It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
AMD ATI RADEON HD 5670 1GB GDDR5 Video Card AMD ATI RADEON HD 5670 1GB GDDR5 Video Card
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD ATI RADEON HD 5670 1GB GDDR5 Video Card
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th August 2010, 08:57   #1
geolikecard
 
Posts: n/a
Default AMD ATI RADEON HD 5670 1GB GDDR5 Video Card

Hi does anyone know how to hook up 3 displays on one card .I have 2 of the AMD ATI RADEON HD 5670 1GB GDDR5 Video Cards and have 4 going now but only the HDMI and the DVI are working the other 2 VGA's are not they are showing up on the list of displays but it says to active I must first deactive one of the others But this card says it will work for 3 displays
any help would be great I have a Alienware Aurora Overclocked i7 930 QC 3.36 ghz. 8mb cache 6gb triple channel 1333mhz ddr with the dual 5670's
thanks
geo
 
Old 17th August 2010, 09:31   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,579
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Hi Geo, the small text @ AMD site reveals why it's not working:

Quote:
to enable a third display you require one panel with a DisplayPort connector
http://www.amd.com/us/products/deskt...-overview.aspx

so you need a monitor with displayport OR buy an active displayport to DVI convertor ($100 device) http://www.google.com/search?q=sapph...ient=firefox-a
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 17th August 2010, 09:46   #3
geolikecard
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hd 5670

yes, I read that I thought that was for the others that have the card with the HDMI on the outside of the card My HDMI is in the middle and VGA on the outside with the DVI on the otherside so many with the HD 5670 label , so they are saying it will work if I convert VGA to a monitor with a display connector or do I use the DVI to display or do I use a card with a display connector and why have a VGA and not a display connector from the start
maybe I could get a VGA to display and then a display to VGA and then back to a VGA plug on the monitor or that sounds to easy for a work around or to much trouble
thanks
geo
 
Old 17th August 2010, 10:45   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,579
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

the only way it will work to have triple screens with ATI Eyefinity:
- Monitor with displayport
- Active displayport convertor to DVI

other solutions unfortunately don't work with reference design ATI cards


I struggled with the same issue when I tested HD 5870, wanted to hook up 3x24" LCD screens, after moving them all around I learned of the limitation regarding displayport... wasted a lot of time
AMD's EyeFinity REQUIRES Monitor with DisplayPort if you want 3 Displays!
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 17th August 2010, 11:40   #5
geolikecard
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hd 5670

So I need 2 display port convertors and 2 new 24 in lcds with Display ports or I buy one more HD 5670 and and hook the HDMI and the DVI to it, then theres six but then I have no more space left on my b0ard the Aurora only has 4 3 for cards and 1 for wireless card
is that right or I missed something sorry so long getting back
geo
 
Old 17th August 2010, 11:47   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,579
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

you have 2 cards now, correct?
When I refer to Eyefinity, it's the ability to make 3 screens like "one big one"; so for surround gaming;
if your goal is to be able to hook up 4+ monitors (on each HD 5670 you have connect 2 screens) , than either one/two extra displayport monitor OR two active DP > DVI converters, allowing you to use any DVI monitor for the #5 #6
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 17th August 2010, 11:59   #7
geolikecard
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes, I have 2 cards now but the cards do not have a display port so I have to use the VGA on the card or the DVI on the card then plug the convertor in the the VGA or DVI and the otherside of the converter has the display port that I have to buy 2 new screens for 5 and 6 or I'm not getting the convertor right I have VGA DVI and HDMI what part is plugged in to the convertor?
geo
also If i have 3 5670's I can still do the 1 big screen out of 6 or 4 big for one and 2 for another or 2 or big out of 3 each
 
Old 17th August 2010, 12:09   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,579
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

the displayport port adapter goes into the VGA card, and gives you a DVI out; no need to buy DP monitor

__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 17th August 2010, 12:17   #9
geolikecard
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I see the dvi part the other 2 are what they don't look like VGA they look like a usb or a displayport what are they the othersde of the DVI I'm missing something sorry I don't see aVGA on the picture I tried sending you a picture of my card I can't get it to work it's 14mp picture
geo
 
Old 17th August 2010, 13:51   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,579
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

the right side connector goes into DP port on the VGA card
the left USB goes into mainboard's free USB port for power
the other side is DVI output, DVI cable from your monitor plugs in here

resize your image using irfanview; my guess is your cards looks a bit like:



left VGA/D-SUB monitor1
middle DisplayPort through convertor to monitor2
right DVI to monitor3
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[M] AMD ATI RADEON HD 5670 1GB GDDR5 Video Card Review jmke WebNews 1 5th August 2010 10:18
GIGABYTE Radeon HD 5870 1GB GDDR5 (GV587UD-1GD) Video Card Review jmke WebNews 0 22nd April 2010 14:10
HIS Radeon HD 5670 IceQ+ 1GB Video Card jmke WebNews 0 18th February 2010 13:47
HIS Radeon HD 5670 IceQ 512MB and ASUS EAH5670 1GB video card review jmke WebNews 0 27th January 2010 08:50
AMD ATI Radeon HD 5670 512MB graphics card jmke WebNews 0 22nd January 2010 10:30
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5670 1GB Video Card Review jmke WebNews 0 19th January 2010 09:54
Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1GB and Radeon HD 5750 1GB video card review jmke WebNews 0 13th October 2009 09:43
Sapphire's ATI Radeon HD 4870 1GB Toxic graphics card jmke WebNews 0 23rd February 2009 19:17
ATI Radeon HD 3450 HTPC Video Card Sidney WebNews 0 25th January 2008 03:57
ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon 9600 128MB Video Card Review @ ModSynergy jmke WebNews 0 20th May 2004 14:46

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:40.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO