It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
P4C800E-dlx onboard LAN problems P4C800E-dlx onboard LAN problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


P4C800E-dlx onboard LAN problems
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th April 2005, 21:54   #1
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default P4C800E-dlx onboard LAN problems

I just did a fresh installation of windows xp with sp2 slipstreamed and the very first thing I did after that was installing the motherboard drivers. the motherboard is a P4C800E-deluxe btw.

Now normally, my LAN and onboard sound are being detected and the apropriate drivers are installed right from the start but not so this time...

I then searched the ASUS website for independant drivers; found those and installed them. Now the audio works fine but the LAN drivers I suspect were not the ones I needed.

In the device manager the lan components are no longer displayed as "unknow devices" but in the taskbar the LAN is now displayed but with an excamation mark wich when I hover over it says: status: limited or no connectivity.

I tried installing the latest Intel Chipset Drivers over them to no avail. Uninstalling the LAN drivers in task manager doesn't help because windows puts them back at boot-up.






I think the reason why LAN and audio did not install from the start is because no audio devices or lan cables were attacked at the time but I'm only speculating and that still doesn't solve my problem.


Now what am I supposed to do? I need to get this LAN working asap so me and my brother can play WoW together
 
Old 13th April 2005, 22:31   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Onboard devices config in BIOS
Onboard Lan = enable?
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 14th April 2005, 15:23   #3
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yes, it is enabled in the bios.


anyways, I got that driver uninstalled, but now I still need to find a new driver.

I tried reinstalling the chipset drivers but that didn't work.


I still think the drivers should have been in the chipset driver since it's onboard LAN...
 
Old 14th April 2005, 15:26   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

network drivers are on Asus website, look around
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 15th April 2005, 02:32   #5
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: P4C800E-dlx onboard LAN problems

Quote:
Originally posted by kristos
I then searched the ASUS website for independant drivers; found those and installed them.
...
 
Old 15th April 2005, 08:46   #6
agent #2
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Lan is Intel right?
Have you tried the intel download site?
http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scri...port_Intel.asp

Audio is AD1985:
http://www.analog.com/en/prod/0%2C29...1985%2C00.html
Haven't found any drivers there. It loops me back to the asus website.
 
Old 15th April 2005, 14:53   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

I thought LAN was 3Com.
The Lan driver comes with original CD.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 15th April 2005, 19:06   #8
agent #2
 
Posts: n/a
Default

http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?l...&modelmen u=1
it says 'Intel gigabit lan'.
 
Old 16th April 2005, 00:57   #9
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

switched the cables because my dad thought that might be the problem, still orange leds though.

I didn't know what the correct lan driver would be because there are so many from intel, but speedfan had the following to say about the chipset : Intel 82801EB ICH5 so I''ll see if I can't find a gigabit lan driver for it in windows or from intel's website.
 
Old 16th April 2005, 23:57   #10
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

intel has them somewhere, you'll need the correct chip number for the gigabit lan. It might be 82801EB but I don't know. Those on the asus site should work *** well. Mine are working, but I don't remember which I took.

anyway, the error you recieve might be because there is no respons to a DHCP request and the IP settings aren't configured manually.
Try filling in a manual IP adress (of the IP range you are using) and try pinging something else in your network.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 featuring 333 Onboard Acceleration, 3-Way SLI™ and CrossFireX jmke WebNews 0 18th November 2009 11:00
Smoothcreations Lan Shark Small Form Factor Gaming PC Massman WebNews 0 21st September 2008 20:33
AC Ryan AluBoxDuo LAN - RAID-in-a-box - 2 become 1 jmke WebNews 0 10th August 2006 09:01
Laptop Gamers & LAN Parties Go Hand In Hand jmke WebNews 1 13th February 2006 15:07
Sunbeam LAN Party Bag Sidney WebNews 0 12th March 2005 21:38
TXGF Presents the ATI Ultimate LAN Dallas February 25th-27th Da_BoKa WebNews 1 15th February 2005 13:56
Gamingzone.be Summer LAN - 16/17/18 Juli in Turnhout bren Lan Parties 3 5th June 2004 02:15
Some really odd problems & f*cked up performance teki Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 27th November 2003 15:22

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:17.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO