It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects
How to bleed? How to bleed?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


How to bleed?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th January 2006, 10:09   #1
Xploited Titan
 
Posts: n/a
How to bleed?

Hello,

I finally finished my watercooling rig, but I can't get all the air out of my circuit. I'll need help.

My setup goes as follows:
pump on the botton of the case (Laing DDC Pro (plexi top enabling use of centered waterinput, giving a 100~150l/h gain))
airtrap (Tank-O-Matic) is highest point of the circuit (top of airtrap is still closed, as the pump is too powerful and the water is spitted out of the airtrap ), horizontal radiator (Thermochill 120.3), mid-height of the airtrap I'd say.

So, in the end, we got:

airtrap > radiator > pump > cascade > nothbridge cooler > Fusion HL > airtrap

Now, I did try using the bleeding valve of the radiator, but with no avail. Am I supposed to get the radiator vertical when bleeding? If that's the case, I'm screwed, as I fixed the rad to my case, and taking it off will need to take apart my whole case :wtf:

I really need to bleed my system, cos atm, the pump has trouble with the large air pockets that circulate every 6 seconds through the pump. This will prolly kill my pump soon if I don't watch it.

Hope I've been clear enough to be helped Exams are stressing me
 
Old 23rd January 2006, 05:28   #2
blakerateliff
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you're using water or something non-toxic just turn the sytem off and siphon with your mouth. That's what I do.
 
Old 23rd January 2006, 06:14   #3
Xploited Titan
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I can't do that, there's waterwetter in the system.

Somehow, the pump is too powerful. The airtrap becomes filled with water till the cap (glad I've screwed that cap very tightly), and the circuit gets filled with air.

So, I think I should theoretically fill the airtrap till the cap after I've bleeded the setup normally. I find that not a very good solution

And frankly, I'm thinking to replace my Thermochill 120.3 and my Tank-O-Matic with some single 120 radiator and a bay reservoir. Might be easier to bleed and with less trouble.
 
Old 23rd January 2006, 06:28   #4
blakerateliff
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I've just siphoned anti-freeze tonight and i'm not dead. I've also done so in the past.
It tastes terrible, but if you don't swallow it you'll be fine. Drink water just in case, as anti-freeze kills by crystalization in the kidneys.
 
Old 26th January 2006, 07:09   #5
blakerateliff
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Did you take my advice or go a different
route?
 
Old 26th January 2006, 16:00   #6
Xploited Titan
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Didn't got time atm, My school wants me to do 15 weeks of work in an enterprise. And it's waking up a new world of tiredness.
 
Old 31st January 2006, 05:50   #7
Xploited Titan
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well, I tested another trick. I took off the two tubes in my Tank-O-Matic, and bleeding is completely succesful, no problems anymore.

Got another problem now, but won't talk about it.
 
Old 31st January 2006, 05:56   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Foaming is another characteristic with high power pump; antifreeze resolves that.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 09:26   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,543
DUR0N Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by blakerateliff
I've just siphoned anti-freeze tonight and i'm not dead. I've also done so in the past.
It tastes terrible, but if you don't swallow it you'll be fine. Drink water just in case, as anti-freeze kills by crystalization in the kidneys.
Nice.
Be carefull though, I one worked with my hands in pure anti-freeze for a few minutes and the next day all the skin came off.
DUR0N is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 15:15   #10
Xploited Titan
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm using WaterWetter, seems to be pretty acid too. Now I need to RMA soem stuff though.
 
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:15.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO