It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Intel's Pentium Extreme Edition 955: 65nm, 4 threads and 376M transistors Intel's Pentium Extreme Edition 955: 65nm, 4 threads and 376M transistors
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Intel's Pentium Extreme Edition 955: 65nm, 4 threads and 376M transistors
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th December 2005, 19:10   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Intel's Pentium Extreme Edition 955: 65nm, 4 threads and 376M transistors

Intel’s move to their 65nm process has gone extremely well. We’ve had 65nm Presler, Cedar Mill and Yonah samples for the past couple of months now and they have been just as good as final, shipping silicon. Just a couple of months ago we previewed Intel’s 65nm Pentium 4 and showcased their reduction in power consumption as well as took an early look at overclocking potential of the chips.

Intel’s 65nm Pentium 4s will be the last Pentium 4s to come out of Santa Clara and while we’d strongly suggest waiting to upgrade until we’ve seen what Conroe will bring us, there are those that can’t wait another six months, and for those that are building or buying systems today we need to find out if Intel’s 65nm Pentium 4 processors are any more worthwhile than the rather disappointing chips we had at 90nm.

The move to 90nm for Intel was highly anticipated but it could not have been any more disappointing from a performance standpoint. In a since abandoned quest for higher clock speeds, Intel brought us Prescott at 90nm with its 31 stage pipeline - up from 20 stages in the previous generation Pentium 4s. Through some extremely clever and effective engineering, Prescott actually wasn’t any slower than its predecessors, despite the increase in pipeline stages. What Prescott did leave us with however was a much higher power bill. Deeply pipelined processors generally consume a lot more power, and Prescott did just that.

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...oc.aspx?i=2658
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2005, 19:11   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

The gaming benchmarks are interesting; very small difference
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2005, 19:22   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Another chipset change; another mediocre performance. Should AMD M2 DDR2 shows the same in mediocre performance gain requiring new motherboard, memory and CPU ..... DDR2 sales may well face another disappointing result.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2005, 20:30   #4
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Doesn't AMD include the PCIE controller on the chip with M2?

and DDR2 is currently in short supply
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2005, 20:44   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rutar
and DDR2 is currently in short supply
huh ? totally not. There is so much stock that SamSung already lowered the production capacity...
__________________
.
piotke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2005, 20:47   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

There is so much DDR2 inventory; they have to stop making them

Quote:
Doesn't AMD include the PCIE controller on the chip with M2?
That I have not heard/read, yet.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2005, 20:48   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

http://www.google.be/search?q=DDR2+i...utf-8&oe=utf-8

7th link
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2005, 22:33   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

If anyone believes DDR2 in short supply, meaning prices will go up = demand exceeding supply = buy in RAM stock.

Manufacturers always adjust production according to inventory level; oversupply = price drop; high demand with low supply = price increase.

Yes, I agree there is some forward looking statements being made. Until the fat lady sings, DDR2 is in abundant supply.

Opteron 165 is in short supply; because there ain't many reseller carry inventory.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2005, 22:40   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

did you check the 7th link?
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2005, 22:54   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Yes, I did. And I do remember paying $400 for 16MB of memory in 1993.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:31.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO