It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
p4 mobo p4 mobo
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


p4 mobo
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th November 2003, 06:01   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default p4 mobo

Hiya,

I need a new p4 motherboard.

I can get this motherboard for 200

ABIT IC7-MAX3 (Intel 875P (Canterwood), P4 478 800FSB, 6SATA, SATARAID (0+1), 4DDR Dual Channel PC3200, 5PCI, CSA Gb LAN, OTES Tech ) IN STOCK 249,90

but I don't need sate stuff, ...

Then my eye spotted this one:

ABIT IS7-E (Intel 865PE, P4 478 800FSB, SATA, 4DDR Dual Channel PC3200, 5PCI, 6 channel SOUND, LAN) IN STOCK 104,90

That's only 105 ...

difference is the chipset. Is it any good ? colin has that board and hes reaching 292 fsb with a 2.4 c
piotke is offline  
Old 6th November 2003, 08:29   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

the springdale is the best bang for the buck for your P4 rig
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th November 2003, 13:09   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

springdale is is7 ? correct ?

canterwood is ig7 ?
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 6th November 2003, 13:11   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by piotke
canterwood is ig7 ?
iC7
like you stated in your 1st post
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th November 2003, 13:27   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

oki.

motherboard I'm sure about, is7 it is.

Now the cpu and ram. 2.6 or 2.8 C

And memory, pc3200, but corsair or geil. Price is the almost the same, corsair a little more expensive....
I heard some people have problems running corsair on the is7 ?
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 6th November 2003, 13:37   #6
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

I have 2 is7's. Not too fond of it, but they aren't crap either. I just bought them because of the attractive price.

I've got a 2.6C@ 250fsb 5/4 pat disabled and a 2.8C @ 260fsb 5/4 pat disabled running 24/7 stable. It wasn't easy to get stable though, i don't know why but memtimings and cpuclock are not independed.

I've tested 4 sticks Corsair XMS 3200 CL2 (winbond bh-6) and didn't encounter problems on the is7.

If I would get a new board, i would defenitly go for the asus p4p800 instead of the abit is7. Believe it or not, the small asus p4p800-vm i sold you was a better, and more stable overclocker than my is7's. A pitty you couldn't lock the overclock in bios, otherwhise i wouldn't have sold it. You can force clockgen to overclock everytime at boot though.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 6th November 2003, 13:43   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

I don't like the clockgen way of overclocking, and it had almost no voltage options....

So, what board would you advise me ? I do not intend to voltmod the boards....

btw, doesn't pat give you a huge performanc boost ? Why disabling it ?

The is7 is more overclocker friendly than the p4p800 vm...

Can you overclock the "normal" p4p800 in bios, and with voltage options ?
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 6th November 2003, 13:43   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

ow, corsair or geil ?
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 6th November 2003, 13:59   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
I don't like the clockgen way of overclocking, and it had almost no voltage options....
wtf do you mean with "almost no"

clockgen changes the CLOCKspeed, otherwise it would have been called "VOLTgen".
set your vcore higher in the BIOS, the use clockgen to find the limit.

most bang4buck = 2.4c
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th November 2003, 14:04   #10
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

difference between i865 en i875 is mainly pat certified or not. You can enable pat on the is7, but it overclocks even far worse when enabled.

You can't adjust voltages on the p4p800-vm, but it gives a stable 1.585vcore. Do you want to run +1.6v through a 200$ cpu? I alwas put the vcore on my is on 1.575, because on both they drop 0.075v (!!) under load. If I would have wanted the stable 1.585v of the p4p800 is would have to set the is7 to 1.65v (idle)... which is too much.

You don't have vdimm adjustments, true, but you will most likely end up running 250 ~ 260 on 5/4 so your ram will be able to run at stock voltage.

I would buy cheap ram that can do 5-2-2 cl2 at 200~ 210mhz and aim for 4/5 divider.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
combining two 3 lead fans to one mobo fan connection hewo Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 7 10th June 2007 19:39
Need Help Pls. with Mobo advice thecookie General Madness - System Building Advice 5 30th March 2007 06:14
P4 mobo SuAside In Demand 3 12th October 2006 11:04
AM2 Enthusiast Deluxe Mobo V MSI K9N Diamond Performance and Analysis windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 2 29th September 2006 02:22
socket A mobo. kr15t0f In Demand 3 16th December 2004 22:58
Problem with new mobo Abit KV8 pro dorfke Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 6 4th October 2004 22:23
Where is the mobo temp. sensor located? GiantKiller Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 4 15th June 2003 13:52
New mobo: help me choose Xploited Titan Mad Bargains 9 31st May 2003 05:00
Which OC mobo to get? RichBa5tard General Madness - System Building Advice 10 24th November 2002 21:33
mobo doesn't start up biCker Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 16 18th September 2002 13:23

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:29.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO