It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
need to press power button a zillion times to make it work need to press power button a zillion times to make it work
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


need to press power button a zillion times to make it work
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th February 2003, 16:43   #1
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default need to press power button a zillion times to make it work

It's been like this for a month or so. My pc doesn't do anything when i press the power button, or when i manually shortcut the 'power on' pins on the motherboard. I need to press it hundreds of times before it actually boots.

Replacing the PSU didn't help, there's nothing wrong with the PSU unit itself. I disconnected all the disks/cd-roms etc, but even with only the motherboard attached it won't boot properly.

In the beginning, it only took 5 or 10 tries to make it work. Now, i've been pressing the power on button since 14.00h... i wonder how many times i've pressed it the last 2 1/2 hours... 4 of my 6 usb ports doesn't seem to work now either, i don't know whether it has to do anything with it.

F*cking EPOS s**t! I'm not going to RMA another 8rda+, i even didn't get warranty for my last one.

help!

edit:
I've heard ppl with similar problems in Leuven the last month, perhaps electrabel is screwing up?
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 17th February 2003, 16:57   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

I quote yourself :

Quote:
The power button you use is prolly a "on-off" button. That won't work. You need a "off-off" button, which only closes the circut when pushed, but opens it again when released.
So shorting the mobo doesn't work.
Maybe the button itself is kaputt ... because you press it too much

Try another power button
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 17th February 2003, 16:59   #3
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

I use an "off-off" button.

Shorting it with a screwdriver should always work... but it doesn't.

... and remove that smilling smiley asap!
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 17th February 2003, 17:11   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RichBa5tard
Shorting it with a screwdriver should always work... but it doesn't.
to be shure;

you short the 2 PWR switch pins on the mobo with a screwdriver ?

In that case: that is like gambling .. how long should you short it ? Too long or too short won't boot the pc.

I would still try cmossing + switching psu's and powerbutton.


Have a similar problem with the KR7A, sometimes it boots, sometimes it hangs during post (long beeps). Pushing reset or pressing the power button long and repowering sometimes helps. Similarity is that .. the longer i kept resetting and repowering, the worse the problem got.
4 sticks of ddr-ram arrived today, problem should be over now. Box has been non-working since 6 weeks or so
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 17th February 2003, 17:15   #5
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

I'm sure about shorting those two pins: it should work. I've been doing that for years, and if you know how a simple button works, you know you do exactly the same by connecting the power on pins with a screwdriver for 1/2 second.

Clearing CMOS doesnt help. Switching PSU's didn't help & i'm absolutely sure it isn't the button itself (i'll buy 2 round next [m] meeting if it's the button!).
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 17th February 2003, 17:21   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

cpu ok ?
push atx connector more firm
switch psu-back-switch to '1' in stead of '0'
very long shot but it has happened to a family member: replace power cord
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 17th February 2003, 17:30   #7
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

I can't see why that would be a problem. My pc still works, i just have to press the power button a awfull lot of times, but at the end it works properly.

So cpu = ok & atx connector connected firmly.

If my power cord would be broken, i would have problems to manually power the PSU too (shortcut 2 pins on ATX connector) and the LAN led would light up (+5 VSB).
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 17th February 2003, 17:53   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RichBa5tard
I can't see why that would be a problem. My pc still works, i just have to press the power button a awfull lot of times, but at the end it works properly.
I have (had?) EXACTLY the same problem.
I changed a ram stick from slot 1 to another and it worked fine again (except from winxp demanding a new key) ... for a couple of days, then it started again ... gradually becoming worse.

Maybe your cpu is dying ... slowly.
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 17th February 2003, 18:10   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

on power cord & family member:

after changing a lot of things => changed bios-chip + changed bios battery.

Then someone told they got electricity while cleaning under the pc-table. I checked the wiring and i found the power-cord strangly twisted (no visual damage though) ... changed the cable ... everything works.
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 17th February 2003, 18:51   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

update or downgrade bios ?
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Silver Spec but Gold Strength, Power Saving PSU-CORSAIR HX750W Review windwithme General Madness - System Building Advice 2 27th February 2010 02:48
Seasonic S12D 850W power supply jmke WebNews 0 28th December 2009 09:07
The Combination of extremely quiet and high standard-be quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200W windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 1 27th January 2009 04:46
OCZ Technology Group Announces PC Power & Cooling's Adoption of ESA Sidney WebNews 0 6th November 2007 03:01
OCZ and PC Power & Cooling Join Forces jmke WebNews 5 28th May 2007 00:42
Nexus launches a new range of power supplies jmke WebNews 0 13th March 2007 11:02
High Power 560Watt Power Supply HPC-560-A12C Sidney WebNews 0 21st February 2006 08:11
OCZ Announces 600 Watt PowerStream Power Supply jmke WebNews 0 28th October 2004 01:30
Cooler Master Real Power Power Supplies introduced jmke WebNews 1 1st July 2004 18:16
The Power Mac G5 is the world’s coolest personal computer Sidney WebNews 1 11th June 2004 07:34

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:07.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO