It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Madshrimps > WebNews
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th November 2005, 14:46   #1
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+

With the latest stepping of the dual core processor series, AMD dishes up the Manchester core to set new standards in energy efficiency and price/performance ratio. Taking advantage of the proverbial excellent gaming and floating point performance and stripping the dual cores of 50% of their hard-earned cache in combination with a frequency sweet spot of 2.0 GHz results in a killer CPU at a reasonable price tag. Arguably, there are cheaper processors on the market, there are faster cores out there (as measured in clock frequency) and there are "the others" but after wrapping up this review, there is nothing out there that combines that many positive features as the Manchester running at 2.0 GHz, using the moniker Athlon X2 3800+.

http://www.amdboard.com/athlon_64_3800_review.html
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2005, 14:56   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I've read several reports from users who are experiencing problems with their X2 systems, games which run very slow, with hick-ups or not all :/

and these people tried all patches and utilities out there
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2005, 04:56   #3
goingpostale1
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Links? I'm considering upgrading and I can't decide whether to go with 2 gfx cards in SLI or a dual core CPU
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2005, 09:22   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

since you consider buying SLI I'm guessing you're a gamer?

actually, if you replace your 6800GT with 7800GT (or GTX if you have the money) your system will be fast enough to run any current game at high resolution with high detail. No need for upgrade if you have A64 3400+

links: one is at a dutch speaking flemish forum, the other is more comprehensible here: http://www.lfsforum.net/showthread.php?t=3038


Quote:
100% working games
rFactor
Quake 4
Flatout
PES5
Fear
NHL2006 with WinLauncherXP (using only one cpu core)
Far Cry
Richard Burns Rally
Call Of Duty 2

Games with problems too
- The Chronicles Of Riddick, starting problems
- GTR, fps very low
- FIFA2006, starting problems

if I disable one cpu core with these games, problem still exist.
he also posted this at the AMD Forums: http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=60146
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2005, 10:47   #5
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Opteron 165 is your friend
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2005, 11:04   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

that's an AMD Dual Core CPU also, don't see it being any different...
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2005, 11:08   #7
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

you can always overclock but you can't add cache

the 165 costs even less
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2005, 11:32   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

have you read the thread before replying?
__________________
jmke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2005, 11:32   #9
Sharpside
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I read on an other forum some guy had the same problems (the ones discribed above) with call of duty 2 and a 4000+ X2.

@Rutar: I think jmke meens that the opteron wil most likely show the same problems with those games.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2005, 16:03   #10
Lino
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I haven't had the chance to read all the thread (http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...readid=1707814) but according to it stuttering+performance problems are solved with the x2s+XP patch (+eventually some tuning)...
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD announces new Athlon X2 7000+ CPU jmke WebNews 0 15th December 2008 18:27
AMD Announces Widespread Availability and Broad Global OEM Support for New Quad-Core jmke WebNews 0 13th November 2008 16:17
AMD GAME! Enables Console-like Simplicity for Mainstream PCs jmke WebNews 9 19th May 2008 20:51
AMD Introduces ‘AMD Business Class’, Designed With Business in Mind jmke WebNews 0 28th April 2008 09:33
AMD Athlon 64 X2 – AMD Dual-Core Desktop Chip’s Name jmke WebNews 0 14th April 2005 11:26
AMD Athlon 64 Processor Family Wins VARBusiness Magazine Editor's Choice Award Sidney WebNews 0 10th November 2004 19:22
AMD Athlon 64 3800 Sidney WebNews 0 9th September 2004 23:17
AMD is Readying Athlon 64 2800+, Athlon 64 FX-53 jmke WebNews 0 10th March 2004 08:14
AMD to Unleash Athlon 64 FX-55 Processor in Q2/Q3? [UPDATED] jmke WebNews 0 5th March 2004 09:25
AMD to Unleash Athlon 64 FX-55 Processor in May? jmke WebNews 0 4th March 2004 10:01

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:05.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO