It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
Chieftec -> Coolermaster Chieftec -> Coolermaster
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Chieftec -> Coolermaster
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th February 2003, 20:18   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Chieftec -> Coolermaster

At the beginning of 2002 I changed my AOpen HQ08 case for a Chieftec Black Maxitower

Now another year has passed and my paycheck is bigger then last year, so I was able to afford a Coolermaster

Aopen -> Chieftec -> Coolermaster .. what next? :grin:

anywayz, after 1 year you can be sure that is has collected some dust



The beast:



The beast within:



Dusty indeed:



Side by Side:




New case, New toys, floppydrive sized rheobus:






doesnt look half-bad actually:




After I removed everything from the old case, I took out the motherboard tray:



and was almost ready for insertion:



This is how it looks inside, all the HD bays are FULL, the case is what you might call "a tight fit"

getting the fans hooked up to rheobus was also a nice way to find out how flexible your fingers are.. mine are okay




I hooked everything up, dragged it back to my room (I'm guessing it lost 30-40% of the weight compared to the chieftec)

yep it's working fine, checked the temperatures using the Winbond utility which reads from the onboard sensors.

-- Chieftec
CPU Idle: 50C
CPU Load: 60C


-- Coolermaster
CPU Idle: 42C
CPU Load: 48C

oki pretty impressive difference.. but I had 4 casefans in the Chieftec which were no longer hooked up.. then I remembered why.. *BLAM* PC cold reboots.. the PSU is not able to provide sufficient power to keep 4 HDs, 1 CDRW, GF4 Ti4600 & one overclocked P4 & 4 RDRAM sticks AND 4x 80mm fans up & running. (Enermax 340Watt)

Jumped in my car drove to Comtechnology to get me a 420Watt Superflower. While I was there I also got some AS3.. cause I remembered something, previously I forgot to remove the Pentium 4 1.6Ghz...(contest starting 3rd March anyone?)

got home and removed the "old" PSU & placed the new one.

another 5min later I was ready to install a brandnew "RMA" P4 2.26ghz on my motherboard.. The ABIT TH7II-Raid

the Abit doesn't support FSB533 CPU's..

applied AS3:



reinstalled the Volcano 7+ cooler. So back in my room I pressed the power-on button.

Ha li loooojjaaa.. it boots @ the settings it had before, 150FSB x 17 = 2550Mhz.. core voltage is down to 1.44v , upped it to 1.50v. Booted into windows and checked the temperatures

Idle temps: 48C

hmm something ain't right here..
start Prime95.. CPU temp rises to 75C, PC slows down to a crawl.. hmmm. thank god for Intel & the onboard thermal protection.

reseated the Volcano 7+ (this has happened before, it doesn't fit right away and you have to retry couple of times)

Idle temps: 41C
Loaded temps: 53C

that's more like it!

Primed all day without a crash, so I'm pretty happy with my "free" 150Mhz extra power (lol)

The rheobus looks like this in the dark:




Don't mind the colour of floppy and Plextor




see you guys next year :grin:
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 27th February 2003, 22:18   #2
Scyver
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Nice very nice indeed
 
Old 27th February 2003, 22:37   #3
T33J4Y
 
Posts: n/a
Default

O_o
/me wants that paycheck .
 
Old 28th February 2003, 07:13   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

nais case.

I want WC for my gpu inside my atcs410 case and guess what : there ain't no place
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 12th March 2003, 22:25   #5
eh
 
Posts: n/a
Default

r u planning on selling the chieftec?
 
Old 12th March 2003, 23:03   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Nope recycling it to replace my AOPEN HQ08 =-)
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 13th March 2003, 22:31   #7
Devil's Prophet
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I really don't get it: the coolermaster temps are WAY better than de chieftec ones, but the chieftec handles much more fans and has much more place to offer to your devices.

Darn, maybe is alu a good material after all ? :-)
 
Old 15th March 2003, 15:52   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

all the fans in the Chieftec were disconnected cause it was too loud!

not too fair I know
this is not a review either
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 15th March 2003, 16:41   #9
quarantaine
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
Nope recycling it to replace my AOPEN HQ08 =-)
if you are planning to throw the hq08 away , throw it my way
 
Old 15th March 2003, 16:53   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

http://shrimptalk.spelletjesgarnaal....threadid=38828
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CoolerMaster 690 II Advanced vs. CoolerMaster 690 jmke WebNews 0 15th March 2010 15:23
Chieftec BT-02B Mini ITX enclosure Review jmke WebNews 0 21st January 2010 09:37
Coolermaster Extreme Power Plus 550W jmke WebNews 0 20th August 2009 15:40
Coolermaster CM690 review jmke WebNews 0 31st October 2008 16:32
CHIEFTEC CTP-300-12G 80+ Netzteil Massman WebNews 0 24th June 2008 09:30
Coolermaster Real Power 700w, 850w, 1000w Review Massman WebNews 0 21st June 2008 13:49
Coolermaster introduces Real Power M Series, from 520 to 1000W jmke WebNews 0 21st May 2007 11:14
Coolermaster Mystique RC-631 Case jmke WebNews 0 21st August 2006 10:30
CoolerMaster & OCIA.net May Giveaway jmke WebNews 0 3rd May 2006 09:55
CoolerMaster & OCIA.net March Giveaway jmke WebNews 0 1st March 2006 10:31

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:40.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO