It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
AMD Athlon FX-60 vs. X2 3800+ - Game Performance Compared AMD Athlon FX-60 vs. X2 3800+ - Game Performance Compared
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD Athlon FX-60 vs. X2 3800+ - Game Performance Compared
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th April 2006, 21:10   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
AMD Athlon FX-60 vs. X2 3800+ - Game Performance Compared

Today we are going to compare the FX-60 and X2 3800+ against each other. We know now that the FX-60 is going to be the faster processor but what we want to have a look at how much extra performance we get, from such an expensive processor. We are going to be purely looking at graphics card performance and why you might ask? The answer to that is easy, because 90% of the time when we test a high-end card, the complaints attack these articles as to why we are using a $300 processor on a $1200 graphics card setup
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2006, 21:10   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

without reading the article I'm guessing the CPU inpact is very little to overall game performance

Quote:
We knew from the word go that the AMD Athlon FX-60 was going to be the faster processor but so it should be at $700 more. The FX-60 is a great gaming processor but the chances are you already know this. What we wanted to look at was how the FX-60 compared against our test bench CPU. At most we see performance increases of 25% with a performance increase of 10% to 15% being more common.
do note that they're using very high end graphics cards; if you use anything less extreme the impact will be <10%
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2006, 21:29   #3
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

<19" monitor, no need for high end CPU or GPU
>30" monitor get the best of both, right?
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2006, 21:39   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

for 30" you need super duper resolutions, 1600x1200 doesn't quite cut it, when you go higher you will be severly GPU limited
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD announces new Athlon X2 7000+ CPU jmke WebNews 0 15th December 2008 19:27
High Performance AMD Phenom™ X4 Processors Lead the Charge to HD Desktop Gaming and V jmke WebNews 0 27th March 2008 16:09
AMD Introduces Three New Dual-Core AMD Opteron™ Processors jmke WebNews 0 12th March 2006 20:25
AMD Athlon FX60 Sidney WebNews 2 10th January 2006 20:36
AMD Athlon 64 X2 – AMD Dual-Core Desktop Chip’s Name jmke WebNews 0 14th April 2005 12:26
AMD Tests AMD Athlon 64 4200+ Chip with Partners jmke WebNews 0 9th March 2005 17:19
AMD Athlon 64 FX-57 Shows on Horizon jmke WebNews 1 20th December 2004 20:49
AMD Athlon 64 Processor Family Wins VARBusiness Magazine Editor's Choice Award Sidney WebNews 0 10th November 2004 20:22
AMD Athlon 64 3800 Sidney WebNews 0 10th September 2004 00:17
CRN Selects AMD Athlon FX-53 Processor to Power `Ultimate PC' Sidney WebNews 0 3rd June 2004 21:42

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:12.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO