It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Dual channel memory problem Dual channel memory problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Dual channel memory problem
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th August 2009, 12:41   #1
phunk
 
Posts: n/a
Default Dual channel memory problem

Dear OC' Guru's
I'm currently working on a Gigabyte EP35-DS3 mainbord with a corsair dual channel kit CM2X1024-8500C5D (it's on the Gigabyte QVL list)
In single channel they work fine, no errors with memtest86+ v2.11
No errors after several passes.
When placed in Dual channel all hell breaks loose, random reboots, lots of errors within seconds with memtest.
I've set the timing and voltage correctly, but still same problem.
(The settings as adviced by "the ram guy" from the corair company)
Cas settings Cas 5-TRCD 5-TRP 5- TRAS 15
ACT to ACT Delay(tRRD) 5
Rank Write To READ Delay 5
Write To Precharge Delay 15
Refresh to ACT Delay 68 [Auto]
Read to Precharge Delay [Auto]
Static tRead Value [Auto]
Static tRead Phase [Auto]

However when I downgrade my memory to 800 everything works fine.

Even corsair doesn't have a clue what's causing the problems, the already replaced the RAM with brand new one's. So for now their solution is to replace them again. But i'm not that sure that will help...

So as far as I know it must be a DRAM timing setting.
I asked Gigabyte for some help, but I don't think even they understand the advanced DRAM timing settings, Cause my tech support question remains unanswered.
Hope you guys can help me out.
Many thanks already
Grtz
 
Old 25th August 2009, 17:04   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,157
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default

Are you running any OC ? Could be a mobo divider related issue... Strap selected ? MCH voltage ? better take some piccies of ya bios screens and link us to them plz...
__________________

Last edited by leeghoofd : 25th August 2009 at 17:07.
leeghoofd is offline  
Old 25th August 2009, 18:37   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

Up the DDR2 voltage a bit, could help.
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 25th August 2009, 23:39   #4
phunk
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I added some 'piccie's' from the BIOS setup screen.
The settings in the pics are until now, the only one working in Dual channel memory config, unfortuantly @ 800 instead of 1066
I'm running currently no OC

Would it be safe to increase the voltage ? by, say 0.1v
Attached Thumbnails
dual-channel-memory-problem-dscn2510.jpg dual-channel-memory-problem-dscn2511.jpg
 
Old 26th August 2009, 08:01   #5
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phunk View Post
I added some 'piccie's' from the BIOS setup screen.
The settings in the pics are until now, the only one working in Dual channel memory config, unfortuantly @ 800 instead of 1066
I'm running currently no OC

Would it be safe to increase the voltage ? by, say 0.1v
Upping the voltage with 0.1V is safe. In your screenshot your memory voltage is already running 0.3V higher than normal.

//edit: the increased voltage (+0.3V) is normal for running the memory at 1066MHz, these modules are designed to run at 2.1V instead of 1.8V.

Last edited by wutske : 26th August 2009 at 08:06.
 
Old 26th August 2009, 08:55   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,157
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default

I would try to set Static tRead value 7-8, MCH OverVoltage Control +0.1, FSB OverVoltage +0.1 Probably the bios reads out the SPD wrongly and sets too tight timings...

If you set 1066Mhz and try with one dimm ? does that work ? If so swap the dimm for the other one and see if it works... if both pass try another dimm slot... and so on
__________________
leeghoofd is offline  
Old 26th August 2009, 10:34   #7
phunk
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wutske View Post
Upping the voltage with 0.1V is safe. In your screenshot your memory voltage is already running 0.3V higher than normal.

//edit: the increased voltage (+0.3V) is normal for running the memory at 1066MHz, these modules are designed to run at 2.1V instead of 1.8V.
I tought it might damage the hardware, cause corsair's advise is to run them at the voltage they are designed for, but I'll give it a go.

Quote:
If you set 1066Mhz and try with one dimm ? does that work ? If so swap the dimm for the other one and see if it works... if both pass try another dimm slot... and so on
Then everything works fine, I explored every possibility.
even 2 dimm's in single channel are working fine.
Dual channel was tested in slot 1 & 3 and in slot 2 & 4 -->same problem

Quote:
I would try to set Static tRead value 7-8, MCH OverVoltage Control +0.1, FSB OverVoltage +0.1 Probably the bios reads out the SPD wrongly and sets too tight timings...
I'll give it a go, and will start a memtest when I'll go of to work.

Many thanks for all the advice so for.
I should have been a member for years on this forum
 
Old 26th August 2009, 12:15   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,157
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default

I fit works in single channel it's more of a NB problem... maybe the little bit more MCH voltage will do the trick. Could be it runs too hot too (place a small fan over it)

Too bad I don't see a strap setting in them screens, could be this is just a faulty divider... Have you tried flashing another bios ? Or tried another version of MemTest ?
__________________
leeghoofd is offline  
Old 26th August 2009, 15:06   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
thorgal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,887
thorgal Freshly Registered
Default

I never really tested much DDR2 on P35/P45, but on P965 there were some issues with the first 5 subtimings (ACT to ACT -> Read to precharge).

Try putting them all except "Refresh to act" to 10 cycles instead if 4-4-8-4. Not saying this is definately going to work, just mentioning this because in some cases it did work
__________________



thorgal is offline  
Old 28th August 2009, 10:03   #10
phunk
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I've tried everything you guys suggested, but the problem persists.
-Latest BIOS version
-other version memtest
-increased the voltage of DRAM, CMH, FSB
-Modules in other slots
-set the first 5 subtimings to 10 (exept refresh to act delay)
-set Static tRead value to 7-8

I think we have to conclude it's a crappy mainboard ??
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill PIS Series DDR3-2400 4GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 29th April 2010 07:44
OCZ Platinum DDR3-1600 4GB Low Voltage Dual Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 25th March 2010 13:14
OCZ Platinum DDR3-1333 4GB Low Voltage Dual Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 7th December 2009 09:04
Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 i7/i5 Optimized 4GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 30th November 2009 13:52
Kingston HyperX 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 Dual Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 19th November 2009 08:37
Intel Core i7 Memory Analysis Can Dual Channel Cut it? jmke WebNews 0 24th November 2008 15:07
GeIL PC2-8500 1066MHz EVO ONE 4GB Dual Channel Memory Kit jmke WebNews 0 29th May 2008 18:23
OCZ PC2-9200 FlexXLC 2GB Dual Channel Memory Review Sidney WebNews 0 20th September 2007 01:10
OCZ EL DDR PC-3500 Gold GX Dual Channel Memory Kit Sidney WebNews 0 31st July 2005 18:18
Gigaram PC3500 1GB Dual Channel Memory jmke WebNews 0 25th June 2004 11:51

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:08.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO