It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
evolution is slow... evolution is slow...
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


evolution is slow...
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th February 2004, 18:21   #1
Member
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default evolution is slow...

I just installed soldier of fortune 2 once again on my pc...
I thought that this demanding game with great looking graphics would want to play with extreme detail since it is almost 2 years old now...
well guess what...
try to play soldier of fortune 2 double helix at 1280*1024 with 4*aa and 16*af, and try to put the ingame detail high...
don't be surprised if the game goes at about 20-25 fps, being unplayable...

have we evolved so little in speed over two years??


the same moment this game got released, we were playing with ti 500's and xp 2000+, everybody knows we overclocked these babies to 1.850 ghz...these babies could deliver 10.000-10.500 marks then, lots of us have doubled that, but an almost two year old game that was topnotch then made 10 fps in these settings, doubling that still doesn't make it playable, and the game is two friggin years old, isn't that pathetic?
we're all proud with our topnotch rigs...but i'm starting to see this stuff slow down really fast...
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 8th February 2004, 18:44   #2
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Works fine here at those settings .
 
Old 8th February 2004, 19:06   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,000
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

well, maybe because that's an older engine, not being optimized for current power ?
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 8th February 2004, 20:25   #4
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: evolution is slow...

Quote:
Originally posted by calantak

don't be surprised if the game goes at about 20-25 fps, being unplayable...
you, with your top notch hardware, are spoiled

I play far cry at that framerate. a while ago I used to play about ALL games at 25-30 fps
 
Old 8th February 2004, 20:33   #5
Vulk
 
Posts: n/a
Default

4*aa and 16 is kinda heavy
Evolution ain't slow imo, but's also because of that engine I guess.
 
Old 8th February 2004, 20:38   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,000
piotke Freshly Registered
Default Re: Re: evolution is slow...

Quote:
Originally posted by TeuS

you, with your top notch hardware, are spoiled

I play far cry at that framerate. a while ago I used to play about ALL games at 25-30 fps
once you had the opportunity to play at 70+ fps and very high detail, you don't want to go back, duh, but then 20 fps is irritating slow.
piotke is offline  
Old 9th February 2004, 14:10   #7
Member
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HardFreak
Works fine here at those settings .
some people think 30 fps is fine...
you cannot have more fps at these settings than I have with my rig (3500+ mhz p4 at 235 fsb 1:1 + 9800 pro @ 500/800 (!) ), your 9600 pro won't make more then 15 fps at these settings
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 9th February 2004, 14:28   #8
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

maybe botched up drivers/windows.
I had a CS install that would drop under 5FPS; after a format it was back up to 30, only to gradually fall back about a month later again a format fixed it.

And anything over 5fps is playable in my book (single player that is). And giants is the only one that did that.
 
Old 9th February 2004, 14:37   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

"1280*1024 with 4*aa and 16*af" in any game is taxing

do a Q3A demo001 bench with those settings.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th February 2004, 16:14   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,000
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
"1280*1024 with 4*aa and 16*af" in any game is taxing

do a Q3A demo001 bench with those settings.
ok, wait a minute

edit: 1280*1024 with 4*aa and 16*af
--> cpu = a64 10*227, VGA = 430/385 = 21900 / 22 k 3d marks, rock stable for dailly use

185 fps. demo001
piotke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Silverstone NT06 Evolution Heatpipe CPU Cooler Review jmke WebNews 0 24th November 2008 15:06
ASUS P5E64 WS Evolution Workstation Motherboard jmke WebNews 0 2nd June 2008 10:10
OCZ Sponsors eSports Organization Cyber Evolution jmke WebNews 0 14th February 2008 11:15
Cooler Master CM Stacker 830 Evolution Review jmke Articles & Howto's 6 30th January 2007 07:21
[M] Cooler Master CM Stacker 830 Evolution Review jmke WebNews 0 29th January 2007 17:05
SilverStone SG01 Evolution Sugo SFF Case Sidney WebNews 0 31st March 2006 05:38
Silverstone SG01 Evolution Case jmke WebNews 0 6th February 2006 09:26
Slow DDR-II adoption makes Dramurai fret Sidney WebNews 1 20th February 2005 07:35
Slow... really slow Ansur Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 19 27th October 2003 21:56

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:15.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO