It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
Crude, but effective Temp test method. Crude, but effective Temp test method.
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Crude, but effective Temp test method.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th June 2004, 13:12   #1
Liquid3D
 
Posts: n/a
Default Crude, but effective Temp test method.

I have a pretty decent Cooper thermometer, from when I worked as a Fine Dinning Chef. The benefit of this device is it's temp ranhge, calibratable, and waterproof. I wanted to find water-temp entering my waterblock's to extrapolate block effeciency via Delta-T for review's. After calibrating the thermometer in an Ice-bath, and wraping my TTF-103 thermistor in plastic wrap, and submerging that in an ice-bath as well, I went to work. I'm in need of better test hardware, and luckily a freind Bowman offered to build me a test system, with adjustable water-flow/pressure. Until then I improvise, running between three different Hydor pumps. The L-3-, L40, and L-45 they just sent.

We all know the software measuring CPU's internal thermal diode's can vary from board to board. So I re-positioned the TTF-103 thermistor until I found the best (closest to the core) location, and still have evenly distributed mounting pressure. I then measure the difference between the motherboard's CPU-diode reading, and the best thermistor reading. I'm thinking of filing a small groove into the IHS on both my A64 3400, and Prescott 3.0E, so the thermnistor will sit recessed and not effect waterblock/heatsink contact.

Anyway, I inserted the Cooper thermometer into the tubing just before the water-block inlet, about 2/3rd's of the way, ensuring the tip doesn't touch the sides. I thought this would immediately cause leakage, and to my pleasant suprise, it didn't leak a drop. Still I used some string-seal from my Prometeia socket kits, for added leakage insurance, and to hold the thermometer tip centered in the tube. Here's the result;
 
Old 24th June 2004, 13:38   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,996
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I would add some duct tape too, just in case

great setup, can't wait to see the flow rate test system Bowman will build for you
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 24th June 2004, 14:09   #3
Da_BoKa
 
Posts: n/a
Default

do you know the temp from the outlet off the block??
 
Old 27th June 2004, 01:31   #4
Liquid3D
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well I need another thermometer, for that, and i can't find my second one. So I'm going to get one next week. I can remove the inlet, seal the hole, and then insert the same thermometer into the oulet. Only thing is with the RBX you really need three all together. One for each outlet, and one for the inlet temp. One of the outlet's could very well be dumping higher temp water then the other outlet. You have to measure before the Y adapter as well.

I did insert the thermometer into the Danger Den Bay reservoir, and the stem is long enough to reach to the inlet into the reservior, which is fed by about 13cm of 1/2" tubing. Problem is, that's not really as accurate as taking the temp right at the outlets. I tried attaching a thermistor to the outlet barb right at it's base, but that's measuring the metal temp as it conducts heat, not the water temp.

As it stands I have three Hydor pumps, L-30, L40, and L-45, although the L-45 seems to be leaking. Between these three pumps I can "predict" different flow-rates, but of course that's not as accurate as having a flow-meter with adjustable pressure. I hope Bowman is going to help, but I don't like to pressure people (hehe that's funny I said pressure) but from what i know of Bowman, he's one of the most honerable people on the Internet. I'm going to see what I can do on my end, instead of simply sitting back and waiting. I have an extra Prometeia he might want, which needs repairing.
 
Old 28th July 2004, 19:56   #5
Sharpside
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Have you tried sillicone, it might add some extra antileak protection
 
Old 29th July 2004, 21:55   #6
Liquid3D
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for chiming in. No I haven't but I should. I'm going to check the pump again tomorrow and see. I think as I tried to fit a 1/2" ID hose over the L-45's 3/4" barbs (only size it comes in) I may have cracked the pump casing. It's made of plastic, and seems to be molded and glued or somthing. Anyway it look like the water is coming from that "seam" in the pump body.

Thanks for replying though if it weren't for you I may have procrastinated another week.

 
Old 29th July 2004, 23:11   #7
Sharpside
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey, no sweat
I've read a great idea on telenet forum, someone made an inline tempreadthingy wit a T-piece.
Check the leet-paint drawing and you'll know what i mean
maby that could be useful for the outlets? i think it has a bigger antileak factor
 
Old 29th July 2004, 23:56   #8
Member
 
jort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mechelen(belgium)
Posts: 2,037
jort Freshly Registered
Default

yeah but your flow will increase
would depend how thick the sensor is too,such a small one like for under a cpu should work out
__________________
watercooling, chilled water,direct phase change, cascade, custom modding
jort is offline  
Old 30th July 2004, 03:17   #9
Liquid3D
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Actually inserting the bimetal thermometer into the DD tubing never produced a leak. I guess Danger Den tubing is high quality rubber, not vinyl, and almost "self-seals" I've even pulled the probe out a little bit when I installed another waterblock. Still not one drop of water? Amazing, I'd thought for sure when I puncutred that tube I'd be left with a lawn watering hose.
 
Old 30th July 2004, 15:33   #10
Sharpside
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well thats some kickass tubing if you ask me
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lian-Li Goes Test Bench Crazy With PC-T60 & PCT7 jmke WebNews 0 29th April 2010 07:32
Lian Li Launches PITSTOP PC-T1 Mini-ITX Spider Test Bench jmke WebNews 0 17th April 2010 11:39
Firefox 3.6 Performance Test jmke WebNews 0 29th January 2010 15:33
New version OCCT adds GPU Stability Test jmke WebNews 4 10th September 2008 00:33
IntelBurnTest v1.5.1 released - Linpack Based Intel CPU Load Test Program jmke WebNews 0 27th August 2008 18:27
The“Ace”frequency of DDRII CL4 memory-CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-8888C4DF limited test windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 1 6th December 2006 15:30
The power of ULI chipset on AM2? MSI K9NU Neo simple test windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 0 16th July 2006 03:28
Rebuild the Winbond honor -GSkill 1GBGH simple test windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 6 1st September 2005 13:47
Asus P4G8X temp sensor prob ??? Pirre Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 5 31st March 2003 00:24

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:06.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO