It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
The Athlon 64 FX Overclocked to 3 GHz The Athlon 64 FX Overclocked to 3 GHz
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


The Athlon 64 FX Overclocked to 3 GHz
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th July 2005, 16:51   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default The Athlon 64 FX Overclocked to 3 GHz

It's nothing new that the Athlon 64 offers at least the same performance as the Pentium 4 while running at a far slower speed. That said, in the last two years power loss values have risen to such levels with Intel devices that the manufacturer is now vulnerable on two fronts.

With the introduction and progressive optimization of 90 nm manufacturing technology, AMD will now also be able to push the envelope beyond the psychologically important 3 GHz real clock speed mark. That is a mark that Intel can only just beat with its latest dual-core Pentium D.

http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20050725/index.html
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2005, 16:56   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

are they kidding us? Calantak did that last year in October.. http://www.madshrimps.be/gotoartik.php?articID=231
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2005, 17:33   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Just because they are both doctors; it doesn't mean they have the same speed
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2005, 19:37   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

I am the speed king
It is proven again
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2005, 19:40   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

correction, you "were" the speed
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2005, 19:56   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

I have redefined my boundaries to 300 kph instead of 3.0 ghz
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2005, 19:59   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

For those THG staffers in California, 300kph is 186 Mph
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2005, 20:00   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I didn't know you were allowed to drive 300kph in Belgium
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2005, 20:11   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

are you allowed to overclock your cpu? or does it void your warranty?
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2005, 20:14   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

do you get a speeding ticket from the .BE government for Overclocking?
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlon II X2 240 2.80 GHz jmke WebNews 6 24th December 2009 10:36
AMD Athlon II X2 240e 2.8 GHz Energy Efficient Processor Review jmke WebNews 0 28th October 2009 13:11
AMD Athlon II X2 240e 2.8 GHz Energy Efficient Processor Review jmke WebNews 0 21st October 2009 08:26
AMD Athlon II X3 435 2.9 GHz Socket AM3 Triple-Core Processor Review jmke WebNews 0 20th October 2009 16:17
AMD Athlon II X4 620 2.6 GHz jmke WebNews 0 6th October 2009 13:35
AMD Athlon II X4 620 2.6 GHz Socket AM3 Quad-Core Processor Review jmke WebNews 0 30th September 2009 13:05
AMD Athlon II X2 250 3.0 GHz Socket AM3 Processor Review jmke WebNews 0 4th September 2009 12:42
Athlon 64 FX55 Overclocked 1GHz to 3.6GHz! Sidney WebNews 1 4th July 2005 19:58
Dual Athlon MP 2*2.4 GHz - 1.5 Gb DDR piotke For Sale 3 20th February 2005 08:44
1.4 Ghz Athlon Clasic AmmoDude For Sale 2 9th February 2003 12:11

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:55.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO