It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
P4 530 climbing to 4GHz P4 530 climbing to 4GHz
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


P4 530 climbing to 4GHz
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th October 2004, 04:43   #1
Liquid3D
 
Posts: n/a
Default P4 530 climbing to 4GHz

Following the advice of my friend JNav, I was able to raise the FSB of my Abit AA8 to 260FSB for a CPU speed of 3.9GHz. This from a 3.0GHz default CPU. 250FSB or 3750MHz is fully stable at deafult voltages, and that's everything!

At 3.9GHz I only had to raise the Vcore from 1.33V to 1.38V! The DDR2 voltage from 1.80V to 1.85V. I didn't have to touch the NB, and the PCIe has no voltage adjust. The only issue I'm concerned about is the inability for the PCIe to lock. Trying to lock this bus, either through uGuru, BIOS, etc. results in No Post. My point is that a few weeks ago I couldn't get this system past 215FSb because I was trying to adjust FSBRAM divider, and the PCIe MHz. These MUST be left on Auto. I runnign the memory on SPD, Manual doesn't seem to work. Auto will also work. The system easily Posts into 4GHz (267FSB) but then the message BOOT DISK ERROR, PLACE SYS DISK in DRIVE and REBOOT comes up. Pressing Cntrl ALT and DEL re-boot's and I have to drop to 260FSb again. I havne't found the right BIOS settings. Any assitance would be appreciated. Temps are fine, so that's not holding me back. The system is 100% (3D and all benchmarks) stable at 3.9GHz
 
Old 13th October 2004, 12:36   #2
Liquid3D
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Check out these crazy temps mangy;
 
Old 13th October 2004, 12:41   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,996
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

24C @ idle?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th October 2004, 22:15   #4
JNav89GT
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hey now!
that's my cpu
don't treat her like a $2 whore lol.

BTW your ES cpu should be to you TODAY
 
Old 15th October 2004, 05:04   #5
Liquid3D
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
24C @ idle?
Yes although I (know) believe, people will write and say "I don't belive that temp..." it's true.

I'm thinking of changing my username to either; "Frozen Ghost", "Gigantic Feline" (aka BigPussy) or "Blue-Smoke."

Thanks JNav, yes soon this CPU will be in your little hands, and if it's any indication of your skill with AMD I'm sure our be hitting 4GHz "Just Like BUtta"
 
Old 15th October 2004, 05:14   #6
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

L3D, I also notice the temp is too nice to be true, and you can't fault people from asking. The sys temp is higher than CPU. Not that we don't believe you, we may well don't believe the numbers. Is ther anyway you could use external probe or digital probe readout just to verify these readings?

The point I want to make is, unless other can duplicate the numbers using identical settings the "nice" numbers become irrelevant to others, with respect.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 15th October 2004, 07:52   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,996
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I get 27C idle with aircooling
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 15th October 2004, 16:29   #8
Liquid3D
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm surprised no one's "attacked" you JMKE hehe.

Lazyman with due respect, in a review I feel I must justify these temps, but could you see how it might get a little frustrating to continually explain temps I've been getting over a year on different boards, CPU's, BIOS, etc. . I'm almost at the point (again) where I want to say; "I don't care if other people believe me or not, I'm doing this for me." I'll tell you why.

The temps I get are the result of a simple formula (so dam simple); my PC (as you can see below) has case-panels removed. My room temp is about 2C higher then the outseide temp, currently 13C/55C as all my windows are wide open.

Therefore the SYS temp would be higher then the CPU temp. Think about it. uGuru utility measures the SYS-temp (28C) from either a thermistor on the board, or (in this case) a thermal-diode on the power circuitry feeding CPU. It then reads CPU (temp) from the Intel internal-thermal-diode (25C Idle). The Intel thermal-diode is reading the temp of the CPU as it's watercooled. The TDX waterblock is being fed water which is exiting a radiator (Double Heater Core fed by Hydor L-45) sitting in a room with an ambeint temp of 15C. Ergo we can pressume the water temp entering the TDX is approximately 18C as I have a calibrated thermometer inserted through the hose section between pump-OUT, and Radiator-IN and it reads 21C.

So the in photo below I took 20-minutes ago, in which I morphed the uGURU screen, reads a CPU temp of 25C, and the SYS temp reads 28C, and I'd say that's completely rational.

Now if there are those whom are unable to accept the data in front of them because they are either stubborn, closed-minded, jealous, ignorant, or argumentitive. I don't care.

For those whom are honestly interested, the formula is above. For you and other's more interested, YES when I install my P4 540 3.2ES today (if it arrives) I'll place a thermistor in there from my SF609. But I'm not going to conitnually argue with people on this matter because it takes me twenty minutes to exaplain something, and I could be writing my Kingston review hehe.
 
Old 16th October 2004, 15:52   #9
Member
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,738
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Nice that you point out the environment. Please consider most readers would "think" the environment temp would be around 70F in the U.S. and min of 65F required by law in rental property. Hence, by reporting above ambient temp would avoid all the confusion.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 4GHz Super Pi Challenge moy2010 Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 0 2nd February 2010 23:35
Intel Core i3 530 Review: Great for Overclockers & Gamers jmke WebNews 3 23rd January 2010 09:01
Stuck at 4GHz with the Phenom II X4 940... jmke WebNews 3 1st February 2009 02:33
AMD Phenom II, codename Deneb, over 4GHz? Massman WebNews 1 17th November 2008 07:13
How to get E8400 over 4Ghz Rufus Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 1 19th October 2008 11:47
Cooler Master Centurion 530 Mid-Tower Case Sidney WebNews 0 26th July 2005 06:14
Cooler Master Centurion 530 Review AND Giveaway Sidney WebNews 1 17th July 2005 19:03
Intel blew it on 4GHz Pentium 4, Otellini says jmke WebNews 0 4th November 2004 10:44

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:01.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO