It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Intel may integrate DRAM into their CPU Intel may integrate DRAM into their CPU
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Intel may integrate DRAM into their CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th June 2008, 09:54   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,002
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Intel may integrate DRAM into their CPU

Intel said that it was able to fine tune its DRAM design and hit a physical clock of 2 GHz using a 65 nm manufacturing process. The resulting 2T-DRAM offers a stunning bandwidth of 128 GB/s. If Intel is successful to take the clock speed up to the level of its QX9770/9775 processors, the bandwidth would climb to 204.8 GB/s. In other words: Intel would gain more than a 10x improvement over its current L2 cache technology. More importantly: This approach would completely change the programming model since there are no longer any concerns over cache misses.

http://www.tgdaily.com/content/view/38009/135/
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2008, 11:08   #2
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

so, by integrating dram into a cpu you will not have any cache misses ??? That makes no sense ... unless you store everything on the cpu and don't use different levels of cache (few MB), primairy memory (few GB) and virtual memory (even more GB) ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2008, 20:08   #3
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

A cache miss also has to do with the processor core operating faster than the L1/L2/L3 caches. The CPU wastes cycles while it waits for cache latency, and if you miss the access window you waste double the cycles to access the data before the CPU can start crunching that data.

Here it sounds like the cache would operate in sync with the rest of the CPU core... instant access to cache data at whim, almost.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2008, 20:41   #4
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
A cache miss also has to do with the processor core operating faster than the L1/L2/L3 caches. The CPU wastes cycles while it waits for cache latency, and if you miss the access window you waste double the cycles to access the data before the CPU can start crunching that data.

Here it sounds like the cache would operate in sync with the rest of the CPU core... instant access to cache data at whim, almost.
ah, that sort of cache misses
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel K series relieve CPU multiplier limitation-Core i7-875K OC performance Review windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 5 12th August 2010 20:18
The FTC Sues Intel Over CPU & GPU Competition jmke WebNews 0 17th December 2009 13:24
Intel i7 870 & i5 750 CPU Reviews Roundup Part 2 jmke WebNews 2 10th September 2009 10:03
Intel Core i7 920 and 940 CPU review jmke WebNews 0 14th April 2009 16:44
Intel Gulftown 32nm 6-core CPU could work on X58 Motherboards jmke WebNews 0 6th March 2009 18:15
Big step to the future, GIGABYTE EX58 EXTREME with Intel I7 EXTREME 965 CPU windwithme General Madness - System Building Advice 11 14th November 2008 06:30
NVIDIA Brings SLI Technology to Intel Bloomfield CPU Platforms jmke WebNews 1 14th July 2008 23:13
Intel E8500 Core2 Duo CPU Review jmke WebNews 0 25th March 2008 11:26
Intel to move to common CPU architecture Sidney WebNews 5 23rd August 2005 21:27
Half-Life 2 CPU Shootout: AMD versus Intel jmke WebNews 0 22nd November 2004 09:05

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:28.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO