It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
Enemy Territory : Quake Wars performance in-depth Enemy Territory : Quake Wars performance in-depth
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Enemy Territory : Quake Wars performance in-depth
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th September 2007, 12:48   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,003
piotke Freshly Registered
Default Enemy Territory : Quake Wars performance in-depth

While other recently released titles like Bioshock and Medal of Honor:
Airborne are based on the visually stunning Unreal 3 engine, Enemy
Territory: Quake Wars has been built around a modified version of the Doom 3
engine with MegaTexture technology, which may not look as impressive anymore
in comparison.

However if you want to look at the bright side, Enemy Territory: Quake Wars
is by far a more system friendly title, as you are about to find out.

Taking the newly released ETQW demo, we have ran a number of tests to
determine what kind of hardware you need to enjoy this game with all the eye
candy turned on. The game has been optimized rather well and we found it to
be quite playable with a mid-range GeForce 8600 GT board using all the high
quality settings. We also discovered that this game is not nearly as
GPU-dependant as most other FPS titles. Rather, the processor has proven to
play a most vital role when it comes to performance, which will help justify
those overclocking ventures.


http://www.techspot.com/article/67-q...s-performance/
__________________
.
piotke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2007, 17:46   #2
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

*sees jmke going to hell to check the temp because the game is CPU bound*


it munches AMD CPUs for breakfast
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2007, 00:54   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,021
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

it's clear that Quake Wars is build to be playable on low/midrange systems even with high detail, so it's no wonder that it's CPU limited when the game doesn't stress the VGA as much, DUH I'm not going to hell

My recommendation for CPU power C2D was 2.4Ghz 4 months ago, checks FPS for C2D 2.33Ghz: 86FPS= very playable. Slowest CPU is also pushing 60+, I don't see any reason to change my opinion of "most games are GPU limited"

__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2007, 09:14   #4
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think it is more the way Carmack codes things because I can make my x1800XT suffer if I crank the settings and I cannot get it running fast enough on a 4400+ which isn't the slowest CPU.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2007, 13:36   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,021
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

if you push certain settings to the max, of course you will balance back towards the GPU, but this game offers a good mix of image quality and speed
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2007, 13:47   #6
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
if you push certain settings to the max, of course you will balance back towards the GPU, but this game offers a good mix of image quality and speed
many would disagree with that statement, all I hear is it doesn't look good for how crappy it runs
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2007, 13:56   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,021
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

are you serious? at 1280x1024 max detail it looks great and runs fluent on a 8600GT

__________________

Last edited by jmke : 22nd September 2007 at 13:58.
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2007, 14:52   #8
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
are you serious? at 1280x1024 max detail it looks great and runs fluent on a 8600GT
yes, because as soon as you don't have a 8 series card things start to look ugly
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2007, 17:12   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,021
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

have to admit that I have not tested on older generation VGA cards;
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enemy Territory: Quake Wars Performance and IQ jmke WebNews 0 23rd October 2007 18:23
Enemy Territory Quake Wars Performance Preview Sidney WebNews 0 22nd September 2007 17:51
Enemy Territory: Quake Wars Demo Released jmke WebNews 0 10th September 2007 23:54
Enemy Territory: Quake Wars Beta Performance jmke WebNews 0 28th August 2007 19:32
Enemy Territory: Quake Wars Public Beta jmke WebNews 11 6th August 2007 21:12
Quake Wars Enemy Territory Beta Performance Evaluation jmke WebNews 2 23rd June 2007 12:55
Enemy Territory: Quake Wars Q&A jmke WebNews 0 29th April 2006 17:29
Enemy Territory: Quake Wars Screenshots jmke WebNews 0 14th April 2006 17:53

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:00.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO