It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
voltmod owns voltmod owns
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


voltmod owns
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th October 2004, 14:05   #1
kr15t0f
 
Posts: n/a
voltmod owns

yesterday I did a voltmod to increase the voltage of my northbridge. This is the result

http://users.pandora.be/kr15t0fke/pc...%20moehaha.JPG

before I could only reach 223 fsb . I didn't tried it any further because ther is now 1.8V on my northbridge. How high may I go?

You can see my ram is running 5/6. It only goes to 227Mhz super pi stable .

I removed the heatspreaders yesterday, and they are CH-5. Can I go higher with a vdimm mod?
 
Old 9th October 2004, 14:30   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,996
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

how much voltage are you feeding that NB ?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th October 2004, 14:33   #3
kr15t0f
 
Posts: n/a
Default

1.8V, 1.6v in bios, but 0.2 volt higher with voltmod.

BTW, on the screen my cpu voltage is a bit high, forgot to put it lower after I lowered the multiplier
 
Old 9th October 2004, 14:35   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,996
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

doh, you already wrote that in your post, didn't see it, sorry , what mobo did you use? and wha guide?

seems that .2v+ is quite effective. te NF-S can go up to 1.8v also by default no? or am I mistaken?

should not push it over 2v though, nForce2 chips don't like that apparantly (ask richbastard)
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th October 2004, 14:40   #5
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Mine fried at 1.95v. Be carefull. The northbridge chip is able to sustain 1.8v for a long if well cooled, but be sure the voltage regulators feeding the chip don't burn up (Epox motherboards).
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 9th October 2004, 14:41   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,996
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

shin-etsu coolpaste
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th October 2004, 14:42   #7
kr15t0f
 
Posts: n/a
Default

my board goes to 1.7V but it undervolts a lot. I had to put it on 1.7 to reach 19* Mhz. . So I knew that my northbridge was holding me back.

I checked my voltage with a multimeter and It was 1.9V but the guide told me that the reading was 0.1V too high. So my bios is 1.6V (maybe thats like 1.5V) and the voltmod does the rest of the 1.8V.

Now I know that I have a good chip, but my mobo was bad because of the undervolting.

I want to try to go higher. I think I can reach it with that voltage. But the 12v rail of my psu is quiet low now. Maybe I try it tomorrow, now I have to work at a "spaghettifestijn"

edit: nothbrige is cooled by a zalman cooler with a 40mm fan and a 80mm casefan blowing on it. Even the cpu cooler blows air on the northbridge. I also cooled my southbridge .

edit 2: If I go higher (fsb) without reasing the voltages, is there a risk to burn my mobo???
 
Old 9th October 2004, 16:31   #8
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

no
Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
what mobo did you use? and wha guide?
jmke NF7 rev2 allows up to 1.7V in the bios

*edit* I noticed on telenet that you had an NF7, still interested to know how you modded it.

It's amazing that there can be so much difference while essentially we have the same boards. You gain 40 fsb just by doing a Vdd mod I gained 0 fsb from the Vdd mod
 
Old 9th October 2004, 16:35   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,996
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

which is better then 1.5v from MSI :/
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th October 2004, 16:41   #10
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

NF7 Rev1 also has 1.7V for the NB chip.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voltmod how-to Massman Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 1 5th April 2010 17:00
Algemene voltmod guide? wutske Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 6 8th April 2008 19:00
Zotac 7300GT GDDR3 voltmod Massman Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 0 3rd September 2007 20:32
Gigabyte Aurora Who actually owns one? goingpostale1 General Madness - System Building Advice 1 12th December 2006 12:00
Voltmod or other solution A7N8X-Deluxe rev2 Desert Eagle Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 15 30th November 2004 23:51
Increase ram voltage to 3.4+ without voltmod! jmke Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 10 25th July 2004 19:45
HOWTO: Abit NF7 VDIMM Voltmod jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 6 8th March 2004 11:10
ti 4200 Voltmod PlayboY Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 9 7th September 2003 22:07
Geforce 1 DDR Voltmod AchMalAch Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 1 10th August 2002 00:05

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:27.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO