It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
How to upgrade Chaintech SMBIOS? How to upgrade Chaintech SMBIOS?
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


How to upgrade Chaintech SMBIOS?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th August 2004, 10:19   #1
Kerry
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to upgrade Chaintech SMBIOS?

I have a 9JCS Chaintech MOBO.

I downloaded the latest BIOS from Chaintech's site. version 6.0, date 2/25/04. I clicked the icon and it extracted to 9jcs0225.bin file. Now I don't know what to do.

Tip please

I presently have the BIOS that came with MOBO's CD.

Thanks,

Kerry
 
Old 28th August 2004, 10:52   #2
Laagvliegerke
 
Posts: n/a
Default

http://www.chaintechusa.com/tw/Downl.../engBIOSv2.doc

edit:
By the way, don't you mean 9CJS?
And flashing is at your own risk I can't be held responsible
 
Old 28th August 2004, 11:08   #3
Kerry
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That's great, thanks,

yes, it's 9CJS.

Kerry
 
Old 4th September 2004, 20:12   #4
Kerry
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Seems as though this thread is a fast way to talk about 9CJS things. If I should be posting a new question please let me know.

Two bios related problems:

1) I have my bios set so that when I turn on the powerstrip I'm able to press "Any key" (usually I press the space bar) and the computer starts up. But lately it hasn't been working consistently. I'll go into bios and I discover that the setting has changed. I then change it back to "Any key" and it will work for a few starts and then not.

2) Twice lately in the past week I've started, either by pressing the space bar or the power on button on the case and it hangs up on the bios, and it reads, Press F1 to continue. I press F1 and it works as it should thereafter.

Any idea what's causing these problems? Are they related?

Thanks,

Kerry
 
Old 4th September 2004, 20:14   #5
Kerry
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Is there a way to print out all of my bios settings?
Is there a way to print out all of my driver information?

Thank you,

Kerry
 
Old 4th September 2004, 20:18   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

did you overclock you rams or CPU ?
it takes the default settings when you hit F1.
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 4th September 2004, 20:27   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

if you press F1 it will use default setting for that bootup. Clear the CMOS, redo the BIOS settings, quit & save.

power down completely and try to boot. If the problem of changing BIOS settings persists contact support, might be a faulty CMOS battery problem
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 7th September 2004, 10:08   #8
Kerry
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I jmke:

It's constant now, so it must be the batt.

I've posted a trouble ticket to Chaintech but I expect it will take them a week to reply.

Where is the batt located? I never saw one when I was assembling the rig.

Thank you,

Kerry
 
Old 8th September 2004, 10:08   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

It's a 3v battery, would be really strange if it's dead already, but you try to swap it.

it's located near PATA IDE controllers
http://www.madshrimps.be/articles/Ch...-jmke-2328.jpg

small round battery next to the speaker
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th September 2004, 11:16   #10
Kerry
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks so much.

I'll wait till I hear from Chaintech (four days since I wrote them) and see what they say. Then I'll open it up and locate the batt and get one at Radio Shack.

On my Mac there was a feature that recorded when it was first started and how many times it had been booted. Is there anything like that with our 9CJS? The reason I ask is that I'd guess I've booted this bugga at least 500 times in the past 10 months. Could that drain the batt quicker?

Kerry
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Understanding Windows 7 upgrade paths jmke WebNews 0 6th September 2009 09:42
AMD Opteron™ Processor Upgrade Program Drives Faster Time to Benefit in the Data Cent jmke WebNews 0 7th April 2009 12:46
Upgrade from Windows XP to Windows 7... via Vista Trial jmke WebNews 0 24th February 2009 20:22
Chaintech APOGEE GT DDR2-1150 4GB Memory Kit jmke WebNews 0 10th September 2008 19:21
Walton Chaintech Debuts APOGEE GT DDR3 1800 4GB Low Voltage Memory Module jmke WebNews 0 25th July 2008 19:03
Chaintech Phases Out Motherboard Business jmke WebNews 0 28th August 2006 21:56
Chaintech launches the AE78GTX (NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GTX) jmke WebNews 0 21st June 2005 21:32
Chaintech GeForce 6600GT 128MB AGP Sidney WebNews 0 21st December 2004 18:19
Chaintech GeForce 6600GT 128MB PCI-Express review jmke WebNews 0 8th November 2004 13:14
Socket 423 to Socket 478 Upgrade Adapter jmke WebNews 5 10th June 2004 18:22

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:25.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO