It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
Inverted KVM: Control two PCs with one keyboard/mouse AT THE SAME TIME Inverted KVM: Control two PCs with one keyboard/mouse AT THE SAME TIME
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Inverted KVM: Control two PCs with one keyboard/mouse AT THE SAME TIME
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th July 2008, 18:08   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Inverted KVM: Control two PCs with one keyboard/mouse AT THE SAME TIME

We all know KVM switches, you switch between two systems and control them with one keyb/mouse.
I've been looking for a device which splits my keyb/mouse signal to two PCs which sends the same commands to both PCs at the same time.

I got this far:

Quote:
I tried this with two PC's a few years ago and it worked:

how about using USB Keyboard/Mouse, connected to a usb hub (non-powered) and have each computer connected to that hub using A-A usb cables?
anybody got an USB to try this out with?

this is an A-A USB Cable

__________________

Last edited by jmke : 10th July 2008 at 18:11.
jmke is offline  
Old 10th July 2008, 20:22   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

Electronically, if you hook up one mouse to two different USB ports just by copying the USB cable, how do you make sure you don't have the PC USB ports connected with each other instead?

Like PC-mouse-PC results in PC-PC because the same solder islands are used. What you are searching for is a device which reads the data and copies it via an IC. Might be possible to build by hand, but requires some search for the right components. Maybe by using octo couplers.
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 10th July 2008, 20:26   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

such a device should exist somewhere, the request is not "out of this world"
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 10th July 2008, 20:58   #4
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It'll be very hard to find something like this because there hardly is any market for this (maybe there is, but it's not demanding this yet).
USB hub thingy sounds impossible because no resources are shared between the different A-ports (only between the A-ports and the B-port that connects to your pc).

What you might consider is taking 2 mice and keyboards and combine them into a single device, won't be easy tough because of timing problems and collisions.
 
Old 10th July 2008, 21:04   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

other solution I've read is using wireless keyboard/mice and syncing them with two receivers to each PC at the same channel.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 10th July 2008, 22:05   #6
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Just out of curiosity ... why ?
 
Old 10th July 2008, 22:32   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Because he's MAD
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 10th July 2008, 22:34   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wutske View Post
Just out of curiosity ... why ?
because I want to control two PCs at the same time play 2 games at the same time with identical input to recreate the same gameplay path on both machines
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 11th July 2008, 07:49   #9
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
because I want to control two PCs at the same time play 2 games at the same time with identical input to recreate the same gameplay path on both machines
You are weird jmke

Probably for review usage ?
 
Old 11th July 2008, 10:16   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

of course
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD & NVIDIA's Linux Control Panels Sidney WebNews 0 4th March 2008 16:13
CoolIT Systems MTEC Control Center Updated jmke WebNews 0 2nd August 2007 11:36
ATI Brings High-End Multimedia Entertainment To The Latest PCs jmke WebNews 0 5th July 2005 15:44
Jaht JCS-102UBM KVM Switch Sidney WebNews 0 4th July 2005 21:04
Gaming PCs head for mainstream Sidney WebNews 2 25th April 2005 21:41
BenQ Intends to Start Production of TFT Panels with 8ms Response Time jmke WebNews 0 6th September 2004 00:58

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:44.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO