It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
First Pc...having problems First Pc...having problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


First Pc...having problems
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th December 2004, 05:54   #1
Canada_Dry
 
Posts: n/a
Default First Pc...having problems

hey, i didn't know exactly where to put this...srry

Well I got all the parts for the new pc today, and I was eager to put it all toghether. Well I took my time and did everything right...but I'm having a problem.

I have the psu (x-connect), cpu, heatsink (hyper-6),video card,ram,hdd, and dvd drive all wired/mounted up. When I flip the switch for the psu, the standby light comes on the dfi lanparty 250gb. Then I press the power button ont he motherboard...nothing. reset button, nothing.

Nothing will start up, I just get that 1 orange led at the bottom signaling standby, no POST, nothing. Any suggestions?
 
Old 26th December 2004, 09:10   #2
banana
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hi
I had the same problem with a i dream psu and case

get the mobo out the case and put in on your bed or something.

The problem I had was bad quality of the case ( some parts touched the mobo )
 
Old 26th December 2004, 11:18   #3
kr15t0f
 
Posts: n/a
Default

this is a reply you will allways get when a new pc doesn' boot

Try to boot with the minimum of hardware.
And like canada_dry said, maybe try it with your mobo out the case. Don't put it on your bed, but on the cardboard box of your mobo.
 
Old 26th December 2004, 13:07   #4
Canada_Dry
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i fixed it...pu the cpu in wrong. But now I have a problem I have no clue how to fix. When I start the computer, i can go into bios etc... but it asks for a boot cd. I thought I made a boot cd for windows, but when I put it in it just freezes and doesn't do anything. Whats the best way to do this?
 
Old 26th December 2004, 13:45   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Canada_Dry
i fixed it...pu the cpu in wrong.
how did you do that ?

checked Master - Slave settings ?

specs please.
SATA, IDE,....
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 26th December 2004, 17:49   #6
Canada_Dry
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i forgot to lift the arm

and my ide master is the dvd drive

and the sata1 master is the hdd
 
Old 27th December 2004, 09:12   #7
Canada_Dry
 
Posts: n/a
Default

fixed it....i went out and BOUGHT windows...instead of using torrents.
 
Old 27th December 2004, 13:23   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I did not know "Torrents" was an OS
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 27th December 2004, 13:27   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

It's an OS with lots of extra's :
- extra hidden dial-in/out and VPN connections
- share MORE data across the inet
- excellent remote-admin features, your pc can now be controlled from wherever you are (or somebody else for that matter)

DOWNLOAD NOW !!!!!
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 27th December 2004, 22:57   #10
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

a simple copy won't work, I don't know if it works with nero of you use "boot cd" or "bootable cd" or whatever, but when I slipstreamed SP1, I had to use isobuster to get the bootable file form the original winxp cd.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung hard drive problems with Abit AX8 motherboard Angel Blue01 Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 1st July 2009 10:27
Nvidia Problems Hit HP Desktops jmke WebNews 0 14th October 2008 21:29
Study Finds Health Problems from Wind Farms jmke WebNews 0 14th August 2008 18:04
Flash Player Problems and Fixes Guide Sidney WebNews 0 20th December 2007 05:59
quake 4 problems mentalcrisis00 Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 3 29th August 2006 22:30
Internet connection problems wutske General Madness - System Building Advice 1 29th October 2005 11:17
Corsair TwinX 1024mb 3200XL stability problems? Lucky_Luciano Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 14 22nd November 2004 23:08
Intel aware of Pentium 4 heat problems jmke WebNews 2 18th April 2004 02:17
resolving network problems TeuS Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 19th March 2004 04:07
Some really odd problems & f*cked up performance teki Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 27th November 2003 16:22

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:44.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO