It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
mobo doesn't start up mobo doesn't start up
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


mobo doesn't start up
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th September 2002, 00:07   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
biCker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,185
biCker Freshly Registered
Default mobo doesn't start up

Weird problem here: last time used the system worked perfect, on next restart nothing happens, fans don't start, mobo itself doens't start, hdd or powerled doesn't come on, nothing happens at all when pressing the power button! On the mobo itself (IT-7) is a little green led that works when powersupply is attached but that's it. already changed psu, tried shorting the power switch...
What died on me, I suppose the mobo itself?
biCker is offline  
Old 16th September 2002, 00:58   #2
vegeta
 
Posts: n/a
Default

what do you mean with the green led?is it a led on our mobo, kind of diagnostic led system to detect where's the faillure? if it is check the manual for explanation of the leds. (don't have a it 7)
 
Old 16th September 2002, 01:53   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
biCker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,185
biCker Freshly Registered
Default

no, the green led is always on when powersupply is attached to the mobo. there are two diagnostic leds but these don't come on, normally when you push the power button, they display a sequence like ff - c0 - c1 .....
biCker is offline  
Old 16th September 2002, 07:45   #4
lazybones
 
Posts: n/a
Default

try a bios reset with the jumper on your mb
 
Old 16th September 2002, 10:34   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
biCker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,185
biCker Freshly Registered
Default

already did that, no use
biCker is offline  
Old 16th September 2002, 12:22   #6
lazybones
 
Posts: n/a
Default

did you try removing all the pci card if there are any ?

if so i supposse that the mb is f*ckt up.
or my know how is't sufficient.

maybe rma the thing(if it isn't older then a year)
 
Old 16th September 2002, 22:02   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
biCker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,185
biCker Freshly Registered
Default

I was wondering: when ram or cpu are broken, the mobo should still do something, like fans that start working, right? I have no other ram or cpu to test, just to be certain I rma the right part....
biCker is offline  
Old 16th September 2002, 22:18   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

remove everything except PC-speaker
then boot
it should start beeping away
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 16th September 2002, 22:28   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
biCker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,185
biCker Freshly Registered
Default

just tried that, naked mobo except pc speaker, nothing, nada....
oh boy, this is not funny anymore, first vapo, then gf4, now this.
biCker is offline  
Old 17th September 2002, 20:22   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
biCker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,185
biCker Freshly Registered
Default

now the sh*t has really hit the fan, my back-up system (tbird and kt7A) died an hour ago, same problem, now working on back-up back-up system !! If hw keeps breaking down at this rate, i'll be at m with my old c64
I believe there is something really really wrong with electrical installation in this house, when I touch my case I feel electricity all over...
biCker is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remotely Start Your Car Using A Cellphone jmke WebNews 0 20th January 2010 17:02
How to Make Windows Start Faster Sidney WebNews 1 6th December 2007 23:51
combining two 3 lead fans to one mobo fan connection hewo Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 7 10th June 2007 20:39
AM2 Enthusiast Deluxe Mobo V MSI K9N Diamond Performance and Analysis windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 2 29th September 2006 03:22
To start or not to start Bosw8er Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 12 29th September 2005 10:09
socket A mobo. kr15t0f In Demand 3 16th December 2004 23:58
Problem with new mobo Abit KV8 pro dorfke Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 6 4th October 2004 23:23
Where is the mobo temp. sensor located? GiantKiller Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 4 15th June 2003 14:52
New mobo: help me choose Xploited Titan Mad Bargains 9 31st May 2003 06:00
Which OC mobo to get? RichBa5tard General Madness - System Building Advice 10 24th November 2002 22:33

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:36.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO