It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
Nightstand Casemod Questions Nightstand Casemod Questions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Nightstand Casemod Questions
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 4th June 2007, 21:56   #1
Nessmaster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Nightstand Casemod Questions

Hey guys, I'm working on a new case mod for my main rig. I was at a friends house and I saw his night stand and I just got a crazy idea to build a computer into it. He let me have it (he owes me, BIG time anyway). I have a few question in which I was hoping you guys could assist me with. First, the power ON/OFF switch. I have a power switch pin for the motherboard (first pic), and I was hoping I could hook one of these suckers up to it: http://www.performance-pcs.com/catal...oducts_id=1966 . It should be as simple as just connecting the + and - ends and switching on/off right? Another question of mine, is IDE cables. I'm going to be storing the 2 DVD drives on the top compartment of the night stand, and I was wondering if I could use one of these [FONT=Verdana]Roundcable2-FX IDE cables: http://www.performance-pcs.com/catal...uct s_id=3429 to connect the two (they are going to right on top of each other) and then to the mobo? There isn't anything special about these "FX" ide cables besides the fact that the master and slave connectors are located closer together, right?[/FONT]
Attached Thumbnails
nightstand-casemod-questions-img_1725.gif
 
Old 4th June 2007, 22:52   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

- Master and slave can be set at the back of each IDE device, that cable should be a problem
- The power on/off button might not act like you wanted. My guess is that the power on switch doesn't work with simple on or off states, it works with pulses. Never measured this though as I never was that much interested in doing extreme casemods, but the reason why I think this is because you can instantly power off your system in windows once you've hold the power on button for 5 seconds.
geoffrey is offline  
Old 5th June 2007, 02:56   #3
Nessmaster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffrey View Post
- The power on/off button might not act like you wanted. My guess is that the power on switch doesn't work with simple on or off states, it works with pulses. Never measured this though as I never was that much interested in doing extreme casemods, but the reason why I think this is because you can instantly power off your system in windows once you've hold the power on button for 5 seconds.
You're right about that. I found this guide, http://www.directron.com/switchinfo.html , on switches, and yeah, that one is an SPST switch, and what I want would be a [FONT=arial, helvetica]Momentary Contact/Push-Button Switch.[/FONT]
 
Old 5th June 2007, 11:13   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

Indeed, more info about ATX switches: http://case-mods.linear1.org/case-mo...demystified/2/
geoffrey is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Clean Install questions chaplndave General Madness - System Building Advice 15 2nd December 2009 01:12
Noob LN2, Dewar questions Expat GriZ Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 3 7th March 2009 20:53
Humor Reading: Tweakguides bans all users asking questions:) jmke Off-Topic Hangout 3 31st January 2009 23:18
Questions about the MSI Contest Go here! jmke General OC-Team Forum 64 24th May 2008 13:17
FBI ducks questions about its remotely installed spyware Sidney WebNews 1 20th July 2007 17:37
Questions hang over AMD after show debacle Sidney WebNews 0 9th June 2007 16:53
AMD & ATI - Some Questions Answered jmke WebNews 0 25th July 2006 16:17
questions about a wc-setup kipni Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 12 10th April 2003 23:02
Watercooling beginner questions EasyB Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 1 17th August 2002 14:58

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:25.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO