It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Dual channel memory problem Dual channel memory problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Dual channel memory problem
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th August 2009, 13:30   #11
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,133
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default

sorry to say yes... either live with it and run the rams at 800mhz C4 or buy another mobo..
__________________
leeghoofd is offline  
Old 28th August 2009, 16:21   #12
phunk
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ok I'll live with it for now.

You must read the answer I got from Gigabyte Tech support !
They needed more than a week to answer, but the best is their reply...

Sent : 8/22/2009 02:22
Question : Dear support engineer,
My corsair dual channel kit CM2x1024-8500C5D (5-5-5-15)can't run in dual channel mode without problems; random reboots and failed memory tests with memtest86. In singel channel they run fine. no errors with memtest (28 passes)
I noticed the BIOS dedects the timing wrong, so i set the CAS-tRCD-tRP-tRAS to the right values. and raised the voltage to 2.1v (the right voltage fo these corsair modules.
How to set the advanced DRAM timings in the BIOS?
ACT to ACT Delay(tRRD) 4 [Auto]
Rank Write To READ Delay 4 [Auto]
Write To Precharge Delay 8 [Auto]
Refresh to ACT Delay 68 [Auto]
Read to Precharge Delay 4 [Auto]
Static tRead Value 6 [Auto]
Static tRead Phase Adjust 0 [Auto]

Could this be hardware failure of the motherboard ?

I sincearly hope you guys can clear this matter out.
Even corsair doesn't now what the correct settings are.
Thank you in advance

------------------------------------------------------------------


Dear Sir,

Thank you for contacting GIGABYTE.
Please make sure that you load optimized defaults and set the Memory Voltage to 2.1 volts and then set the timings to 5-5-5-15 (CAS-tRCD-tRP-tRAS) and then test the modules one at a time with www.memtest.org! Please allow memtest to run 2-3 passes on each module.

Best Regards,


-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for your answer, but did you actually read my question ?
Cause you are just the repeating the question disguised as an answer.
In you take a look at the attachments, you can see those settings are already applied. (and yes, i set the optimized deafaults first)
So i will rephrase my question, to make it simpler.
How to set the advanced DRAM timings ?
ACT to ACT Delay(tRRD) 4 [Auto]
Rank Write To READ Delay 4 [Auto]
Write To Precharge Delay 8 [Auto]
Refresh to ACT Delay 68 [Auto]
Read to Precharge Delay 4 [Auto]
Static tRead Value 6 [Auto]
Static tRead Phase Adjust 0 [Auto]

Nobody seems to what these settings are for... they aint just for fun, aren't they ?

Could this be a faulty Mainboard ???
 
Old 29th August 2009, 11:51   #13
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,133
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default

It still could be an SPD issue, run 1066mhz with one dimm and download MemSet in windows, write down all them values and compare with the bios AUTO settings. Set them settings manually and pop in the 2nd dimm

Other thing you could try is to OC the FSB a bit : eg 7 x 400 with rams at 1000/1066mhz and see if she runs then. (this to see if it's a crappy divider)

If it's still a no go mate, either run the rams below specs or grab yaself another mobo... too bad these things still happen
__________________

Last edited by leeghoofd : 29th August 2009 at 11:56.
leeghoofd is offline  
Old 30th August 2009, 19:06   #14
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeghoofd View Post
It still could be an SPD issue, run 1066mhz with one dimm and download MemSet in windows, write down all them values and compare with the bios AUTO settings. Set them settings manually and pop in the 2nd dimm

Other thing you could try is to OC the FSB a bit : eg 7 x 400 with rams at 1000/1066mhz and see if she runs then. (this to see if it's a crappy divider)

If it's still a no go mate, either run the rams below specs or grab yaself another mobo... too bad these things still happen
It's especialy sad that these things happens with memory modules tested and approved by the motherboard manufacturer !
 
Old 13th December 2009, 19:47   #15
JimmyJump
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Something similar happened to me.

I was (and am) running 4x1GB of Kingston HyperX PC8500 DDR2 on an Asus P5K-E Wifi mobo.

The RAM is supposed to run at 1066MHz, but Kingston has put the SPD to 800MHz because at the time when they released that RAM, few mobo's were able to read an SPD of 1066MHz.

As a result, the memory is being recognized by the BIOS as being 800MHz RAM. Everything worked just fine, running XP-Pro 32-bits.

When I saw that the RAM was running at 800MHz, I went into the BIOS and manually cranked it up to the 1066MHz at which is was supposed to run. But that resulted in my OS behaving like a drunk in a liquer-store after closing time. I got more blue screens in an hour than Michael Schumacher had fastest laps in his career.

Since I didn't change anything else, I of course was pretty certain that the BSoD were due to me tinkering with the RAM's speed, so I reverted back to 800MHz, and yep, all was fine again.

The funny thing is, since I switched from XP to Windows 7 32-bits, the memory is still recognized as being 800MHz RAM, but when I run it at 1066, my OS stays stable. I even reached speeds of 1140MHz, without having to tweak voltage or anything. Except that at such a speed, after a couple of hours, my video card (Asus EN8800GTS 512MB Top) starts acting weird and sometimes stops sending data to the monitor (monitor stays 'on', with its light blue, but there's no picture). I've reverted back to the 'stock' speed of 1066MHz under Win7 and haven't had any kind of problem with my RAM...

And I must emphasize the fact that no hardware or software was changed when making the switch from XP to Win7... so go figure.
 
Old 28th December 2009, 22:40   #16
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,133
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default

??? they are just selected dimms that should work 100% together in dual channel config James ??? No idea why you started technical
__________________
leeghoofd is offline  
Old 7th February 2010, 12:06   #17
Athlonite
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@ Phunk thats the same ram i have in my AM2+ machine heres what mine says via Everest 5.30

Field Value
North Bridge Properties
North Bridge AMD K10 IMC
Supported Memory Types DDR2-400 SDRAM, DDR2-533 SDRAM, DDR2-667 SDRAM, DDR2-800 SDRAM, DDR3-800 SDRAM
Revision 00
Probe Filter Not Supported

Memory Controller
Type Dual Channel (128-bit)
Active Mode Dual Channel (128-bit) - Ganged

Memory Timings
CAS Latency (CL) 5T
RAS To CAS Delay (tRCD) 5T
RAS Precharge (tRP) 5T
RAS Active Time (tRAS) 15T
Row Cycle Time (tRC) 22T
Command Rate (CR) 2T
RAS To RAS Delay (tRRD) 4T
Write Recovery Time (tWR) 10T
Write To Read Delay (tWTR) 4T
Read To Precharge Delay (tRTP) 6T
Four Activate Window Delay (tFAW) 18T
Write CAS Latency (tWCL) 5T
Refresh Period (tREF) 7.8 us
DRAM Drive Strength 1.25x
DRAM Data Drive Strength 1.0x
Clock Drive Strength 1.5x
CKE Drive Strength 1.5x
Idle Cycle Limit 16

Memory Slots
DRAM Slot #1 1 GB (DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM)
DRAM Slot #2 1 GB (DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM)
DRAM Slot #3 1 GB (DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM)
DRAM Slot #4 1 GB (DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM)

but the 1066MHz setting are not stored in the SPD under the normal JEDEC profile settings they are stored in the SPD as an EPP setting (Enhanced Perfomance Profile)

Field Value
Memory Module Properties
Module Name Corsair Dominator CM2X1024-8500C5D
Serial Number 00515958h (1482248448)
Module Size 1 GB (1 rank, 8 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered DIMM
Memory Type DDR2 SDRAM
Memory Speed DDR2-800 (400 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 1.8
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh

Memory Timings
@ 400 MHz 5-5-5-18 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 23-51-3-6-3-3 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
@ 270 MHz 4-4-4-13 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 16-35-3-5-3-3 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)

Enhanced Performance Profile
Profile Name High Frequency
Optimal Performance Profile Yes
Memory Speed DDR2-1066 (533 MHz)
Voltage 2.1 V
Memory Timings 5-5-5-15 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
Row Cycle Time (tRC) 22T
Command Rate (CR) 2T
Write Recovery Time (tWR) 8T

Memory Module Features
Analysis Probe Not Present
FET Switch External Disabled
Weak Driver Supported

Memory Module Manufacturer
Company Name Corsair Memory, Inc.
Product Information http://www.corsairmemory.com/products/xms_home.aspx

Last edited by Athlonite : 7th February 2010 at 12:31.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill PIS Series DDR3-2400 4GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 29th April 2010 07:44
OCZ Platinum DDR3-1600 4GB Low Voltage Dual Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 25th March 2010 13:14
OCZ Platinum DDR3-1333 4GB Low Voltage Dual Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 7th December 2009 09:04
Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 i7/i5 Optimized 4GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 30th November 2009 13:52
Kingston HyperX 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 Dual Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 19th November 2009 08:37
Intel Core i7 Memory Analysis Can Dual Channel Cut it? jmke WebNews 0 24th November 2008 15:07
GeIL PC2-8500 1066MHz EVO ONE 4GB Dual Channel Memory Kit jmke WebNews 0 29th May 2008 18:23
OCZ PC2-9200 FlexXLC 2GB Dual Channel Memory Review Sidney WebNews 0 20th September 2007 01:10
OCZ EL DDR PC-3500 Gold GX Dual Channel Memory Kit Sidney WebNews 0 31st July 2005 18:18
Gigaram PC3500 1GB Dual Channel Memory jmke WebNews 0 25th June 2004 11:51

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:42.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO