It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects
WC in PC60? WC in PC60?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


WC in PC60?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th August 2002, 20:26   #1
EasyB
 
Posts: n/a
Default WC in PC60?

2 small questions....

1. Could u easily fit a complete watercooling setup in a LianLi PC60? How many of u have this working? Where do u put the radiator? Inside top? Outside back?

2. I might be buying me an Epox 8KHA+ mobo. I saw that there's some capacitors that are pretty close to the socket. Could this give me troubles installing a water block? Any experiences?

Thanks....
 
Old 11th August 2002, 20:34   #2
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default



Black Ice 2 on top. You loose a 5" bay, but there's still room for a LCD/rheobus/etc. Pic is explains it all.
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 11th August 2002, 20:45   #3
EasyB
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Which waterblock do you use? What are the maximum temps that you reach under full load?

Isn't it a disadvantage to have the radiator inside the case?
Isn't the air that you're pulling through your radiator already "hot" before it needs to cool the water running through the radiator? If you know what i'm saying?
 
Old 11th August 2002, 20:53   #4
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

The case temp is really low, because all the components that generate a lot of heat (CPU, NB & GPU) are cooled with HO. So the answer to your question is no, the rad is cooled with cold air.

CPU block: D-tek Spir@l


Don't care about the temps, can't read the XP sensor with my mobo (KR7) and I don't trust the onboard probe. I can tell you my CPU is stable on 1780Mhz, which was only possible to reach by air with 3 120mm delta fans, an alpha 8045+delta and 10C roomtemp...
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 11th August 2002, 20:57   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,343
TerAngreal Freshly Registered
Default

i'm working on somewhat the same project, but with other equipment ... DD blocks, another rad, no reservoir ...

the 8KHA+ is perfectly compatible with the DD waterblocks, that's for sure -- no problems here with that combo whatsoever ...

about space and usage of it : everything is housed within my pc-68, but i'm still working on it so i can't give you any temps ...
TerAngreal is offline  
Old 21st August 2002, 02:23   #6
septimus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I am assembling a complete system in my PC-61 as well... A swiftech CPU block, a DD gpu block, and just a plain old fan i ripped off a thermaltake active memory cooling kit on my northbridge. I just need a reservoir... but what to use? I want to use something that definately will not leak. water+computer = nojoy
 
Old 21st August 2002, 07:23   #7
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by septimus
I am assembling a complete system in my PC-61 as well... A swiftech CPU block, a DD gpu block, and just a plain old fan i ripped off a thermaltake active memory cooling kit on my northbridge. I just need a reservoir... but what to use? I want to use something that definately will not leak. water+computer = nojoy
a can of beer?
 
Old 10th September 2002, 16:17   #8
EasyB
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok, so i kinda made up my mind. There's still some doubt in my mind. This is what i'm considering right now:

Maze3, Geforce block, BI Xtreme, Eheim 1250, (some reservoir). All 1/2" fittings. Normally, as much as I've read about it, none of these parts will restrict flow in a serious way. Correct?

On the other hand, i've been checking some of the German shops. But i don'y understand a f*ck of all the different fittings (8mm Schlaugtullen, 8mm legris, wtf???). So, i think ordering with dangerden would be safest.

One more thing about the Eheim. Is it supposed to be inside the reservoir? If you use it outside of the reservoir what should u keep in mind, since i believe they don't suck....

Thanks...
 
Old 15th September 2002, 06:29   #9
septimus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you place the pump into the reservoir you will have the heat the pump generates entering the water and raising your temps in general. You need to have your pump inline with the rest of the system rather than submersed. Get a good quality reservoir, that is the one component that seems to be most vulnerable to leakage. A leak can be catasrophic
 
Old 1st December 2002, 12:23   #10
Gigamoller
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RichBa5tard


Black Ice 2 on top. You loose a 5" bay, but there's still room for a LCD/rheobus/etc. Pic is explains it all.
ff off-topic

waar heb jij da reservoir gehaalt?
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lian Li PC60 case piotke For Sale 4 24th October 2005 13:47
Lian Li PC60 & PC65 KoZRa Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 3 22nd August 2003 15:38

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:37.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO