It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
max fsb KR7a max fsb KR7a
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


max fsb KR7a
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd May 2003, 18:59   #1
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default max fsb KR7a

Vulkaantje and me bought some good memory (Vulk Twinmos, me XMS 3500 HSP) but our mobo's (both abit KR7A-R) quickly run out of juice.

Vulkaantje achieves FSB 183, my max is 187 no matter what condition
looks like that twinmos PC2100 w/ m-tech chips wasn't maxed yet at loose timings

any solution for this? I've seen ppl getting an FSB of 200 and higher, and also found an article where it did FSB217 and AFTER updating the BIOS with the latest version the max was 200

anybody here can help us?
 
Old 2nd May 2003, 20:30   #2
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

two little bios tweaks just made a huge difference!

thx to vulkaantje for that
 
Old 2nd May 2003, 20:39   #3
Vulk
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You're welcome, but my fsb problem still isn't solved.
 
Old 2nd May 2003, 20:47   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TeuS
two little bios tweaks just made a huge difference!
What were they ?
Share them !
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 2nd May 2003, 21:36   #5
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

bank interleave 4 (see howto)
vulk found this one himself: ram depth 4->3
2 is also possible, but slower and 3 gave the best results!

my machine crashed after half an hour of folding @fsb200 so I need to keep looking for the prob.... how the hell did those guys squeeze FSB 215 and more out of it?
 
Old 3rd May 2003, 00:15   #6
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

voltmods, xtreme cooling, and a bit of luck.

To find your problem, try memtesting alone for a night. Then prime 95.
 
Old 3rd May 2003, 11:13   #7
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

vulkaantje: i guess that's still my ol' kr7a.

It ran 185fsb 24/7 without hickups, and ~194fsb max without getting HD corruption.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 3rd May 2003, 11:16   #8
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FreeStyler
voltmods, xtreme cooling, and a bit of luck.

To find your problem, try memtesting alone for a night. Then prime 95.
voltmods: what to vmod? chipset voltage?
xtreme cooling: no problemo (SLK800, corsair has heatspreaders, zalman passive NB + 80m fan blowing directly on mem/NB)

the problem is: how to get FSB +200 you know
when booting at fsb 200 the machine crashes after 10 minutes

mod:http://www.madshrimps.be/gotofaqlink.php?linkid=1529
 
Old 3rd May 2003, 11:36   #9
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Voltmod: whetever is your problem, if both CPU and memory can do more at their current voltages on anotyher board, chipset probably yes.

Xtreme defiend:
H0, phase change, pelts, LN, Liquid helium (+/- 3K) ...
 
Old 3rd May 2003, 12:03   #10
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FreeStyler
Voltmod: whetever is your problem, if both CPU and memory can do more at their current voltages on anotyher board, chipset probably yes.

Xtreme defiend:
H0, phase change, pelts, LN, Liquid helium (+/- 3K) ...
okay, now I'll look for a NB vmod

but I found the prob is something else: those OC pro's all use high-quality PSU's (they've got the funds for it!)
check http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...568#post136568

looks like that 300W PSU from aopen is the problem; my 3.3V rail appears to be the I/O voltage, is that normal?
I'll put the 5Vrail over 5, let's see what happens!

"At least with the Abit KR7A, I needed it to be high (VIO) in order to maintain above 185 FSb. I took it to 210 FSB. Once I lowered it below 3.9V, I couldn't go above 190 FSB."



 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max FSB on P45 Kio Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 4 8th November 2009 19:08
New BIOS makes new speed-FOXCONN MARS achieve Quad Core FSB 511MHz and DDRII 1350 windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 0 14th December 2007 16:29
Intel FSB 1333 CPUs prices revealed jmke WebNews 1 21st June 2007 21:05
High FSB medium latency versus Medium FSB low latency??? Sidney WebNews 2 22nd September 2005 16:18
MSI's most Powerfull P4 Mainboard: MSI 925XE Neo Platinum 54G @ 1066Mhz FSB jmke WebNews 12 11th November 2004 21:25
HOW-TO : reach your max stable fsb quickly, without hosing your OS. RichBa5tard FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 9 25th July 2004 17:04
Max Payne 2 Review jmke Mad Game Reviews 5 25th February 2004 21:48
MSI 845E/PE max FSB = 165~170Mhz? RichBa5tard Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 8 3rd December 2002 22:36
Optimal For Overclocking: P4/2500 With 100 MHz FSB Syco Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 11 12th September 2002 19:46
HOW-TO: find max FSB / CPU Speed jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 25th May 2002 18:13

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:46.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO