It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
bh-5 testing bh-5 testing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


bh-5 testing
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th February 2005, 22:37   #1
Da_BoKa
 
Posts: n/a
Default bh-5 testing

tonight i was in the mood for some testing.
So i took out my twinmos BH5 memory and started to oc!
because i wanted to know how much they did on every voltage range of 0.05v i took out my digital multimeter and started to test.
Specially for you guys i wrote everething down!

NOTE: There is a 80 mm fan blowing right above them! Because I own a EP 9NDA3+ and the OCZ booster dousn't work on this motherboard i Vmodded it with a 20k VR!
all the test where done with super pi 1M and are super pi stable, I'm not talking about memtest stable, therefore I need to perform unwackme's burn in, so I will report later for this!
A64tweaker was used for every bench

The sticks do ~255fsb on 3.3v ( never tried lower voltage ) and the real testing begun at 3.35v! Here is the list

3.35v --- 260 fsb
3.40v --- 262 fsb
3.45v --- 266 fsb
3.50v --- 266 fsb NO increase of fsb
3.55v --- 269 fsb
3.57v --- 270 fsb ( I wanted to know on what voltage the could do 270 fsb )
3.60v --- 270 fsb NO increase of fsb
3.65v --- 271 mhz
3.70v --- 274 mhz
3.75v --- 275 mhz

I only went this far because for 3.8v i will add additonal cooling ( however the chips don't get warm ), just for safety!
This will happen tomorrow
I must say that 260 fsb on 3.35v is pretty impressive! Yet i have to add 0.4v to increase 15 mhz.
 
Old 9th February 2005, 22:44   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

BH-6 did 265Mhz @ 3.55v here http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=get...&articID=2 58
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th February 2005, 22:48   #3
Da_BoKa
 
Posts: n/a
Default

bh-5=bh-6, the only difference is the production procede, ( slap me but i forgot the numbers ), bh-6 was produced with a larger procede and so can handle larger voltages!

whas that read by your motherboard or multimeter? If it was by your motherboad you can add a couple of numbers to that voltage, lets say 3.58 3.6v
 
Old 9th February 2005, 22:55   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

check the link, explains all
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th February 2005, 23:10   #5
Da_BoKa
 
Posts: n/a
Default

any more results on those sticks? what brand?
 
Old 10th February 2005, 00:20   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 923
187(V)URD@ Freshly Registered
Default

got 2 sticks bh5 and 2 sticks BH6 , need a setup where i can bench on.
Lats owner from the bh5 did 280fsb with 2.6V (single channel).

jmke you can test mine , antwerp isn't so far from me
__________________
AMD Opteron 146@3ghz H2O Storm | DFI NF4 Ultra-D | 2*512MB Gskill LE | X800GTO²@X850XT-PE | 2*250GB Hitachi | Modded Aopen H600B| Seasonic 600W | MX510@450HZ | 19\" TFT BenQ 937s+ |3DMARK2001
AMD XP2400+@2600+ | Epox 8rda+ | 2*256 Twinmos BH5 | Club3D 9600Pro | Maxtor 80GB + 200GB | server + moviestation |
187(V)URD@ is offline  
Old 10th February 2005, 09:36   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Da_BoKa
any more results on those sticks? what brand?
uhm.. check the link darnit!
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 10th February 2005, 09:50   #8
Da_BoKa
 
Posts: n/a
Default

damned, sorry Jmke, looks like i've read it to fast!
Does single channel need less volts for obtaining the same oc? i know you can clock higher with single channel but do you need lesser voltage?

anayway this afternoon i will try it out
 
Old 11th February 2005, 12:04   #9
Da_BoKa
 
Posts: n/a
Default

a small update:
currently i'm performing the unwackme's burn in, 3.3v 255 fsb, every hour I see the gaps between the passes and errors grow bigger, currently i'm at 5h and 93 errors
Now more than 100 passes #5 error free!
You can clearly see that i have 1 bad ic, memtest86+ shows always the errors at the same range 0.1 - 0.2 - 0.5 mb!
would this be the module in dimm 1? I think so, because i've got 2 errors ar the range off ~500 mb!
for the next couple off days i will continue this burn in
 
Old 11th February 2005, 13:01   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Da_BoKa

Does single channel need less volts for obtaining the same oc?
no clue, only had 1 bh-* stick
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Benchmark Performance SSD Testing: AHCI vs IDE (or perhaps not) jmke WebNews 0 15th April 2010 23:52
Gigabyte's GA-H55M-UD2H Passes Rigorous Windows® 7 Logo Testing jmke WebNews 1 13th January 2010 14:32
Core i7 965 - Subzero testing Massman On the TestBench - Work In Progress 6 1st March 2009 18:15
New Quantum Force motherboard breaks 3DMark record in early testing jmke WebNews 5 20th December 2007 22:20
World-first analytical testing for The Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800! windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 5 4th June 2006 13:10
World’s Largest Wafer Testing Plant to be Built in Japan jmke WebNews 0 1st August 2005 09:32
MS Releases XP SP2 App Testing Guide jmke WebNews 0 24th August 2004 21:28

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:20.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO