It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Running Windows Vista on older hardware Running Windows Vista on older hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Running Windows Vista on older hardware
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th November 2006, 10:49   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,612
jmke has disabled reputation
Running Windows Vista on older hardware

A little over four months ago we took a look at Windows Vista Beta 2. At the time, we received a number of comments about the lack of performance some readers were experiencing with Vista in comparison to what we were reflecting in our review. Admittedly, we tested Vista Beta 2 on young, fresh hardware in comparison to what many people out in the real world could be using. Now we want to find out how well older hardware handles Vista.

To round out the picture, we've spent some time with Vista RC2 on three different PCs. Our methodology can be briefly summarized as this: we found a mix of old hardware, subjected it to build 5600 and then 5744, and observed. No computers were harmed in our testing process, but a couple were almost thrown out the window.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2006, 13:43   #2
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

the amount of memory their machines had doesn't reflect AT ALL current PCs sold (which have 512MB as standard now because of the high memory prices, 1 GB is rather rare)
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2006, 13:50   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,612
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

one machine had 512Mb... Vista didn't run well at all... reflects current PCs now fine, no?

# Gateway 1200
# Athlon 1.2 GHz
# 512MB PC133 RAM
# 20GB UDMA-100 hard drive
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2006, 16:01   #4
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I am saying, most old PCs don't even have 512MB and most CURRENT pcs sold have only 512 but you need 2 GB for a good expierence.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2006, 16:10   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,612
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

and 2gb for an office PC is too expensive; urge to use Ubuntu rising

or just sticking with XP will do fine for office PC too
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2006, 16:11   #6
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

of course, but who said I'm a vista friend
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Catalyst™ 9.5 for Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, and Linux platforms jmke WebNews 0 20th May 2009 09:09
Microsoft Patch Tuesday: 5 Criticals, 2 Important, 1 Moderate Patch jmke WebNews 0 14th April 2009 18:47
Upgrading From XP To Vista To Windows 7? With Old Hardware = Compatibility Issues jmke WebNews 0 25th February 2009 10:37
Microsoft Security Bulletin Summary for September 2008 jmke WebNews 0 9th September 2008 19:20
Microsoft Security Bulletin Summary for August 2007 jmke WebNews 0 14th August 2007 22:21
Outlook XP 2002 running on Windows Vista! Sidney WebNews 1 14th March 2007 22:19
Windows Vista Review, Part 3: Installing Windows Vista jmke WebNews 0 11th November 2006 10:36
Microsoft Unveils Windows Vista Product Lineup - 6 versions jmke WebNews 0 27th February 2006 12:24
List of fixes included in Windows XP Service Pack 2 jmke WebNews 1 17th August 2004 15:03

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:11.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO