It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > [M] Overclocking Team > General OC-Team Forum
Clocks, Cache of Cores? Clocks, Cache of Cores?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Clocks, Cache of Cores?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th July 2008, 14:05   #1
PowerToTheUsers
 
Posts: n/a
Default Clocks, Cache of Cores?

Da's de vraag die ik me stelde: wat helpt het meeste bij 3D-benches? Een hogere clockspeed, een CPU met meer cache, of een cpu met meer cores?

Testsetup:
Asrock 4CoreDual-SataII
2GB Infineon CE-5
500GB sata Samsung harde schijf
Core2Duo E4700, Xeon 3060 (= Core2Duo E6600) en Core2Quad Q6600.

Eerst test: een Radeon 9250 (128MB RAM), OCed naar 300-200
Benchmarkresults:.....3DMark01...3DMark03......AquaMark3
E4700 @ 2.6GHz:.........6054..........931..............11753
E4700 @ 3.5GHz:.........6052..........928..............11729
Xeon 3060 @ 2.6GHz:...6071..........930..............11770
Xeon 3060 @ 2.9GHz:...6064..........929..............11776
Q6600 @ 2.6GHz:.........6078..........929..............11759
Q6600 @ 2.8GHz:.........6052..........928..............11723

Conclusie: bij zo'n beperkte videokaart zijn de benchmarkresultaten volledig beperkt door de videokaart. Zonder de videokaart te overclocken waren de scores nog lager: 4500 Marks in 3DMark01.
Volgende stap: testen met een betere videokaart
 
Old 6th July 2008, 15:32   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

yup, beetje waste of effort daar had je moeten weten dat R9250 geen reet waard is
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th July 2008, 16:00   #3
PowerToTheUsers
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
yup, beetje waste of effort daar had je moeten weten dat R9250 geen reet waard is
Die 9250 is nog maar het eerste kaartje, 'k heb nog wel meer AGP-kaartjes liggen
 
Old 6th July 2008, 17:26   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

of PCIe ?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th July 2008, 17:49   #5
PowerToTheUsers
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
of PCIe ?
Ook, maar daar heb ik betere moederborden voor
 
Old 6th July 2008, 18:26   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

3D benches met AGP kaarten zullen altijd limited zijn door de VGA kaart, niet de CPU. Dus cores, cache, speed, maakt allemaal zeer weinig uit

+ meer cores helpen enkel bij benchies/games die meer cores ondersteunen
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th July 2008, 19:37   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Niet als je gaat benchen, Jmke, dan telt ieder punt.
__________________
Massman is offline  
Old 6th July 2008, 20:22   #8
PowerToTheUsers
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
3D benches met AGP kaarten zullen altijd limited zijn door de VGA kaart, niet de CPU. Dus cores, cache, speed, maakt allemaal zeer weinig uit
*Steekt een 7900GS AGP in zijn 4CoreDual-SataII*
 
Old 6th July 2008, 23:09   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Massman View Post
Niet als je gaat benchen, Jmke, dan telt ieder punt.
Benchmarkresults:.....3DMark01...3DMark03......Aqu aMark3
E4700 @ 2.6GHz:.........6054..........931..............117 53
E4700 @ 3.5GHz:.........6052..........928..............11729

OC leads to lower points.....

dus eerste VGA bottleneck wegwerken voordat ge er meer tijd insteekt
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th July 2008, 23:26   #10
PowerToTheUsers
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
Benchmarkresults:.....3DMark01...3DMark03......Aqu aMark3
E4700 @ 2.6GHz:.........6054..........931..............117 53
E4700 @ 3.5GHz:.........6052..........928..............11729

OC leads to lower points.....

dus eerste VGA bottleneck wegwerken voordat ge er meer tijd insteekt
Ik wou weten of het altijd een verschil maakt, of pas vanaf een bepaalde videokaart. Dus ik neem een van m'n traagste en de snelste kaart, en voer daarmee alle benches uit. Daarna neem ik de snelste combinatie (cpu + max clockspeed), en bench de andere videokaarten. Dus toch niet zoveel tijdverlies?
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom II X4 960T hidden cores can be unlocked jmke WebNews 0 16th April 2010 20:54
AMD denies locking down cores jmke WebNews 0 13th June 2009 12:09
Intel first Larrabee will have 48 cores jmke WebNews 0 23rd October 2008 18:25
Intel Server QuadCore CPU "Harpertown" has 12 MB cache, FSB 1333 jmke WebNews 0 18th June 2007 10:51
Most efficient L2 cache usage: Intel shared or AMD dedicated? jmke WebNews 0 23rd October 2006 14:04
How Much Cash for that Cache? AMD do not want you to have 1Mb cache jmke WebNews 12 17th June 2006 17:05
Samsung's HDDs with Flash Cache to Emerge Along with Windows Vista jmke WebNews 0 18th May 2006 17:05
Intel Preps 3.50GHz Server Chips with 8MB Cache jmke WebNews 0 14th January 2005 10:58
Intel Itanium 2 to Get Additional Clock-Speed, Cache jmke WebNews 0 25th May 2004 16:21
Intel Heads Towards 4MB Cache in Desktop Processors jmke WebNews 0 17th March 2004 09:36

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:37.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO