It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Angry at new wireless router Angry at new wireless router
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Angry at new wireless router
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th July 2008, 18:41   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default Angry at new wireless router

Router 1 (R1): Linksys 8-port BEFSR81 192.168.1.1 (gateway ADSL connection)
Router 2 (R2): *NEW* Linksys wireless 4-port WRT54G 192.168.1.2

Cable connection
Suggestion from Linksys is to connect with a normal cable from a normal port on R1 to the internet port on R2
If i do that i have no connection to 1) the router setup program, 2) other pc's plugged in to R2
I connected with a normal cable from a normal port on R1 to a normal port on R2

Configuration basic setup
In the basic setup i cannot choose PPPOE because i cannot assign 192.168.1.1 as the gateway
Static IP is not possible (dhcp)
DHCP is the only possible configuration
As a switch it is doing it's job and i can administer it

But as a router i cannot get it to work.
I don't have a internet connection through the wireless setup. I filled in the static DNS info, but there's no place to fill in the gateway ... that must be the reason i cannot get inet working

Configuration advanced routing
AHA, here i can fill in the gateway (192.168.1.1), but i keep getting an error: "Gateway not directly reachable through that interface"

Suggestions would be very welcome, kind a tired from trying to solve this (since thursday)

THX!
Attached Thumbnails
angry-new-wireless-router-wrt54g_internet1.jpg angry-new-wireless-router-wrt54g_internet2.jpg angry-new-wireless-router-wrt54g_connect.jpg angry-new-wireless-router-wrt54g_advanced_routing.jpg
Attached Files
File Type: pdf wrt54g_advanced_routing.pdf (26.1 KB, 141 views)
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."

Last edited by Bosw8er : 28th July 2008 at 18:48.
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 28th July 2008, 19:32   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

can you enlighten me why you have 2 routers for only 1 internet connection? That might go a long for solving the problem
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 28th July 2008, 20:01   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
can you enlighten me why you have 2 routers for only 1 internet connection? That might go a long for solving the problem
want wireless inet access for phone & notebook (instead of manually unplugging a cable from R1 (8 ports are full) and connecting devices)
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 28th July 2008, 20:04   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

connect internet on New router2. Configure everything here (DNS, DHCP)
connect UTP cross-cable between switch port on R2 to R1 switch port. (disable everything on R2, DNS, DHCP) Play

__________________

Last edited by jmke : 28th July 2008 at 21:06. Reason: typo
jmke is offline  
Old 28th July 2008, 20:59   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

I tip my hat for you, SIR!

changed R2 -> 192.168.1.1
changed R1 -> 192.168.1.2
connect internet on New router2. check
Configure everything here (DNS, DHCP) check
connect UTP cross-cable between switch port on R2 to R1 switch port.
cross-cable no go, regular cable = go
(disable everything on R2, DNS, DHCO) Play
as everything was working, i disabled everything on R1

.. it still works
owe you one (or two)

Only remaining problem is the unaccesible "wireless" - tab for setting up security
... but that's something for tomorrow
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 28th July 2008, 21:06   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
cross-cable no go, regular cable = go
depends on the switch, most newer switcher are "smart" as they know if the other device is a switch or a PC and will do the cross-over internally, I'm surprised you can a cross-cable nearby.

regarding the unaccessible wireless tab; is it greyed out on router2? is wireless enabled? are you able to connect to it wirelessly?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 28th July 2008, 22:51   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
regarding the unaccessible wireless tab; a) is it greyed out on router2? b) is wireless enabled? c) are you able to connect to it wirelessly?
a) no
b) cannot access tab (even can't set ssid)
c) no (thought it was, but (expensive) phone-connection was taken)

going to reset the router to factory settings tomorrow, think that will fix it, i'm home now (where everything works great)

thx for your help!
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 28th July 2008, 23:08   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

'cause sometimes accessibility >>> security
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 28th July 2008, 23:20   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by l.p.k. View Post
if you have a locked door why put a hole in it????????
I use reverse engineering to solve this security problem.
In stead of trying to hide and lock everything,
i use all my energy to produce even more data and put that excessive amount of data online, ... unsecured
no way someone wants to wade through this junk

__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 29th July 2008, 09:17   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by l.p.k. View Post
define security please
Wireless networks are insecure, that is for sure. But if you have to balance the benefit of having network access anywhere in your house/garden without wires versus the risk of somebody accessing your network and using your internet connection or try to hack one of your systems and download data... it can be worth it to go wireless.

you have to ask yourself, what do I have to hide and what effort will people do to get onto your network, and for what reason
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linksys WRT54GC Wireless Router jmke WebNews 0 27th February 2006 09:47
Actiontec Wireless G Router and Network Cards Sidney WebNews 0 4th October 2005 16:52
JAHT 108Mbps Wireless Broadband Router Sidney WebNews 0 10th August 2005 03:56
JAHT 54Mbps Wireless Broadband Router Sidney WebNews 0 17th July 2005 19:30
Linksys WRT54GC Compact Wireless Router Sidney WebNews 0 14th July 2005 14:40
Iconnect AP880G-Pro Wireless Turbo Router Sidney WebNews 0 20th December 2004 17:37
X-Micro WLAN 802.11g Wireless Router Sidney WebNews 0 25th November 2004 04:24
Linksys WRT54GS Wireless Router + WMP56G PCI Wireless Card Sidney WebNews 0 30th August 2004 05:09

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:26.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO