It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
Crosshair IV HTT problem Crosshair IV HTT problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Crosshair IV HTT problem
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd September 2010, 13:03   #1
Member
 
Teemto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Duffel
Posts: 538
Teemto Fully Registered
Default Crosshair IV HTT problem

Hi guys,

I'm currently maxed out at 275MHz HTT on my crosshair.
Tried playing around with CPU/NB, HT, NB, SB voltages but the damn thing doesn't want to boot at a higher clock. Tried 14x300 but no boot. CPU (1090T BE) runs perfectly on 21,5x200. Kept my RAM at 1600.

I'm seeing lots of guys that have no problem running at 300MHz some even 350MHz.
Any idea what I'm missing?

My cheap Gigabyte MA785G-UD2H has no problem to run 3DMark01 at 317MHz (with 555BE). You'd think that a high end mobo would be able to do better???
__________________
1999 First home made PC: Celeron 500 * Abit BE6 * Diamond Viper v770 32MB *Quantum Fireball KA 18GB ATA-66 * 64MB SDRAM * Philips 107SX 17" * 50x CD-ROM * Win98
Teemto is offline  
Old 3rd September 2010, 19:20   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

Leeghoofd is the AMD guy, ask him.
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 7th September 2010, 12:50   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,157
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default

I'll try it tonite mate, I maxed over 350 on the 965BE, but Thuban has been wicked... but there are 400HTT on the web... ( though under cold ofcourse )

Too baed I'm on the 1005 bios already for testing, I can't revert back... keep you posted
__________________
leeghoofd is offline  
Old 7th September 2010, 13:26   #4
Member
 
Teemto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Duffel
Posts: 538
Teemto Fully Registered
Default

ok, thx.
__________________
1999 First home made PC: Celeron 500 * Abit BE6 * Diamond Viper v770 32MB *Quantum Fireball KA 18GB ATA-66 * 64MB SDRAM * Philips 107SX 17" * 50x CD-ROM * Win98
Teemto is offline  
Old 7th September 2010, 20:05   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,157
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default



this with the Corsair Dominators PC12800C8, will try the Flares next ( as these Corsairs OC zero jack stront)
__________________
leeghoofd is offline  
Old 7th September 2010, 20:26   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,157
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default



Max bootable from bios... think with some ludicrous voltages and improved CPU/Chipset cooling that 350 is doable for sure... hope the TurboV screenie helps man... otherwise pm or grampsjr10@hotmail.com
__________________
leeghoofd is offline  
Old 7th September 2010, 22:15   #7
Member
 
Teemto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Duffel
Posts: 538
Teemto Fully Registered
Default

Just tried your exact same settings an no boot.
You think it's a board issue or rather the 1090T?
__________________
1999 First home made PC: Celeron 500 * Abit BE6 * Diamond Viper v770 32MB *Quantum Fireball KA 18GB ATA-66 * 64MB SDRAM * Philips 107SX 17" * 50x CD-ROM * Win98
Teemto is offline  
Old 7th September 2010, 23:04   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,157
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default

go slowly, if possible post some piccies of ya bios screens... Hows ya NB/SB temp ?
__________________
leeghoofd is offline  
Old 8th September 2010, 08:26   #9
Member
 
Teemto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Duffel
Posts: 538
Teemto Fully Registered
Default

I'm going to try those new settings tonight. I'll also have a look at the NB temp.
I'll check NB heatsink fixation if the temps are too high. Maybe the contact isn't good.

Still strange that 335 is the max for a 'high end board'.

My Gigabyte 785GMT-UD2H can do max 340 (good enough for a CPU-Z shot), and I wouldn't exactly call that a high end board.
All it has is a tiny passive NB heatsink (put a 120mm fan on it to get some airflow over it).

If I can't get this thing up to at least 300 then it'll be the last high end ASUS board for me.
__________________
1999 First home made PC: Celeron 500 * Abit BE6 * Diamond Viper v770 32MB *Quantum Fireball KA 18GB ATA-66 * 64MB SDRAM * Philips 107SX 17" * 50x CD-ROM * Win98
Teemto is offline  
Old 8th September 2010, 09:15   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,157
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default

Like I said my board is able to do 335 from bios under air... with cold it will be prolly higher. Secondly these are quite safe chipset volts I used. In comparison the 965 BE booted straight into windows at 350...

Clocking Thuban is quite harder for the boards... 1090T gets high via the multie. The 1055T you need higher HT clocks... Take a look at the Bot, most top at 360-365 with the Thuban under cold... 300 though should be a no brainer...

In fact I don't even want to know what voltages the 400HT clocks took to get the CPU-Z validation...

This board is very flexible, but if you have bad one , you have a bad one...

Post the bios screens so we can have a closer look plz...
__________________
leeghoofd is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula Motherboard jmke WebNews 0 28th May 2010 14:59
ASUS ROG Crosshair IV Formula and Extreme Motherboards Pictured jmke WebNews 0 2nd March 2010 14:26
whats the source of the problem? Zemfik Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 18th March 2008 18:23
HOWTO: Troubleshoot Any Networking Problem jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th February 2006 13:33
A64 500Mhz HTT barrier broken on DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-D Sidney WebNews 0 6th March 2005 18:32
Asus A8V rev 2.0: Exploring Max HTT Adventure jmke Articles & Howto's 11 24th September 2004 15:58
In-House: Asus A8V rev 2.0: Exploring Max HTT Adventure jmke WebNews 0 19th September 2004 23:31
HD error problem Darkstar Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 2 21st February 2004 14:21
Help needed: R9800pro problem FoRCe Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 22 13th January 2004 15:02
the 333mhz problem kipni Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 0 22nd May 2003 14:47

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:03.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO