It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Gigabyte I-RAM: more info Gigabyte I-RAM: more info
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Gigabyte I-RAM: more info
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th June 2005, 09:06   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Gigabyte I-RAM: more info

I talked to the engineer who is involved with this product and he gave me the following information:
• The I-RAM will work with almost any motherboard
• If the PC is off but on an active power circuit, the I-RAM is powered
• There is no technical reason for a 4 GB limit
• Pricing is in the $60-70 range
• Product will be available early August
• It might be possible to use the PCI-E slot, but no plans yet


http://www.overclockers.com/tips00788/index02.asp
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2005, 09:23   #2
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Aha! Now that's more like it!

One major problem is almost solved. with the help of a UPS it is removed entirely too.

Could you ask how soon before a 4+GB version?

Are there sticks of RAM bigger than 1GB?

Can you have sticks of different size?
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2005, 09:52   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

uhm; that post is a quote from the article linked

to answer your memory question, yes there are 2gb sticks, yes they are expensive (€500-€700 for DDR)
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2005, 10:49   #4
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'll just buy 2 iRAMs then
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2005, 12:20   #5
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

JMKE have done a calculation what it will cost with the RAM (and what kind is more likely to be)
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2005, 12:39   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

if you get one iram with 4 gb for OS and quick apps... 4 gb will be enough for me...

how much is a clean windows install?
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2005, 12:48   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

<2gb

card + 4gb cost would be ~€500 at the least
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2005, 12:57   #8
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

****! That's very expensive.

What kind of RAM, is it the cheapest around?
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2005, 13:33   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

you have to calculate €70-100 for each DDR stick

cheapest one will run at CL3-4-4-8 @ PC3200

which is more then enough for the I-Ram
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2005, 13:45   #10
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think Gigabyte needs to find/describe an easy way to make it the OS disk.

that would be fun to boot up
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE Launches H55 & H57 Series Motherboards with USB 3.0 and DisplayPort jmke WebNews 0 8th January 2010 09:58
GIGABYTE Launches Industry’s First USB 3.0, SATA 6Gbps Solution on AMD Platform jmke WebNews 0 26th November 2009 10:13
GIGABYTE Announces New P55A-series Motherboards jmke WebNews 0 2nd November 2009 11:19
GIGABYTE Launches Complete Range of 785G Series Motherboards jmke WebNews 0 6th August 2009 14:16
More Intel P55 Motherboard Info: Asus, MSI, Gigabyte, Biostar jmke WebNews 0 25th May 2009 13:31
Gigabyte Overclocking Contest To Launch 25th September jmke WebNews 1 19th September 2008 22:07
INFO: List of RAM with Winbond UTT chips jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 2 29th May 2005 18:16
INFO: RAM List: What Chips on what Memory jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 3 23rd April 2005 18:13
INFO: Explanations of DFI NF3-250GB Bios settings/Ramtimings jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 2 7th November 2004 04:11

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:32.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO