It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
problem with epox board or ram? problem with epox board or ram?
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


problem with epox board or ram?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th March 2006, 04:38   #1
mentalcrisis00
 
Posts: n/a
Default problem with epox board or ram?

Here's the deal

I'm running an Epox Nforce 4 ultra board, i run my old 333speed 1GB set of ram with it and everything runs great, no crashes runs BF 2 at 70 frames.

I put my new corsair dual channel 2GB set of ram set the timings to 2336 and i load BF 2 and i get the following errors and/or blue screen "Physical Memory Dump"





My question being, is this a motherboard problem or is my ram dead?

thanks

-Ray
 
Old 11th March 2006, 14:35   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

download this app [g]Memtest86+[/g] and burn the CD image to CD, then boot with the CD and check your system stability.

the memtest app tests your memory for stability issues
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 11th March 2006, 14:40   #3
mentalcrisis00
 
Posts: n/a
Default

did that, 14 passes 690,000 errors
 
Old 11th March 2006, 14:44   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

well.. either you are running your memory out of spec (how is your memory setup in the BIOS? SPD/Auto or did you manually configure timings?) or the memory is indeed faulty.

you are not overclocking your system?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 11th March 2006, 15:02   #5
mentalcrisis00
 
Posts: n/a
Default

corsair is graded for 2336 timings and i've run it at that and at 3338 which is what the board detects it as.

And no overclocking on any other components, i want to get it running before i overclock anything.
 
Old 11th March 2006, 15:26   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

in that case, Corsair RMA: http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=44522
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 12th March 2006, 00:25   #7
mentalcrisis00
 
Posts: n/a
Default

thanks for the link but i just RMAed the set thru newegg

Could this be a result of bad dimm slots? i don't want to ruin another set of ram.

I was also getting this BSOD



However when i put the old ram in everything is fine, sept things run a bit slower, i imagine because it's 1GB instead of 2.

thanks again

-Ray
 
Old 12th March 2006, 01:13   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

if your DIMM slot on the motherboard is broken, you "old ram" would not work either; so it's most likely the new memory
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bruce Claflin Appointed AMD Chairman of the Board jmke WebNews 0 5th March 2009 15:33
Epox preps ATI RD580 AM2 board jmke WebNews 0 31st May 2006 18:21
Epox makes ULI 1697 GLI board jmke WebNews 0 12th March 2006 15:51
HOWTO: Troubleshoot Any Networking Problem jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th February 2006 13:33
Epox Socket 754 SLI board jmke WebNews 0 29th November 2005 23:01
Ram Problem!!! Ferris Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 16th May 2005 13:24
Abit and Epox confirm Nforce 3/4 problem jmke WebNews 0 18th March 2005 12:02
problem overclocking ocz ram jerr Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 9 2nd February 2005 22:44
Epox Cebit 2004 Preview jmke WebNews 0 15th March 2004 08:53
Epox 8KLM2 + 256MB ram jeroen65 Mad Bargains 0 12th November 2003 11:56

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:53.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO