programs with know Issues in Vista SP1 jmke WebNews 2 23rd February 2008 18:26
Release notes for Vista SP1 - or things that will break your computer jmke WebNews 4 6th February 2008 13:03
Vista SP1 Doesn't Improve Performance jmke WebNews 1 20th November 2007 17:58
More performance updates, fixes for Vista released in advance of SP1 jmke WebNews 0 4th October 2007 17:18

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:07.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO