It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
DFI Admits 5Volt Vdimm Problem with DFI Nforce 4 Ultra/D/DR SLI models! DFI Admits 5Volt Vdimm Problem with DFI Nforce 4 Ultra/D/DR SLI models!
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


DFI Admits 5Volt Vdimm Problem with DFI Nforce 4 Ultra/D/DR SLI models!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th May 2005, 06:43   #1
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default URGENT - DFI Admits 5Volt Vdimm Problem!!!

If some of you are not aware, the DFI Nforce 4 Ultra/D/DR SLI models has a
jumper setting onboard that allows you to increase the voltage supplied to the
ram from 3.3 volts to 5 volts. This gives users the option to go above 3.2
volts in the bios.

I just spoke to Frank Wong at DFI USA about the major problems people are
getting with the 5Volt Vdimm jumper setting on these motherboards. His
response is very disturbing. Mr Wong basically informed me that DFI R&D in
Taiwan know about this issue and have been testing this setting with different
major branded ram, and that the 5 volt setting is causing and i quote "Major
Issues".

If you own 1 of these boards, and have the jumper set to 5 volts, change it now
back to the 3.3 volt setting.


Link to thread:
http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/sho...0270#post90270
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 07:41   #2
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

I am wondering whether the issue is setting the jumper to the high voltage or setting it to >4 Volt afterward. You could set to the lowest 3.3 or 3.4; does this have the same effect?

Scary warning to folks must run on hight voltage.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 08:00   #3
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What does that mean exactly?

If i want ot set the RAM voltage to 3.6V will I be OK?
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 08:18   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,021
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

you should not set your memory >4v. period.
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 08:23   #5
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That I know. But will it be ok if i never exceed 3.6 ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 08:27   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,021
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

have not read any bad experiences about this ; www.xtremesystems.org should be a good source that
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 08:32   #7
Faiakes
 
Posts: n/a
Default

did a search but nothing about frying your RAM on DFI boards came up. I'll be watching that space though:excellent
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 14:21   #8
xpr-k
 
Posts: n/a
Default

luckely you can use a pin trick + PSU with variable lines to achieve 3.2Vdimm+ values without compromising stability .
The trick is also on XS if your interested .
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 15:13   #9
Member
 
jort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mechelen(belgium)
Posts: 2,037
jort Freshly Registered
Default

when i got the dfi lanparty here with some ocz vx mem, the mobo fried 3 pins of the memory sticks.
there are some people on xs that has the same situation

never got the mem above 3.5V
__________________
watercooling, chilled water,direct phase change, cascade, custom modding
jort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 15:26   #10
Da_BoKa
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
you should not set your memory >4v. period.
with some very good airflow and only for benching, your ram will survive!

note that i'm talking about the good chips ( winbond )
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI licensed to run on X58 mainboards from ASUS, EVGA, MSI, Gigabyte and DFI jmke WebNews 0 22nd October 2008 13:22
Nvidia nForce 790i Ultra SLI chipset jmke WebNews 0 19th March 2008 21:14
Nvidia nForce 650i SLI vs. nForce 680i SLI jmke WebNews 0 28th February 2007 14:47
MSI K9N SLI Platinum nForce 570 SLI Motherboard jmke WebNews 0 4th August 2006 07:23
DFI confirms ATI RD600 for Conroe + photos of nForce 590 SLI IE jmke WebNews 7 26th July 2006 08:54
DFI LANParty UT NF4 SLI-DR nForce 4 SLI Motherboard Sidney WebNews 0 22nd February 2006 17:04
Socket 754 DFI nForce 4 and Epox nForce 4 SLI Reviews jmke WebNews 0 17th November 2005 14:37
nForce 4 SLI X16: Full Speed PCI Express jmke WebNews 0 9th August 2005 20:56
C/P Value - DFI nF4 SLI INFINITY test windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 4 22nd July 2005 20:44
DFI ships Nforce 4 SLI / Ultra boards jmke WebNews 0 3rd February 2005 17:00

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:27.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO