It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
A Hard Disk In A PCI Slot? A Hard Disk In A PCI Slot?
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


A Hard Disk In A PCI Slot?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th June 2005, 19:36   #1
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default A Hard Disk In A PCI Slot?

Creative engineers and product designers are constantly coming up with new ideas for interesting products. One company with plenty of inventive folk is Taiwan-based Upgradeware, which in the past made the news mostly because of its processor upgrades.

Their latest offering is a pair of PCI cards, the HD25I and HD25IS, which are adapters that make it possible to install a 2.5" hard disk in a conventional desktop PCI slot. Upgradeware doesn't put an extra hard disk controller on the board. Rather, it uses the PCI slot only as a location and energy source for the installation of the hard disk. The interface continues to be through the PC motherboard.

http://www.tomshardware.com/storage/20050617/index.html
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2005, 10:16   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

waste of space and money in my humble opinion
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2005, 13:43   #3
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Same here.

The only case where this device seems handy is if your laptop has gone to hell and you want to use the data you had in it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2005, 15:17   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

there are much cheaper solutions for that, laptop to IDE HDD adapter
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2005, 18:26   #5
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I mean in the case where your laptop has fried, completely.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2005, 18:32   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,000
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

yes,

there exist convertors to use a 2,5 " HDD on a 3,5 " cable. Costst around 5 to 10 euro on ebay.
__________________
.
piotke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2005, 20:08   #7
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well...

The things you learn each day...
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PR: Scythe Launches Hard Disk Stabilizer 2 jmke WebNews 0 5th September 2008 21:36
Hard Disk Drives Capacity Limits jmke WebNews 0 1st October 2007 11:58
Seagate Initiates Shipments of 1TB Hard Disk Drive jmke WebNews 0 8th June 2007 11:34
Seagate Announced 1 Hard Disk Drive with 12GB Storage Capacity jmke WebNews 0 16th February 2006 09:52
Fake Maxtor Hard Disk Drives Hit the Market jmke WebNews 2 30th September 2005 09:09
Seagate 120GB Momentus 5400.2 PATA Notebook Hard Disk Sidney WebNews 0 8th August 2005 20:14
Seagate 400GB Barracuda 7200.8 SATA Hard Disk Sidney WebNews 0 25th July 2005 16:16
Western Digital Releases Its Largest Hard Disk Drive: 400GB jmke WebNews 0 24th July 2005 20:41
Western Digital Unveils New "Scorpio" Hard Disk Drives jmke WebNews 0 7th October 2004 09:48

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:15.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO