It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
overclocking the athlon duron 1800 overclocking the athlon duron 1800
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


overclocking the athlon duron 1800
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th June 2006, 05:44   #1
capitol15
 
Posts: n/a
Default overclocking the athlon duron 1800

I have a K7S41GX Asrock mother board with a AMD Duron 1800 CPU that has the multiplier locked at 13.5 and the dual rate FSB Frequency set at 133 in the bios.This is a 266 FSB cpu.In order to change the multiplier do I have to join the L1 term strip solder points on the CPU and then would I use the on board multiplier suitcase settings on the mother board.As of now there are no suitcase's on this term strip.I can only reach a overclocking speed of 1921 by manually setting the FSB in the bios to 142.Anything above that makes the computer unstable or it wont even boot up.Or would it be cheaper to buy a used Athlon Xp 3000+ off of ebay and install it with proper settings .Any ideas out there.
 
Old 18th June 2006, 09:41   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

what does the packaging of the Duron 1800 look like? because the latest Socket 462 CPUs have a protection over the L1 bridges making it very hard to connect them
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 18th June 2006, 17:12   #3
capitol15
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You are right.It wold be almost impossible to join the L1 connections.Tiny,tiny tiny.I think I will go with a faster processor.Least then I can always fall back on the old one.Thanks
 
Old 18th June 2006, 17:15   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I would consider looking at eBAY and forums (like [g]Xtremesystems[/g]) to get a good deal on the price, anything over 2Ghz should give you a nice boost as the added cache on the Athlon XP does make a difference compared to the Duron
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlon 7850 Overclocking jmke WebNews 0 28th April 2009 14:35
[M] AMD Athlon 3000+ Overclocking, going for 100% OC on Dry Ice jmke WebNews 0 6th May 2007 17:58
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (AM2) Overclocking Performance jmke WebNews 0 12th July 2006 12:13
Investigations into Socket 939 Athlon 64 Overclocking Sidney WebNews 1 4th October 2005 19:12
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice Core Overclocking Sidney WebNews 1 8th June 2005 16:09
AMD Athlon 64 General Overclocking Guide jmke Articles & Howto's 3 26th May 2005 06:54
Athlon 64 3500+ Venice Core Overclocking Sidney WebNews 1 15th May 2005 05:53
.09 Athlon 64: Value, Speed and Overclocking jmke WebNews 0 15th October 2004 14:07
AMD Duron Applebred vs. Athlon XP Thoroughbred jmke Articles & Howto's 24 23rd October 2003 01:06
Athlon Low-end Tbred B Overclocking jmke Articles & Howto's 53 25th March 2003 19:03

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:36.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO